We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sushi”

Hanako Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 261 Restaurants in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Sushi”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have been to Hanako dozens of times over the years and am writing a review because I think it is a little gem. The food has never disappointed me, and although the prices have creped up over the years I am still more than happy to pay what they charge because to begin with they were so under priced.
The restaurant is very basic, you sit on benches and there are hand written special offers on the wall, but this only adds to its authenticity. The Japanese couple who run it are very friendly and polite, the only thing i would say is that the service can be slow if it is busy because there is usually only one waitress on.
I thoroughly recommend it for any sushi or lovers

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

It's nice to have a decent japanese restaurant in the heart of Watford. It doesn't look like much from the outside but good quality fare at a reasonable price for a japanese restaurant. Service is very pleasant but I'm guessing might be pushed if full. Poss a husband and wife team with hubby in the back preparing the sushi. Come on Watford - more of the same please

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WileyWatfordWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had a Sushi mixed plate for £31 and a Hot Chicken dish for £11 The food was fine, but we think very expensive for what you get. We went for Sushi, no choice in area, so Hobsons choice really. The seating is very uncomfortable. The staff were very friendly and service was fine, would I go back, yes!, after getting over the price, its cheaper than driving to London! If your reading this please sort out your seating !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, but service and value isn't great”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Food is fresh and delicious, but the service is slow and it is hugely expensive. VAT was added on at the end rather than included on the menu prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans Herts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not sure”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Not sure if I have an unsophisticated palette? But not for me. Cold unfriendly, couldn't figure out what was going on. Really expensive. Perhaps I've just described Japan and Japanese food ?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanako Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Watford, Hertfordshire
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
 
Watford, Hertfordshire
Northwood, Greater London
 

Been to Hanako Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing