We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Functional Hotel”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

A very functional hotel close to the railway station and close to m25 junction but not a great car park space.
Reception staff were not the usual friendly team that I've become to expect in a holiday inn (iam a priority club card)
Breakfast was ok if you like the new holiday inn buffet breakfast offer but it always seems to be luke warm.
Bedroom standard holiday inn which was warm and clean.
Would use hotel again if I was over in Watford.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Simon S,
Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to hear that even though you were slightly disappointed, you would still stay in our hotel. I am sorry if you didn't find the staff as welcoming as usual on this occassion. I can assure you that we do take all customers' comments serioucly and do our best to improve.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    321
    121
    33
    13
See reviews for
265
163
30
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hotel was lovely and staff were very helpful and friendly. Train station were near so travelling to London downtown was easy. Also Watford center wasn't too far away. Near train station was bus stop for Harry Potter tour so that was also great. At first I was little afraid that, because hotel is so near train station there would be too much noise, but I didn't have any issues to get sleep.

Only minor issue was that our room was if I remember correctly, on 7th floor and I thought that whole hotel were non-smoking, but it seems our room wasn't. I'm not sure did I make mistake when I reserved or how did we end room with smoking. Although we left window open for a day and that helped a lot. And I also noticed that there was notification which stated that whole hotel were going to be non-smoking, sadly after our stay.

Breakfast in hotel was ok. Nothing special, but it was enough to keep hunger away until lunch. Overall I was very satisfied with this hotel and location was perfect considering if you want to visit London downtown every day of your visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Villaovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Villaovi,
Thank you for the thorough review. I'm sorry to hear that your room was smelling of smoke. Since your stay we have become a completely non-smoking hotel so this should never happen again.
i'm glad that that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to welcome you back again soon,
Kindest regards,
Phil Kleiser
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was a great hotel to stay in, the staff were very helpful and friendly. Perfect location for the Warner Bros. Studio tour thanks to the buses but also if you want to head into London itself Cockfosters was just down the road to take you on the Piccadilly line. Room was very nice and clean as was the whole hotel.

Room Tip: Literally right next door to Watford Junction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanCarlyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear DanCarlyon,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I was a little confused by the Cockfosters reference. The fastest way to central London would be to take the express train from the station next door. It gets you to Euston Station in 15-20 minutes.
Thank you for staying with us, and I hope we see you again soon,
Kindest regards,

Phil Kleiser
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Me and my sister stayed here for one night as we were visiting the Warner Brothers Studio for the Harry Potter Studio Tour. It is in a perfect location very close to the train and bus station. It's very easy to catch the shuttle from the train station to the studio.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was nice and had everything we needed for our stay. The beds were pretty comfortable so we slept well.
All in all, a good hotel, good value for money and a great location!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear NoRewind,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a nice birthday. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kindest regards,

Phil Kleiser
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

+ Fantastic value
+ Free wifi in room
+ Room spotlessly clean
+ Friendly helpful staff
+ 1 minute walk to Watford Junction train station

- Bar rather expensive
- No early check-in

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Watford Junction for one night and were delighted with our booking - at £50 b&b it really was fantastic value.

The purpose of our stay was a visit to the Harry Potter Studio Tour for which I don't think we could've found anything better in terms of location and value for money. There is a shuttle bus directly to the studio from Stance 4 at the station that is just £2 return and with the Harry Potter signage on its side and the familiar music playing on the short 10 minute ride it's a great way to build the excitement before the visit - if the Harry Potter tour is the sole purpose for your visit to London then I HIGHLY recommend doing it this way (there is also a shuttle bus from London Victoria but it is around £30 return).

Breakfast was decent, nothing to shout about but the fact that it is included in the room rate at all seems to be pretty unusual these days (the following night we stayed in a hotel in Shepherd's Bush at roughly three times the price of this one and there was no inclusive breakfast or wifi).

We ate at a nearby restaurant called Steakhouse which was nice and very reasonable with 50% off through Toptable so this is worth looking out for if you are looking for somewhere to eat.

All in all I highly recommend this hotel if you are in the area for any reason and particularly for those who are looking for a budget place to stay to save their pennies for Harry Potter like I was!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticlinzi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Many thanks for writing a positive review about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights. I never ate here other than the breakfast which was ok. I would say however that it always seemed cold. But plenty of it. As usual you get very basic stuff but quite good. The only warm stuff is toast, scrambled egg, beans and toast. I stayed on 6th floor and tended to get a bit of rail noise but it wasnt a problem really. The beer in there is very expensive at 3.70 a pint of becks, or got a short walk back to the station and find the pub called the flag. Here you can get food and beer, i got a real ale for about 2.40, but it depends what you want. Its a lively welcoming pub. Overall ok with good walking access to watford junction station which has loads of trains into Euston, but the frequent journeys can become expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Many thanks for your review. Your feedback is much appreciated. I am sorry that you found the bar prices high. I hope that it won't deter you from staying with us some time in the future.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We visited this hotel as part of a group undertaking a charity event so the hotel had to be priced at a level that would suit all of the group. It was a weekend stay so I suspect it made it easier to get a good rate and for B&B it was a VERY good rate. The rooms are functional but immaculate and for once the lighting was enough for the other half to do her make up without the usual moan!
Breakfast is included and was not fancy but fresh and offered everything that one might want. The location is a little odd up a lane on the other side of the track to Watford Junction station but don't be concerned there is zero train noise and our room overlooked the station.
Anu, the reservations manager, couldn't have been more helpful and the reception staff that seemed to work many hours always seemed cheery and efficient.
For food the local pubs are awful however the Junction Cafe across the road was actually fine for a snack.
For business or an inexpensive weekend location this hotel is highly recommended and puts to shame a lot of the more expensive hotels we have stayed in.
Well done to them and thank you.
P.S. The Charity function was thankfully a major success

Room Tip: All rooms seem ok and are clustered around the elevators so no major hikes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write a nice review about our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our hotel to others.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.6 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Address: 19 Bridle Path, Watford WD17 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watford
#4 Family Hotel in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS LONDON WATFORD JUNCTION is situated 2 min from Watford Junction train station just off the A412, with close connections to M25 and M1. All 98 rooms have ensuite facilities with tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, flat screen TV and airconditioning.Ideally located for both corporate and leisure travellers. BT, Total Oil, Sanyo, TK Maxx, Taylor Woodrow, Beko, Haden Young, Camelot, Coface, KPMG and J.D.Wetherspoon are just some of the offices within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is within a few minutes from 3 Golf courses, Purley Chase, Bushy Hall & the West Herts Golf Clubs, which are also popular venues for weddings. From the hotel one can reach TOP GOLF in 10 min, Watford Palace Theatre in 4 min, Pump House Theatre in 8 min, Watford Colosseum in 4 min, Oceana Club in 4 min, Harlequin Centre in 6 min & Watford Football Club Stadium in 6 min. The Hotel offers high speed internet access throughout and rooms are airconditioned. The hotel is an ideal base for Tour Groups with London Euston just 15 minutes by train. The Hotel has 2 Conference Rooms offering state of the art meeting facilities, natural daylight and 24 hour and Day Delegate rates. Parking is available in a pay & display car park just 2 min from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction Hotel Watford
Holiday Inn Express Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing