We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for London and Harry Potter studio tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great base for London and Harry Potter studio tour”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Travelled down from Yorkshire with 2 boys on friday evening, travelled to London by train for Saturday day out then after overnight stay saturday checked out and travelled the short distance to Harry Potter after which we travelled back home. The hotel was clean room quite big the sofa bed had already been made up for us for the boys to sleep in. The hotel is approx 100yds from the train station so we could just leave the car in the hotel car park which was free for the weekend. Harry Potter is only 10min drive away. Great place for a base to visit the above. The fact that there is a free breakfast which is quite substantial and you can have as much as you want really sets you up for the day.I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to do the same as us and woud certainly use the hotel again if and when we return to revisit. Can't fault it Perfect.

Room Tip: Doesnt matter where you choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doc055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    321
    121
    33
    13
See reviews for
265
163
30
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after visiting the Harry Potter studio tour. The hotel is situated a few minutes from the train station and also the bus station.

Rooms are very clean and a good size. Tea and coffee making facilities were a bonus. TV was a little old, didn't have a DVD player what we hoped for.

Breakfast was continental and a good range of cereals, breads, fruits and drinks were available.

Would recommend!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sunworshiper456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel was just perfect for what we wanted-shopping & The Harry Potter Studio Tour .
Its less than a 2 minute walk from Watford Junction train/bus station & about 10-15 minute walk to the shopping centre/town centre.
We had 2 inter-connecting rooms which were fab!!
The whole hotel was exceptionaly clean, the staff really helpful & polite.
We arrived at approx 10 am & our rooms were ready-even though it states that check in is from 2pm!! Also I stated that I wanted my room to be a twin it was a double, but as we were checking in the recetionist rang housekeeping to put up a double bed in our room & when we got to our room less than 5 minutes later the bed was already up & made & no sign of housekeeping!! Excellent service from all the staff!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalied41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic clean hotel!!! I chose this as I'd stayed in a holiday inn express in Leeds which was great & this hotel didn't disappoint!!! Fantastic base for London & harry potter would definitely stay again staff were happy and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank simonematthewella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We selected this location through the IHG app as an overnight rest point.
Standard Holiday Inn Express features and design. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were exceptional and very friendly. The free breakfast was ample to start the day.

The entrance is a little hard to find being off the main road. Free parking and WiFi. Would stay again if traveling in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We picked this place for our visit to London in July2013, because all the hotels in the city were full. Watford Junction was the next best alternative, as it fit in with our plans to visit the Harry Potter studios. Watford Junction is at the north east fringe of London.

Good points about Holiday Inn Watford Junction - it's clean, with a convenience store nearby, and less than 5 minutes walk from Watford Junction train/bus station where the shuttle bus picks up passengers to Warner Brothers Harry Potter Studios. Friendly Hotel staff allowed us to leave our luggage in their locked luggage room for almost the whole day, after we checked out to go tour WB Studio. Trains run to London's Euston station very frequently, and the cost is low if you get an all-day ticket which you can use on both the tube and train.

Not so good points - Internet is only available free in the lobby but you have to pay to use it in the room, and there's no in-room safe for safekeeping laptop / passports / other valuables.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BernieTMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here for 3 nights last week the main asset of this Hotel is the exceptional customer care skills of all staff who have no hesitation in welcoming guests I am sure this flagship hotel will be recognised by its group as one of the best in the country for its size, location and well prepared staff.

It is ideally situated and all staff always willing to help out.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Mr E,
Thank you for your lovely compliments. It is very heat-warming to hear praise like that. I hope we see you back soon.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.6 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Address: 19 Bridle Path, Watford WD17 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watford
#4 Family Hotel in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS LONDON WATFORD JUNCTION is situated 2 min from Watford Junction train station just off the A412, with close connections to M25 and M1. All 98 rooms have ensuite facilities with tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, flat screen TV and airconditioning.Ideally located for both corporate and leisure travellers. BT, Total Oil, Sanyo, TK Maxx, Taylor Woodrow, Beko, Haden Young, Camelot, Coface, KPMG and J.D.Wetherspoon are just some of the offices within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is within a few minutes from 3 Golf courses, Purley Chase, Bushy Hall & the West Herts Golf Clubs, which are also popular venues for weddings. From the hotel one can reach TOP GOLF in 10 min, Watford Palace Theatre in 4 min, Pump House Theatre in 8 min, Watford Colosseum in 4 min, Oceana Club in 4 min, Harlequin Centre in 6 min & Watford Football Club Stadium in 6 min. The Hotel offers high speed internet access throughout and rooms are airconditioned. The hotel is an ideal base for Tour Groups with London Euston just 15 minutes by train. The Hotel has 2 Conference Rooms offering state of the art meeting facilities, natural daylight and 24 hour and Day Delegate rates. Parking is available in a pay & display car park just 2 min from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction Hotel Watford
Holiday Inn Express Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing