We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst hotel in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Hotel is used as a school knocking shop for kids that come in all through the night,People are disrespectful and the walls are like paper. You hear every word and foot step of the person next door and constant banging. You may as well not even try to go to sleep just stay up all night and last it out, staff are in effectual with no policies about quiet during the night. You can hear toilets flushing , and you hear someone going to bed and turning the light switch off.

Room Tip: rooms are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Janet J

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Please be assured I will be discussing all your comments with the Management team and will take appropriate action to ensure where possible these issues are addressed to prevent future occurrences.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, all too often people are not forthcoming when things go awry and that is actually to our detriment as hoteliers, as it enables us to put things right for the future.

Mercure is committed to delivering the highest standards possible to guests and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mercure London Watford Hotel so that the team and I can demonstrate that to you.

Kind regards
Janette McKenna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 days & it was a memorable one. The service I received was outstanding. I was treated very well & all the staff took care of my every requirement with a smile. I would like to say an extremely 'HUGE' thank you to Mr Advait & Ms Maria who were simply amazing.
I also would like to thank the following : Jerusalem Mamo, Natalie Carter , Jake, Vanessa , Amber & Leanne who catered for my needs, The food was delicious, well served & everything was tidy & immaculate. If I have left anyone out I apologize.
Many thanks for the complimentary services I received. I will surely recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in staying here. Once again thanks for making my stay a wonderful one! Excellent customer services is an important quality of a hotel & it makes the stay a pleasant one. All the staff were polite, helpful & friendly.

Take care everyone & all the best.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear A A

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

I will pass on your comments to the team, in particular those mentioned as this will act as positive encouragement as they endeavour to offer the highest level of customer service.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another hassle free stay.

Kind regards

Janette McKenna
Personnel & Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I booked to stay for two nights in a twin-room with my brother but soon after arrival I had to complain about the lack of any room or bathroom heating. I had just driven 100 miles in the rain and the outside temperature was only 11 c. Unfortunately the heating could not be fixed that night but would, I was told, be attended to the following day.
However, on arriving for my second evening around 6pm there was still no heating and I was then told this could not be remedied. Therefore I checked out of the Mercure and found a comfortable Hilton a short distance away. I was given no refund for the loss of my second night at the Mercure.

Room Tip: The English weather is completely unpredictable so please check that the room heating works. The Mer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
2  Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Graham E

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I apologise for the inconvenience caused to youand your brother

I would like to apologise for what I appreciate must have been a very irritating series of incidents and to assure you that, where necessary direct action has been taken to ensure no future repetition.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, all too often people are not forthcoming when things go awry and that is actually to our detriment as hoteliers, as it enables us to put things right for the future.

Kind regards

Janette Mckenna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank JDub_JDub
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here for a week for a wedding nearby. The receptionist on first day was good but thereafter the service was poor. In fact they were very rude. I came from the USA and was not familiar with many things including TV channels but there was no help. I placed wake up calls but none were honored. I almost missed a flight. The shower door leaks, so there is water all over the floor and one can fall. I requested ironing board three times and then it finally arrived. I had a deluxe room but space for hanging and storing your luggage was minimal at best. Only one drawer to place your belongings. If you are a couple, this is insufficient. The housekeeper spoke no English and therefore hard to communicate. Overall the gym was good but one of the young receptionist was extremley rude. The hotel is conveniently located but very poor service.

K. Rajani

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krishna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Krishna R

Dear 30couple

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure London Watford Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback,

Kind Regards

Janette McKenna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Cannot fault service. Natalie the waitress was faultless. Bala the chef a really good chef. Shall be staying again. Rooms very clean. Swimming pool, sauna and steam room a must do. Would recommend this hotel 100 per cent. Could not fault this hotel. They also do a lovely breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear ian r

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and to read that the team were so helpfull during your stay.

I will pass on your comments to the team, in particular Natalie & Bala, as this will act as positive encouragement as they endeavour to offer the highest level of customer service.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another hassle free stay.

Kind regards

Janette McKenna
Personnel & Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very pleased with the service at the hotel, chef Bala and Natalie very helpful and lovely food, would stay at the mercure hotel again. Overall I have no complaints about my stay in the hotel, very pleased

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Steven M

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and to read that the team were so helpfull during your stay.

I will pass on your comments to the team, in particular Natalie & Bala, as this will act as positive encouragement as they endeavour to offer the highest level of customer service.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another hassle free stay.

Kind regards

Janette McKenna
Personnel & Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watford
0.7 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,858 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
2.3 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
4.1 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
4 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Watford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Watford Hotel

Address: Tylers Way, Watford WD25 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range: £58 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Watford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within easy reach of Watford, M1, M25 and A1M motorway, Mercure London Watford Hotel is an ideal choose for both business and leisure travel. Central Watford can be reached in less then 10 minutes, where you are able to take the train or tube to central London from Watford Junction Station. The Hotel offer 218 modern style bedrooms, all with flat screen satellite TV with on-demand movies and complimentary standard WiFi. All rooms have a work desk, tea/coffee facilities, direct deal telephone and 24 hour Room Service. The Brasserie restaurant and bar is decorated with classical artwork, and serves a varied European menu. Relax and enjoy beverages and light snacks on the heated garden terrace, or in the vibrant bar. Mercure London Watford has a Feel Good Health Club, with a swimming pool and fully equipped gym. Guests can relax in the sauna, spa bath or steam room, and massage treatments are also available. Looking to explore the local area; Bushey, Borehamwood, Elstree, Wembley and St Albans and all within easy reach of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure London Watford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Watford
Watford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing