We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm welcome, great breakfast, clean and comfy.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Horse Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Dartford B&B and Inns
Dartford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very warm welcome, great breakfast, clean and comfy.”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I stayed for a few weeks whilst moving into the area and this place was perfect.
The people who run it are friendly and helpful, the breakfast is outstanding, and the accommodation is fine - very clean, comfy beds, good bathrooms. For the price it is outstanding: good, simple clean accommodation with a good brekky.
Easy parking, and a very good location in a quiet village.

Room Tip: The room with kitchenette is handy, but all rooms have fridge and tea/coffee and kettle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    2
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
8
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Basic but clean and comfortable would sum up Black Horse Cottage. The room I stayed in was spotless and despite a very late arrival (so sorry) I received a warm welcome from the proprietor. Breakfast was very well presented and delicious. Very convenient location for the M25 / A2 and the Darenth Valley Hospital.

I would have preferred some deskspace for my laptop instead of a mini fridge and the kettle could benefit from a de-scale. Lastly the biscuits were out of date. March 2010 !

Very minor points, obviously, which shouldn't put anyone off staying here and it wouldn't stop me recommending Black Horse Cottage as a convenient place to stay.

Did I mention the nice breakfast ?

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Another_PaulH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I stayed while attending a course at Dartford Hospital. The location was excellent, Blue water is on the doorstep offering hours of entertainment to lone travellers!
The bungalow was clean, well presented and relaxing. Felt very much like I was staying with a relative! Breakfast was excellent and Gill is just so lovely. Would def stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessicacaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Stayed here for two nights and were very impressed with the service and cleanliness. Accommodation is in the annexe of a bungalow so has a separate entrance. Gill, the owner, is very friendly and serves a fantastic breakfast. It's approx. 2 mins car drive to Bluewater. We would definitely recommend this b & b and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
folkestone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Myself and daughter spent 1 night at the Blackhorse Cottage as we were attending my friends suprise 70th birthday party in a nearby hall. We wanted good priced accomodation at short notice and came across this cottage on-line, We were very pleasantly suprised at how warm a welcome we received from Gill and would highly recommend her to anyone looking to stay in Bean. The cottage was very clean and cozy and we enjoyed a lovely full english breakfast the next morning. Thank-you Gill

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicFolkestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

The Black Horse Cottage is without doubt the finest little B&B I have ever stayed in. The rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable and cater for the traveller's every need, even down to a jug of milk in the fridge. The cooked English breakfast is to die for and nothing is too much trouble for the host. If ever a B&B deserved 11 out of 10 for its hospitaility, then The Black Horse Cottage is the one. Thank you Gill for making us so welcome.

Ray Clark.

  • Liked — The quality of service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Misrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2008

We stayed there as it was so near to Bluewater. Planning to do some pre xmas shopping we wanted to be close to the centre. On arriving we were greeted by the lovely garden and beautiful hanging baskets! It was like a picture postcard! The accomodation was a further treat! Lovely, bright, clean and spacious, with a great little kitchen area. After a cup of tea we dumped our bags and headed for the shops! It took us 6 minutes to drive to Bluewater. After we'd shopped till we dropped we headed back to our accomodation to really comfortable beds for a well deserved sleep . The next morning brought the fantastic breakfast cooked for us by the proprieter Jill. She was so lovely and very friendly! She told us of the few shops we had missed on the previous day. Armed with our new found knowledge and with full tummies we headed back there for more retail therapy! We were so impressed with the whole Black Horse Cottage experience we will definately be booking our accomodation here this year. Cant wait!!

  • Liked — Great value- Friendy welcome
  • Disliked — Can't think.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LouLouBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartford hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Dartford
2.5 mi away
Campanile Dartford
Campanile Dartford
#7 of 7 in Dartford
379 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Dartford
Travelodge Dartford
#6 of 7 in Dartford
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dartford Bridge
4.2 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Cottage

Property: Black Horse Cottage
Address: Black Horse Cottage High Street | Bean, Dartford DA2 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dartford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 years of experience in the bed and breakfast industry, Black Horse Cottage offers accommodation to visitors of many surrounding tourist attractions and overnight stays for passengers to and from Ebbsfleet International and other airport connections within South East England. Conveniently located for Bluewater Shopping Centre. Set up in 1990, the business is based in Bean (Dartford, Kent).The business provides visitors with a welcoming twin room and en-suite facilities with TV and internet access. Our friendly staff ensure visitors have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Guests will enjoy a warming breakfast to start their day, from something simple, such as cereals and juice to a full English breakfast. Black Horse Cottage has a growing network of clients, located throughout the UK and abroad, including tradesmen attending local courses, business and medical professionals, Brands Hatch stewards and competitors, through to tourists, local wedding guests, touring musicians, bands and theatre groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Horse Cottage Dartford, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing