We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the first bad review I've ever felt necessary to write.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Horse Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Dartford B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is the first bad review I've ever felt necessary to write.”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Contrary to other reviews I've read for this B & B I found the service completely unsatisfactory; despite having booked two double rooms some weeks in advance; when we arrived (having driven down from Newcastle) only one room was available due to existing guests extending their stay by a few days-clearly profit motive overrides advance bookings here. John suggested that one couple stay in Eynesford, about 7 miles away, but as we were all coming down to attend a funeral we wished to be together as a group & this was clearly unacceptable, so with some encouragement John phoned round & eventually found us somewhere else.
Perhaps the food is good & the beds comfortable but I feel that the ethics leave something to be desired, so 'nil points' for this one!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank billywhizz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    2
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
8
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights and couldn't fault it. Originally booked a room for 3 of us but were swapped to two rooms for the same price. Kim cooked wonderful breakfasts for us all. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Will be coming back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed in black horse cottage 4 nights as I was working around. Rating this b&b from a "business stay" perspective I can say I am absolutely satisfied. In fact this was exactly what I was looking for. Comfort room, everything clean and tidy, the en suite bathroom is great and Kim is making a carefully prepared tasty breakfast in the morning. Don't need anything more during a business trip. The only negative was that when I arrived was nobody there so I had to wait ~ 15-20 mins but I guess that was not a big thing. I can surely neglect that taking into account all the rest. Excellent choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StavrosChatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed for a week and was extremely impressed with the level of service. On arrival, I was greeted and assisted with baggage and shown to a newly refurbished immaculate room with en-suite. Superb bedroom, beautiful dining room, excellent breakfast and tasteful decor throughout, makes this the best B&B I have ever stayed in. Many thanks to John and Kim for a very pleasant week and I will be back.
G.R. May 2012.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

We had 2 rooms which are newly refurbished, clean and light with plenty of space, nice en-suite shower room. Fantastic full English breakfast and very welcoming. Great place for a stop over and really close to Bluewater shopping centre. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janatholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Very nicely decorated and good size rooms. Very near to bluewater so plenty of choice for food and things to do in the evening. I stay away lots with work so I've seen plenty of variety of rooms this is one of the nicest I've ever stayed in. Lovely helpful owners. At one point I asked where I could buy some windscreen washer fluid for my work van nearby. The owner went into his cupboards and gave me some of his! What a legend! Only bad point was due to timing... They were decorating some rooms while I was there so it ment I couldn't extend my stay as not all rooms were available. Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peteherbert1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I stayed for a few weeks whilst moving into the area and this place was perfect.
The people who run it are friendly and helpful, the breakfast is outstanding, and the accommodation is fine - very clean, comfy beds, good bathrooms. For the price it is outstanding: good, simple clean accommodation with a good brekky.
Easy parking, and a very good location in a quiet village.

Room Tip: The room with kitchenette is handy, but all rooms have fridge and tea/coffee and kettle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartford hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Dartford
2.5 mi away
Campanile Dartford
Campanile Dartford
#7 of 7 in Dartford
372 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dartford Bridge
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Dartford
Travelodge Dartford
#6 of 7 in Dartford
200 reviews
4.2 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Cottage

Property: Black Horse Cottage
Address: Black Horse Cottage High Street | Bean, Dartford DA2 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dartford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 years of experience in the bed and breakfast industry, Black Horse Cottage offers accommodation to visitors of many surrounding tourist attractions and overnight stays for passengers to and from Ebbsfleet International and other airport connections within South East England. Conveniently located for Bluewater Shopping Centre. Set up in 1990, the business is based in Bean (Dartford, Kent).The business provides visitors with a welcoming twin room and en-suite facilities with TV and internet access. Our friendly staff ensure visitors have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Guests will enjoy a warming breakfast to start their day, from something simple, such as cereals and juice to a full English breakfast. Black Horse Cottage has a growing network of clients, located throughout the UK and abroad, including tradesmen attending local courses, business and medical professionals, Brands Hatch stewards and competitors, through to tourists, local wedding guests, touring musicians, bands and theatre groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Horse Cottage Dartford, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing