We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for London & Harry Potter tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Holiday Inn Watford Junction for two nights between Saturday 30th November and Monday 2nd December and we were very pleased with our choice of accommodation. We needed to be convenient to the city as we had show tickets for the Saturday evening and also wanted to get some Christmas shopping done, but we had tickets for the Harry Potter studio tour on the Sunday evening as well, so needed to stay somewhere that allowed us easy access to both. With trains running from Watford Junction station (right next door) to Euston every 20 minutes or so, we had no problem getting in and out. There is also a bus that runs very regularly between the bus station (in front of the train station) and the Warner Bros studios where the tour takes place, so the location of the Holiday Inn was ideal... You can't miss the bus as it is emblazoned with 'Harry Potter' and pictures of characters from top to bottom! We found the staff to be friendly and knowledgable, the room to be clean and comfortable and the breakfast (included for all guests) to be perfectly adequate as well. You can hear trains going by but they certainly aren't what you would consider 'noisy' and didn't make our stay any less comfortable. The Harry Potter tour was excellent too!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

When traveling it is all about the internet, as work is important, Hotel does offer free internet, but this is just like dial up internet very slow,

But the good point is, checking in was great, felt welcomed, room was good, nice clean, TV can be a bit bigger, feel secure and safe. Breakfast is free for all guest, so don’t pay before hand, good selection, don’t expect too much.

It is worth it...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khuram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Khuram A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you found our room clean and nice and our staff great. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the inconvenience the internet connection may have caused. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Although close to the station quite hard to find the way in the dark.

rooms as you would expect and staff very helpful.

HI express breakfast almost always a disappointment , this was no exception. the sausage were inedible and the eggs like plastic

Saying that, Close to London and not too costly. would use again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear David R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you found our rooms satisfactory and staff friendly. On the other hand, I apologize for the inconvenience the breakfast options may have caused you. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed one night for a local party - so handy location. The usual basic room, very clean and tidy. Not the nicest of areas - handy for train station and the hotel does NOT shake with trains running past - nor the noise disturb you. Hair dryer provided, wifi and tv. Plenty of mirrors and lighting. Mattress was very soft but adequate.
Breakfast did the job, not the nicest though - yes free but I should think so with the price of the room!
Would use again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear louise s,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you find our rooms clean and liked our breakfast. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights over the weekend, GREAT location as 15 minute train journey to london Euston and is 30 second walk from train station. 3 minute drive from Harry potter studios. Breakfast is basic as expected at holiday inn express, strange choice of having no bacon.. Mini muffins are beautiful and the staff are helpful and friendly! Would definitely stay again for a visit to London.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauraclint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Me and my daughter stayed there for two nights in order to visit the Harry Potter studio. The location was perfect for us, close to Watford Junction. A quick walk to the hotel, late arrival for us due to late flight was not a problem. Very welcoming and service minded staff who helped us order delivered pizza to our room. Alex Kah is a good representative for this Clean, tidy and all over nice hotell and so is all the other personel we met.
Nothing to complaint about, much better than the price..
OK, i am Swedish so I must find something, I missed the bacon :-)
but Alex Kah wass speaking Swedish so it didn´t matter, keep up the good work. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrimsanF00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My niece and I stayed here for a few days during our visit to the Harry Potter Studio Tour a couple of weeks ago. The hotel was very clean and the staff was welcoming and very helpful. Our room looked a little tattered and worn but it was clean and the bathroom was clean. The décor of the room is "college dorm" and the bedding felt more like a futon than a mattress. The complimentary breakfast was adequate (e.g., cereals, fruit, breads, scrambled eggs, and sausage). For a heartier meal you may want to walk across the street to the "Junction Café". We ate there for lunch and the portion sizes are humongous and the food was flavorful.

This hotel's biggest asset is its location being walking distance from the Watford Junction train station (for trains into London) and the bus stop for the Harry Potter bus that takes you to the studio tour. The studio tour bus fare is £2 each (round trip) and you will also need your email confirmation that you have already purchased tickets for the studio tour – you cannot get on the bus if you do not have this confirmation.

In case you need a recommendation for dinner, we walked a few blocks to a restaurant called the "Southern Cross" which was very, very good.

I would stay at this Holiday Inn Express again and I commend the staff for their professional manner and friendly service. It does make a difference!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the front of the hotel (I had read other reviews concerning noise from the trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.6 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
2.3 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction

Address: 19 Bridle Path, Watford WD17 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Watford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watford
Price Range: £55 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS LONDON WATFORD JUNCTION is situated 2 min from Watford Junction train station just off the A412, with close connections to M25 and M1. All 98 rooms have ensuite facilities with tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, flat screen TV and airconditioning.Ideally located for both corporate and leisure travellers. BT, Total Oil, Sanyo, TK Maxx, Taylor Woodrow, Beko, Haden Young, Camelot, Coface, KPMG and J.D.Wetherspoon are just some of the offices within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is within a few minutes from 3 Golf courses, Purley Chase, Bushy Hall & the West Herts Golf Clubs, which are also popular venues for weddings. From the hotel one can reach TOP GOLF in 10 min, Watford Palace Theatre in 4 min, Pump House Theatre in 8 min, Watford Colosseum in 4 min, Oceana Club in 4 min, Harlequin Centre in 6 min & Watford Football Club Stadium in 6 min. The Hotel offers high speed internet access throughout and rooms are airconditioned. The hotel is an ideal base for Tour Groups with London Euston just 15 minutes by train. The Hotel has 2 Conference Rooms offering state of the art meeting facilities, natural daylight and 24 hour and Day Delegate rates. Parking is available in a pay & display car park just 2 min from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction Hotel Watford
Holiday Inn Express Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing