We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good functional stop over hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is based bear Watford Junction train station. Can be noisy with trains at times, but not too bad.

Check on straight forward, car can be parked outside for free at certain times of night, or there was a car park around the back of the hotel.

Rooms are functional, no frills and a little dated now compared to other express hotels.

Great nights sleep, clean hotel, would recommend.

Rate is a tad more expensive and varies all the time. At £90 a room, it does not offer good value.

Overall a good place to stop over, however no frills at 4* prices.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Cheeksontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here this weekend for my friends 21st birthday. To start with it wasn't easily accessible and there weren't enough parking spaces for the guests. We got extremely lucky that our car could fit in a tight space just outside the hotel or we would have had to leave it out the back in a poorly lit long alleyway. The hotel itself is very clean, the rooms are nice and modern and the bed was comfy. Also there's free wifi which is good. The staff are all very helpful and polite. In the morning after our night out we went down to enjoy our complimentary breakfast to find that they had run out of sausages which we were told would take 15 minutes to replenish, when they finally came out they looked undercooked, bread for toast, very plain scrambled eggs, cold baked beans, blueberry muffins and juice or water. All in all the breakfast was pretty crap & we left very disappointed in that. The hotel is close to everything but do not get in a meter taxi, always call a taxi rank as the meter taxi's are very expensive and not worth it. Overall, average stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MissJackson92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Miss Jackson92,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and display some photos. I am very sorry that you were not happy about the car parking and breakfast. Your comments are much appreciated, as they tell us what we are doing right and wrong. They certainly help us to improve the services we provide and work on the shortcomings you mentioned.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Just stayed the one night with my son. Found the hotel very convenient for the station and confirm other reviews that its only about 5 minutes from the station and some 20 minutes walk into the main town. Walked into town for our evening meal and found a reasonable selection of restaurants at typically London'ish prices (yes we are from the North and don't understand paying a small mortgage for four prawns and two calamari on a 'starter to share'). The breakfast in the hotel however was basic but enjoyable and with a reasonable selection of items. My son panicked at the lack of bacon but felt able to console himself with extra sausages.
The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful which made our first visit to this hotel and area completely stress free.
The bus to the Harry Potter studies leaves from the station making this hotel a good base to work from. The hotel reception provided us with a timetable for this service.
I didn't use the hotel wifi as I carry my own portable dongle; The 3 network reception in the room was excellent.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CP21NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my 16 year old daughter for 2 nights in December 13
We were visiting the Harry potter tour and this hotel is perfect in location for this.
We travelled from London euston to watford junction. A journey of around 20 minutes. And the hotel is in site to the left of the station as you exit.
There are 2 possible routes to get to the hotel. One being down the bridle path round the back of the railway. It is quite dark but lots of people use it so felt ok.
The other is the main road. Both routes take less than 5 minutes walking.
The hotel is clean comfortable and quiet.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is simple but adequate. No evening meals were available but we ate both nights at the flag pub which is by the station. There are also an Indian and Chinese restaurant. And you can have pizza delivered to the hotel.
Watford shopping centre is about a 20 minute walk away with more of a choice of food available there.
All in all a good stay.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

POSITIVE: The hotel is conveniently located near the train station (less than 5 minute walk). You're in central London in less than 20 min. Parking lot is tricky but its free. The room was basic and clean. NEGATIVES: mattress was less than comfy. so it was a good thing we had booked a short stay. Staff were polite but did not resolve the problem with our phone - which was inconvenient since we had to run to reception each time we had a question. Breakfast was lack luster, McDonald's might have been a better choice. ANNOYING: Wi-fi is free but slow. You have to pay for a faster connection. There was only one working electric socket, which I am encountering more often with these chain hotels. CONCLUSION; You get what you pay for. Holiday Inn isn't what it used to be - its right up there with all those other chains. But with that said, its not a bad hotel. You are close enough to central London without the high prices. So I would recommend it if you're on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Gloria H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is good to know you like our location. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret our staff service and room accommodations did not live up to your expectations. Rest assure your comments are valued and aid in the improvement of our services and amenities.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Close to train station and Harry Potter shuttle to Warner Bros. Studios. Clean room. Kind of expensive for what you get. Breakfast was okay. Disappointed there was no evening meal options. But, overall, it served its purpose.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveldiva2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear traveldiva2406,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. Our hotel is committed in providing the best service and amenities to all our guests and we are very happy to know you appreciate our location, rooms and breakfast. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment you had during your stay. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Holiday Inn Watford Junction for two nights between Saturday 30th November and Monday 2nd December and we were very pleased with our choice of accommodation. We needed to be convenient to the city as we had show tickets for the Saturday evening and also wanted to get some Christmas shopping done, but we had tickets for the Harry Potter studio tour on the Sunday evening as well, so needed to stay somewhere that allowed us easy access to both. With trains running from Watford Junction station (right next door) to Euston every 20 minutes or so, we had no problem getting in and out. There is also a bus that runs very regularly between the bus station (in front of the train station) and the Warner Bros studios where the tour takes place, so the location of the Holiday Inn was ideal... You can't miss the bus as it is emblazoned with 'Harry Potter' and pictures of characters from top to bottom! We found the staff to be friendly and knowledgable, the room to be clean and comfortable and the breakfast (included for all guests) to be perfectly adequate as well. You can hear trains going by but they certainly aren't what you would consider 'noisy' and didn't make our stay any less comfortable. The Harry Potter tour was excellent too!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
1.6 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
2.3 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction

Address: 19 Bridle Path, Watford WD17 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watford
#4 Family Hotel in Watford
Price Range: £67 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS LONDON WATFORD JUNCTION is situated 2 min from Watford Junction train station just off the A412, with close connections to M25 and M1. All 98 rooms have ensuite facilities with tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, flat screen TV and airconditioning.Ideally located for both corporate and leisure travellers. BT, Total Oil, Sanyo, TK Maxx, Taylor Woodrow, Beko, Haden Young, Camelot, Coface, KPMG and J.D.Wetherspoon are just some of the offices within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is within a few minutes from 3 Golf courses, Purley Chase, Bushy Hall & the West Herts Golf Clubs, which are also popular venues for weddings. From the hotel one can reach TOP GOLF in 10 min, Watford Palace Theatre in 4 min, Pump House Theatre in 8 min, Watford Colosseum in 4 min, Oceana Club in 4 min, Harlequin Centre in 6 min & Watford Football Club Stadium in 6 min. The Hotel offers high speed internet access throughout and rooms are airconditioned. The hotel is an ideal base for Tour Groups with London Euston just 15 minutes by train. The Hotel has 2 Conference Rooms offering state of the art meeting facilities, natural daylight and 24 hour and Day Delegate rates. Parking is available in a pay & display car park just 2 min from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction Hotel Watford
Holiday Inn Express Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing