We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Location was perfect for a trip to warner brothers harry potter studio. Just minutes away from the train station, (beware this station is actually not part of the London Underground and you must pay on top of your all zones card). Breakfast was more than we expected with some hot food available. All in all added to a great weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin481111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    313
    119
    32
    13
See reviews for
252
159
29
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Arrived in the morning of our stay and were allowed to leave our car and visit the warner studios. As we wanted to go to london the following day via rail we left the car again. Only £10 for 2 days parking. The hotel was first rate. Staff very accomodating, room perfect for our needs and location superb for all sightseeing needs. Totally reccomended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sandman2083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed here with my partner for one night. We stayed here as we were visiting Warner Brother Studios for the Harry Potter tour - it is ideally located for this.

It is a two minute walk from Watford Junction station and there is a shuttle bus to and from the studios for £2 for a return.

The hotel is clean and the staff were efficient enough however the bed was very uncomfortable and the "free" breakfast was very disappointing.

The breakfast is advertised as 6:30 until 9:30, we went down for breakfast at 9:00 and there was very little left, there was NO bacon and very few beans. There were also a lot of uncleared tables, I am aware that it is a self clearing service but would have expected staff to keep on top of the tables which had been left.

We stayed in room 414 which over looked the train station, the noise was quite disturbing with the window open but the room was fully air conditioned so the room was cool enough with the window closed.

The room was clean enough as was the bathroom.

We only stayed for one night and I feel if we had been staying for longer I would have asked to move rooms as the bed was very uncomfortable and felt like it was dipping in the middle meaning you rolled into the middle of the bed.

My only other observation would be that there were very few available channels on the TV nowhere near as many as "freeview" offers.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the opposite side to the train station if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Katy E,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Check in was fast and efficient. The hotel has a very small car park, so I thought it wiser to park in watford junction train station - I reserved and paid for my parking online. The train station is less than five minutes walk from the hotel. We asked for a quiet room, and were given room 715 which was very quiet.

The room was clean and of a good size. It was also a benefit to have air conditioning.

The breakfast was the standard holiday inn express buffett. We managed to get a table at 8.15 am which surprised me.

Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lapiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Location is great for this hotel, only a short drive away from the Harry Potter Studio, the Watford train station is just minutes walk away. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distant. Room is basic, but clean, however the bed was very uncomfortable, so we didn't have a good night sleep. But you get what you paid for, so it's good if you need somewhere to stay in this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sodaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a realy good location, you are straight on the train to london no bother! Staff was helpful food was good overall cannot fault this hotel!warner brothers studio harry potter is only a short drive away and is worth the visit! Will be returning soon, thankyou for a great stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muzzahullfc18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Really good stay here. Staff excellent and really friendly. Car park is a little tricky to find or you can park in the flag car park - both are £5 a day. Bar food menu is a little limited so I'd suggest eating out. Room was great and fully air conditioned which was needed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Caro307,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the limited menu, it is something we are working on improving, and hopefully will be much better the next time you visit.

Kindest regards,

Phil Kleiser
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
2.3 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Address: 19 Bridle Path, Watford WD17 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Watford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS LONDON WATFORD JUNCTION is situated 2 min from Watford Junction train station just off the A412, with close connections to M25 and M1. All 98 rooms have ensuite facilities with tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, flat screen TV and airconditioning.Ideally located for both corporate and leisure travellers. BT, Total Oil, Sanyo, TK Maxx, Taylor Woodrow, Beko, Haden Young, Camelot, Coface, KPMG and J.D.Wetherspoon are just some of the offices within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is within a few minutes from 3 Golf courses, Purley Chase, Bushy Hall & the West Herts Golf Clubs, which are also popular venues for weddings. From the hotel one can reach TOP GOLF in 10 min, Watford Palace Theatre in 4 min, Pump House Theatre in 8 min, Watford Colosseum in 4 min, Oceana Club in 4 min, Harlequin Centre in 6 min & Watford Football Club Stadium in 6 min. The Hotel offers high speed internet access throughout and rooms are airconditioned. The hotel is an ideal base for Tour Groups with London Euston just 15 minutes by train. The Hotel has 2 Conference Rooms offering state of the art meeting facilities, natural daylight and 24 hour and Day Delegate rates. Parking is available in a pay & display car park just 2 min from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction Hotel Watford
Holiday Inn Express Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing