We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel for Trip into London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel for Trip into London”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Holiday Inn Express Watford is a short stones throw from Watford Junction station. This gives direct access into central London via the London Overground or West Coast Mainline services. It also provides quick and easy access to Wembley Stadium, and I stayed there for a trip to Wembley, arriving Friday night and leaving Sunday morning.

The hotel isn't particularly well signposted, but it was easy enough to find using the sat nav postcode provided by the hotel. Car parking for the hotel is limited, although the pub car park can be used, this isn't lit and could potentially be a safety risk.

The hotel itself is well presented, and provides a good service for its visitors. Breakfast was a Continental + affair, with the usual Continental selection supplemented by sausages, beans and scrambled egg. Due to engineering works I didn't have an issue with train noise, despite being on the railway side, but I can understand why this could cause problems for some people. The wifi is free for all, although only at a limited speed. Faster wifi could be purchased.

As a cheap easy option for access into London though, the hotel provides what it needs to, and I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd numbered room as these are away from the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    319
    120
    33
    13
See reviews for
262
161
30
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had booked this hotel as we wanted somewhere close to Watford Junction station as we were going to Warner Brothers Harry Potter Studio Tour. It was about 10 mins walk to the right as you walk out of the station. We were given a family room on the first floor as there was myself, my husband & my teenage son. There was a double bed & a double which I think was a sofa bed. My son said that it was very comfortable. The shower was a great power shower & they had a note up saying if you forgot anything like a toothbrush or toothpaste etc then just ask in reception & they would be happy to help. We noticed that there was only 2 mugs & so we asked in reception & was given one straight away.

We went out to a KFC for tea which was not far away& we also found just a little further along from the KFC a Tesco Express too. The receptionist directed us to the KFC and there were lots of eating places there too, aboutb10 mins away from hotel but not in the pedestrian area of the town centre that is straight up from the train station & we went around there the next day before going home.

You need your room key to use the lift or you can use the stairs. You are next to the railway but if you want to be within easy walking distance of a train station you expect this!

We went down for breakfast at about 8am, we just got a table before they had all gone. There was juice & a hot drinks machine. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheese, bread & toasters, jams & marmalade & butter, warm croissants & Danish pastries, warm rolls, various cereals, and on the cooked front there were just 3 items which were sausage, scrambled eggs & beans. This too me was a good selection although I note other reviews complain about this! It is a self clearing system but before we had a chance to clear it, a member of staff had taken them. The food was hot & fresh & well replenished the whole time we ate our breakfast. Set us up for the day.

Check out was not until 11am but we left before then as thought it was easier than coming back from shopping to collect our stuff as we only had backpacks. I did notice they had a left luggage room which we might of used had we had more luggage.

Very clean hotel & modern. Great TV & WiFi in room. Also place to plug in your laptop. All very good. Friendly & helpful & polite staff.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking car park at front but the train line runs besides the hotel so you may get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerseysideTinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

A difficult hotel to review, As a basic hotel it would have been fine, only a10 min drive from Harry Pand easy walk to the centre for a large choice of eating.
A really excellent front of house team. Having read the reviews on TA I rang the day before to ask for a room away from the railway line, which I was given on arrival.
Staff were friendly and helpful and the Bar staff (receptionist?) was also very good.
Room as expected for an economy chain.
Good free wifi.
Breakfast was appalling even allowing for the economy nature of the offering. On arrival in the food area we had to clear our own table which was very messy and we were therefore still left with a sticky table top. No milk, No cutlery and limited choices of cereals and hot food - only 3 items - looked very unappetising and coffee was terrible.. With hindsight should have paid and had a breakfast in the local pub.
On checking out the receptionist did knock the parking charge of the bill to apolise for the breakfast.
Would only rate as 3* , but due to the reception staff have given 4*
If in area would consider using again but NOT the breakfast,

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnny061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I booked this hotel through one of the hotel sites to get a discount, as an overnight stay after visiting the Harry Potter studio tour. I had my grand daughter and friend with me so we had a family room, very clean, the 2nd bed was a sofabed and was quite comfy, the shower was nice and hot, room clean. We had dinner in the hotel and although the choice is limited, it was cooked well and both girls left clean plates. A good nights sleep, we were on the top floor, and although it was very busy at breakfast time, the breakfast was usual and adequate. It is only a 10 minute drive from the studio and about the same from the M25 so easy to start the journey back to the west country.

Room Tip: the top floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This came as part of our package for the Harry Potter Studio Tour. The bus for the tour is just across the road although we decided to drive ourselves. The hotel has very clean and modern. The room was perfect and the staff very friendly and helpful. Ideal to walk round the corner to the train station and hop on the fast train to London (20 minutes). Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glyn 'Tommy' H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portglenone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Breakfast was brilliant, even could get hot chocolate. Great selection. Very close to station and 9 minutes from Watford town centre so handy for a bit of shopping or something to eat. All staff are very friendly and able to help with a problem you have. At the reception they can recommend a takeaway and give you a number for a taxi. Station is not even a 2 minute walk away and the Harry Potter bus if is just beside the station too. Although near the station there is not much noise after 11pm as this is the last time the cargo train goes by. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Great location if using rail not so clever via car with limited,difficult parking adjacent. Meeting rooms spot on as are bedrooms if not basic, but all relevant to the low cost. Will use again for meetings keeping out of London for convenience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bill1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.6 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Address: 19 Bridle Path, Watford WD17 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Watford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS LONDON WATFORD JUNCTION is situated 2 min from Watford Junction train station just off the A412, with close connections to M25 and M1. All 98 rooms have ensuite facilities with tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, flat screen TV and airconditioning.Ideally located for both corporate and leisure travellers. BT, Total Oil, Sanyo, TK Maxx, Taylor Woodrow, Beko, Haden Young, Camelot, Coface, KPMG and J.D.Wetherspoon are just some of the offices within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is within a few minutes from 3 Golf courses, Purley Chase, Bushy Hall & the West Herts Golf Clubs, which are also popular venues for weddings. From the hotel one can reach TOP GOLF in 10 min, Watford Palace Theatre in 4 min, Pump House Theatre in 8 min, Watford Colosseum in 4 min, Oceana Club in 4 min, Harlequin Centre in 6 min & Watford Football Club Stadium in 6 min. The Hotel offers high speed internet access throughout and rooms are airconditioned. The hotel is an ideal base for Tour Groups with London Euston just 15 minutes by train. The Hotel has 2 Conference Rooms offering state of the art meeting facilities, natural daylight and 24 hour and Day Delegate rates. Parking is available in a pay & display car park just 2 min from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction Hotel Watford
Holiday Inn Express Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing