We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Watford
inverness, scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in June. Upon arrival instead of twin room we were given a double (travelled with my female colleague) despite specifically requesting twin! We were quite disappointed to see a double bed. When we complained we were told we'd need to pay extra to get a twin room which is bizzare!! Very poor service.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere as hotel is out on the sticks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wild_strawberry24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Wild Strawberry 24

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.

Mercure is committed to delivering the highest standards possible to guests and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mercure London Watford Hotel so that the team and I can demonstrate that to you.

Kind regards
Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    228
    248
    159
    136
See reviews for
170
268
38
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Mercure

Stairs and Hallway above the room. Very squeaky and noisy every time someone walked that way. This was not a quiet room at all!
The entire ceiling shook when people walked above the room- creaky and could hear every word spoken! This is the worse family room.

Bar closed at 23:00 and bluntly refused to serve us as she was cashing up. Very rude and anti- customer service. Told us to come back later... terrible service

Family Room was old. The lock on the Window near the 'extra bed' was broken.
Old, dated but overall poor.

No door in the bathroom! Lack of privacy,
blocking of unpleasant noises (and smells!). Ridiculous.

But the worst issue was the noise. All night all we got were people walking above the room and it felt as though the ceiling was going to collapse! When i mentioned all my issues upon checkout, i was told that "feedback is appreciated"... Thats it!!!!
Do not stay here. There is a Hilton down the road.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perfect1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Perfect1world

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I have discussed your comments with the seniour management team at the hotel who have implemented measures in an effort to address the issues and to prevent future occurances.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. Mercure is committed to delivering the highest standards possible to guests and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mercure London Watford Hotel so that the team and I can demonstrate that to you.

Kind regards

Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
398 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the first time (normally stay at Premier Inn, Croxley). Not sure if hotel is going through renovations as if you look left from reception it all looks.....tired. Looking right and it looks quite modern and stylish. The room was adequate with standard kettle and packet coffee etc but it also had a coffee machine (nespresso) + 4 capsules, which made a nice change.
Room had ironing board, pc and....leather recliner (?). Bed and bathroom were good with towels behind a glass screen. Shower was good, but in fixed position.
Only complaint was room was too warm and unable to open window due to external noise and security (ground floor).
Breakfast was nice with wide choice (full english, porridge, cereals, fruit, patisseries etc. Staff all seemed helpful and attentive.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Crazysurfkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Crazysurfkid

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will pass on your comments to the team, as this will act as positive encouragement as they endeavour to offer the highest level of customer service.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another hassle free stay.

Kind regards

Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The room lacked information not only about the local area but also what is available in the hotel. My Fiance and I would have gone for some spa treatments if any of the information was actually in the room. The room was filthy and the free standing lamp, which acted as the main light, had such a thick coating of dust that when we had it turned on it began to smoke. There were no numbers in the room for us to call the front desk to have it sorted and so we had to leave it off. I expected much more for the amount we paid and would definitely not recommend or stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear AHBD

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Please be assured I will be discussing your comments with the Front Office Manager and Head Housekkeper. I will take appropriate action to ensure where possible these issues are addressed to prevent future occurrences.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. Mercure is committed to delivering the highest standards possible to guests and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mercure London Watford Hotel so that the team and I can demonstrate that to you.

Kind regards
Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night so can't comment at length. I expect though that a fundamental necessity for the bathroom is a door -for privacy and blocking out unpleasant noises!! The rooms are tired-again, no wardrobe door-what do they have against doors for heavens sake? And the noise is really bad-people walking above sounds like a herd of elephants. No, I'm afraid this hotel leaves a lot to be desired accommodation wise.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineCashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear ElaineCashin

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Please be assured I will be discussing all your comments with the Management team and will take appropriate action in house where possible to ensure these issues are addressed to prevent future occurrences.

Mercure is committed to delivering the highest standards possible to guests and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mercure London Watford Hotel so that the team and I can demonstrate that to you.

Kind regards
Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel was terrible, food was poor in the breakfast room and chaotic servic. Phones never answered in reception when you rang down, and the rooms were very run down. Would not recommend or will stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin_morrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Colin Morrissey

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Please be assured I will be discussing all your comments with the Management team and will take appropriate action to ensure where possible these issues are addressed to prevent future occurrences.

Mercure is committed to delivering the highest standards possible to guests and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mercure London Watford Hotel so that the team and I can demonstrate that to you.

Kind regards
Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN White House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Watford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Watford Hotel

Property: Mercure London Watford Hotel
Address: Tylers Way, Watford WD25 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Watford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within easy reach of Watford, M1, M25 and A1M motorway, Mercure London Watford Hotel is an ideal choose for both business and leisure travel. Central Watford can be reached in less then 10 minutes, where you are able to take the train or tube to central London from Watford Junction Station. The Hotel offer 218 modern style bedrooms, all with flat screen satellite TV with on-demand movies and complimentary standard WiFi. All rooms have a work desk, tea/coffee facilities, direct deal telephone and 24 hour Room Service. The Brasserie restaurant and bar is decorated with classical artwork, and serves a varied European menu. Relax and enjoy beverages and light snacks on the heated garden terrace, or in the vibrant bar. Mercure London Watford has a Feel Good Health Club, with a swimming pool and fully equipped gym. Guests can relax in the sauna, spa bath or steam room, and massage treatments are also available. Looking to explore the local area; Bushey, Borehamwood, Elstree, Wembley and St Albans and all within easy reach of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Watford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Watford
Watford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing