We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent. Would stay again”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just stayed stayed for 1 night with husband and 15 year old child on visit to wembley stadium. Excellent stay, room was spotlessly clean, towels, coffee tea etc. All staff from first arrival at the holiday inn to bar staff, breakfast etc were polite, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. On a plus side was free wi fi for up to three devices in both bar and the room. Station 2 minute walk away. Would stay again if visiting wembley.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Andrea C

Thank you for the kind words. I happy to hear you had an excellent stay.
We look forward to seeing you again for your next trip to Wembley.

Kindest regards,

Phil Kleiser
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    319
    120
    33
    13
See reviews for
262
161
30
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Did not realise was so close to railway. Kept us up all night. Very noisy. Apart from that was ok but for £150?! Hell no! Car parking is limited and it's a bit outside watford. The pub on corner by it the flag is half decent with good prices TVs are dated no hdmi to laptop which is a big no no

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris24680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Chris24680

I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Please be advised that the hotel description on our website clearly says that we are conveniently situated 3 minutes’ walk from Watford Junction Station. This does mean that there can be some train noise. We would recommend that if you are light sleepers, you contact a hotel in advance and request a quiet room. We do have quiet, front facing rooms. Also for your information the hotel is only 10 minutes walk from the town centre.
We have car parking available for up to 50 cars and very rarely find that there is no space for our guests. On the very rare occasion there are no spaces in either of the car parks, adjacent to the hotel there is also the train station car park available.
Our LCD TV’s are designed for use with hotel electronics to allow the Music Streamer and Movie Options to work. They are not currently designed to take outside connections as we found that this caused too much damage to the sockets when they are continuously attached and disconnected. I will be looking into ways to make this possible in the future, but this is the first time we have received a request for an HDMI connection. We appreciate your feedback and will be looking into your comments and seeing if there is anything we could have done to make your stay more enjoyable.

Kindest regards,

Phil Kleiser
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

At first I was sceptical about the hotel as it was quite cheap but upon arrival was pleasantly surprised. The entrance was very posh and the staff quite welcoming. Our room was very nice aswell, lots of room and for £56 we had a double bed as well as a sofa bed. The room was nice and clean, the shower was nice but i think needed a descaling as the water did'nt flow hugely well and it leaked a bit. I liked that all the information about services was available through the t.v and that it was easy to access. We had lots of towels as well which is usually an issue, however, no small flannel sized towels. There were also dispensers which were hand soap, shampoo and shower gel all in one which smelt amazing. The bed was very very comfy and the room was nice and warm. The only negative thing really is that my boyfriend wanted bacon with the breakfast but they don't serve bacon. However, the staff were very polite and let us 'borrow' extra coffee sachets and milk so we had about a thousand drinks while in the room. Overall, a great experience for a great price too. I think I could actually just live in the room it was that spacious and homey

Room Tip: The room we had had a double bed and sofa bed, the website I booked from said 'ideal for childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitneyLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were booked in for 2 nights on the 24th and 25th of April, however we left after 1 night. On our first night trains all night as we were in the room right next to the main line, and at about 11ish pm worker turned up as they were working on the line that night, all we heard was lts of shouting and swearing. Even with the windo closed. Tv Chanel's were really really basic, every tv now has freeview at the very least we had less than that. Parking your car was a complete joke about 18 spaces for a hotel like this, ridiculous. Unless you wanted to risk a parking ticket. Breakfast was also just as bad no where near enough seats at all for the amount of rooms. No matter what time you went for breakfast, so little room. The smaller things: no bottle opener (every other hotel room we've stayed at has), cracks in the sink, constant hissing sound coming from bathroom, window so hard to open so stiff and button on shower was broken to adjust temperature.

Room Tip: Choose other budget hotels in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Michael D

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Watford.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Staff were professional and knowledgeable about the area and amenities, which included tube and train times. Room was spacious for 4 of us and clean. Breakfast was adequate. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the back of the hotel to try and escape the noise from the trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EbonySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
Level Contributor
430 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very expensive hotel. Really close to Watford Junction railway station - less than 5 minutes walk. Hotel is not large so was quite cramped at breakfast. Parking is expensive - £5 over night. Facilities are all fine in the rooms which are spacious. Fine for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear AngusAsh,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with the prices of our hotel, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I booked two rooms there for two days on 04/11/2014 to 04/13/2014. The entire hotel during our stay did not have hot water. My wife had to travel 45 min. away to our daughter's college to take a hot shower. All they would tell us is anytime now there will be hot water. Unfortunately there never was during our stay. Breakfast was bad. Rooms were very small. The T.V had only a few channels. Do not leave window open when you go to sleep, trains running right outside the hotel are so loud and run every few minutes. All the other hotels we stayed at were great during our stay. This is the first hotel I ever gave a bad rating.

Room Tip: Perhaps opposite side of the train tracks might be a little more quiet. But I doubt it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear James R,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the cold water you had when you stayed with us. The boiler failure was unfortunately not something that we could have foreseen, and although we had engineers working on the fault within 2 hours, they could not get it fixed by the time you checked out.
If you would like to discuss the matter further, please feel free to contact me directly (info at express-watford.com).

Kindest regards,

Phil Kleiser
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.6 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Address: 19 Bridle Path, Watford WD17 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Watford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS LONDON WATFORD JUNCTION is situated 2 min from Watford Junction train station just off the A412, with close connections to M25 and M1. All 98 rooms have ensuite facilities with tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, flat screen TV and airconditioning.Ideally located for both corporate and leisure travellers. BT, Total Oil, Sanyo, TK Maxx, Taylor Woodrow, Beko, Haden Young, Camelot, Coface, KPMG and J.D.Wetherspoon are just some of the offices within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is within a few minutes from 3 Golf courses, Purley Chase, Bushy Hall & the West Herts Golf Clubs, which are also popular venues for weddings. From the hotel one can reach TOP GOLF in 10 min, Watford Palace Theatre in 4 min, Pump House Theatre in 8 min, Watford Colosseum in 4 min, Oceana Club in 4 min, Harlequin Centre in 6 min & Watford Football Club Stadium in 6 min. The Hotel offers high speed internet access throughout and rooms are airconditioned. The hotel is an ideal base for Tour Groups with London Euston just 15 minutes by train. The Hotel has 2 Conference Rooms offering state of the art meeting facilities, natural daylight and 24 hour and Day Delegate rates. Parking is available in a pay & display car park just 2 min from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction Hotel Watford
Holiday Inn Express Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing