We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Warner Bros Harry Potter Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location for Warner Bros Harry Potter Tour”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed for one night prior to our visit to the Harry Potter Tour. We had 3 rooms, 1 double and two twin rooms. The double was Exec (ground floor )and lovely ,decor wise and really clean- I would def stay for more than 1 night in this room, however the two twin rooms were clean but looked dated, tired and grubby , but was ok for 1 night.
The evening meal consisted of a 3 course buffet for £20 per head but the choices were limited . We decided to head down to the Toby Carvery ( approx 1 mile down the road) and paid £5.95 per head . For a delicious meal with unlimited refills on soft drinks plus two desserts our total bill for 5 came to £44.
The next morning we had breakfast ( £6.50 each) but considering 4 only had toast and cereal this seemed a bit steep.
The lounge area was nice for a cup of tea and drinks from the bar ( Archers and lemonade plus a diet coke £8.40 , pot of tea £2.75 ).
With it being a Saturday night there was also a disco for residents.
The pool area was nice with a sauna and jacuzzi , loungers were available for relaxation in a conservatory area . There is also a Seb Coe fitness suite/ gym .
All staff were very helpful and courteous at all times
Location wise, its 19 miles from centre of London ( 20 mins tube ride), 8-9 miles from Watford town centre ( £10.00 taxi fare each way ) and 4 miles from Warner Bros Studio, so central all round.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unlucky916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, with regards to your recent stay at the Mercure London Watford. Both myself and the team within the hotel welcome all guest comments so that we are able to improve the standards and service we offer.

I have read all your comments and thank you for your feedback on the hotel and the team. Please be assured that we do look at all our pricing within food and beverage on a regular basis, and at the same time we do offer a number of in house promotions throughout the year.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments and I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    228
    261
    167
    140
See reviews for
177
279
38
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel now on numerous occasions and same result every time. Reception, bar , restaurant , rooms and staff excellent as usual. I use this hotel all the tiem when on business in Watford and would recommend this to both business and tourists travellers

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, with regards to your recent stay at the Mercure London Watford. Both myself and the team within the hotel welcome all guest comments so that we are able to improve the standards and service we offer.

I have read all your comments and thank you for your feedback on the hotel and the team.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments and I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Title says it all. I could not think of anything outstanding about this place. It's was too hot in the room and no air con, just a naff fan which moved around stale air. I won't go out of my way to stay here again. Usually use the jury's and it's much better than this, or if that's full the Hilton which is almost next door to the mercure - more expensive but miles better.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, with regards to your recent stay at the Mercure London Watford. Both myself and the team within the hotel welcome all guest comments so that we are able to improve the standards and service we offer.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments and I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We arrived at 8.30pmfor our booked table to eat in the restaurant. Firstly - completely ignored at the Restaurant reception by the Maitre D, couldn't even say I booked a table! Then we were bundled onto a small table inadequate for three. We asked to move the table - as we were blocking a walkway - but this was ignored and moved it ourselves. We ordered drinks -15 minutes later we asked the waiter - the Maitre D was called and she said we would get the drinks immediately. 10 minutes later we asked the waitress again and the water came - but not the wine - this took another ask! The waiter brought the wine reluctantly and put an ice bucket with the wine in by the table and walked off. We opened the screw top bottle and tasted it with glasses from the next table. Then the "starters" arrived, we had ordered some mixed breads, garlic bread and an assortment of crisps and nuts - which didnt fit on the table - so we used the one next door. The Bread was stale - rock hard - a knife was no use. The waitress called the Maitre D and took the bread away. The Maitre D went into the Kitchen (close to us) and shouted out - they are complaining again! The replacement bread was OK. The Mian Course was greasy and poor quality (A "Texas Chilli" with NO haricot beans only baked beans and fatty mince for instance). The main course was interupted by SCREAMS from the Kitchen as the Maitre D and one or more Waitresses screeched at one another for 5 minutes - started by the Maitre D. VERY embarrassing for us all! We skipped desert and coffee (by now we had been there for 90minutes, and asked for the bill. We were told to go to the desk for this! The Maitre D asked if the meal was OK! We said no - we had already complained a number of times - so she said "I'll give you the wine" - with NO apology.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan641348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, with regards to your recent stay at the Mercure London Watford. Both myself and the team within the hotel welcome all guest comments so that we are able to improve the standards and service we offer.

I have read your comments with interest with regards to the food and beverage and also the team members working in the restaurant. Please be assured that this is not the usual standard of service we offer at the hotel and please accept my apologies. I would be happy to discuss this matter if you require and please feel free to contact myself at the hotel.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments and I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed overnight here on our way to Ladies' Day at Ascot. It was clean and very comfortable. Check in was simple and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms had an ironing board and iron which was very useful as we wanted to look our best for Ladies' Day.
The full English breakfast was very tasty with plenty of variety and there was no delay with items running out as often happens with buffet style breakfasts.
Apart from the other guests coming back late and being rather noisy the hotel was reasonably quiet, not suffering from traffic noise even though it is close to a main road.
The restaurant prices were rather high so we opted not to eat dinner there. Instead we walked along the main road about 500 yards and found a very nice Chinese restaurant. Apparently there is also a pub which sells food near by.

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the hotel away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, with regards to your recent stay at the Mercure London Watford. Both myself and the team within the hotel welcome all guest comments so that we are able to improve the standards and service we offer.

I have read your key comment regarding the price of the food and beverage within the hotel and please be assured that I will take onboard your comment.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments and I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

First of all I think Frances on reception deserves a well done. Great customer service and what a lovely lady!
The walk to our room was quite a way as we were place in studio room 2167 down the bottom half of the hotel. Room was good, clean and well presented. Was a little surprised to see that there was no bathroom door. Granted the loo and shower had a glass door but even though the greatest part of these are see through!!
The bed was comfortable and the en-suite adequate due to lack of door.
Bar was ok but seemed a little understaffed with only one young lad running around like headless chicken trying to keep all customers happy. Prices for drinks were reasonable but food a little on the pricey side for what was actually received.
We endulged in a visit to the pool and spa area and I must say it was again clean and tidy. Just what was needed to relax after a busy day. The gym was modern and boasted a mass of various equipment. Dont know what most of it was but looked new and impressive. Staff at the spa and gym were lovely and could not do enough to help in any way they could.
Breakfast was ok apart from the wait when the buffet got a little busy. Various item would run out and the chef took a little time to replace with fresh foods but otherwise all was ok. Otherwise the selection was very good.
We booked this deal on a KGB discount deal and if being honest, think I may have felt a little short-changed if I had paid full price stated on the mercure website.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, with regards to your recent stay at the Mercure London Watford. I have read all your comment and thank you for your feedback.

I would like to thank you for your comment regarding Frances on the front desk and please be assured that I will pass on your comments. I have also looked at your comments about the leisure club team and again I will pass these on.

With regards to your valuable comments please be assured that I work with the department managers to action these. We are also working with a company which is looking to replace the bathroom doors within the rooms your stayed.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments and I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Check-in was great as I was able to check in at 11a after a long flight. The hotel looks like an old elementary school. The room was decent but the bathroom smelled. The bed was comfortable and clean. Average selection of tv channels. The front desk staff were great and helped out with taxis and the like. There is no AC in the rooms but it didn't matter as it was 60 and rainy while I was there. The carpet was stained.

The bar downstairs is nice and opens to a back patio - service is slow. The food was ok but they served cold beer so I was happy.

Overall, a good stay for the value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wxnats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, with regards to your recent stay at the Mercure London Watford. I have read all your comment and thank you for your feedback.

I have noted all your comment and please be assured that I will work with the department managers to action these.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments and I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,655 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
2.3 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Watford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Watford Hotel

Property: Mercure London Watford Hotel
Address: Tylers Way, Watford WD25 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Watford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within easy reach of Watford, M1, M25 and A1M motorway, Mercure London Watford Hotel is an ideal choose for both business and leisure travel. Central Watford can be reached in less then 10 minutes, where you are able to take the train or tube to central London from Watford Junction Station. The Hotel offer 218 modern style bedrooms, all with flat screen satellite TV with on-demand movies and complimentary standard WiFi. All rooms have a work desk, tea/coffee facilities, direct deal telephone and 24 hour Room Service. The Brasserie restaurant and bar is decorated with classical artwork, and serves a varied European menu. Relax and enjoy beverages and light snacks on the heated garden terrace, or in the vibrant bar. Mercure London Watford has a Feel Good Health Club, with a swimming pool and fully equipped gym. Guests can relax in the sauna, spa bath or steam room, and massage treatments are also available. Looking to explore the local area; Bushey, Borehamwood, Elstree, Wembley and St Albans and all within easy reach of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Watford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Watford
Watford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing