We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No reservation!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Horse Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Dartford B&B and Inns
St Privat des Pres, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No reservation!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Make sure you get a written response confirming your booking. Despite two emails and a telephone call we arrived exhausted to find the owner hadn't reserved our room. Pathetic! At least he rang around and found us another place but it was too far away from where we needed to be. My sense was of an owner who really didn't know what he was doing.

Room Tip: We ended up at the Anchor & Hope pub some miles away which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    2
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
8
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We only stayed at Black Horse Cottage for one night but it was very comfortable and clean. The full English breakfast was very good and there was as much tea, coffee and toast as you wanted.
We would definately stay here again and would highly recommend it. We thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We booked two overnight stays for travel to and from Paris via Eurostar (Ebbsfleet). On arrival they were genuinely pleased to see us and made us feel very welcome, the breakfast was great (didn't have to eat until later that evening) and the en-suite rooms were spotless. We will definately be coming back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJones8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

we visited last weekend we came down from wales and after a long journey,we couldnt wait to book in to this b&b.
on a arrival we could see how clean and tidy the outside was,and it got even better on the inside,this was immaculate,the rooms were spotless and very mordern.,
the beds were very comfy.
we had the breakfast ,which was in our saying lush,a full english breakfast and georgous tasting coffee.
kim done justice on the cooking and was a lovely lady,this place was worth every penny,we cant wait to visit again,which hopefully will be soon ,thankyo vey much.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolls10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Contrary to other reviews I've read for this B & B I found the service completely unsatisfactory; despite having booked two double rooms some weeks in advance; when we arrived (having driven down from Newcastle) only one room was available due to existing guests extending their stay by a few days-clearly profit motive overrides advance bookings here. John suggested that one couple stay in Eynesford, about 7 miles away, but as we were all coming down to attend a funeral we wished to be together as a group & this was clearly unacceptable, so with some encouragement John phoned round & eventually found us somewhere else.
Perhaps the food is good & the beds comfortable but I feel that the ethics leave something to be desired, so 'nil points' for this one!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank billywhizz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights and couldn't fault it. Originally booked a room for 3 of us but were swapped to two rooms for the same price. Kim cooked wonderful breakfasts for us all. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Will be coming back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed in black horse cottage 4 nights as I was working around. Rating this b&b from a "business stay" perspective I can say I am absolutely satisfied. In fact this was exactly what I was looking for. Comfort room, everything clean and tidy, the en suite bathroom is great and Kim is making a carefully prepared tasty breakfast in the morning. Don't need anything more during a business trip. The only negative was that when I arrived was nobody there so I had to wait ~ 15-20 mins but I guess that was not a big thing. I can surely neglect that taking into account all the rest. Excellent choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StavrosChatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartford hotels
2.5 mi away
Campanile Dartford
Campanile Dartford
#7 of 7 in Dartford
366 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Dartford
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Dartford
Travelodge Dartford
#6 of 7 in Dartford
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dartford Bridge
4.2 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Cottage

Property: Black Horse Cottage
Address: Black Horse Cottage High Street | Bean, Dartford DA2 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dartford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 years of experience in the bed and breakfast industry, Black Horse Cottage offers accommodation to visitors of many surrounding tourist attractions and overnight stays for passengers to and from Ebbsfleet International and other airport connections within South East England. Conveniently located for Bluewater Shopping Centre. Set up in 1990, the business is based in Bean (Dartford, Kent).The business provides visitors with a welcoming twin room and en-suite facilities with TV and internet access. Our friendly staff ensure visitors have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Guests will enjoy a warming breakfast to start their day, from something simple, such as cereals and juice to a full English breakfast. Black Horse Cottage has a growing network of clients, located throughout the UK and abroad, including tradesmen attending local courses, business and medical professionals, Brands Hatch stewards and competitors, through to tourists, local wedding guests, touring musicians, bands and theatre groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Horse Cottage Dartford, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing