We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service & Great Food”
Review of Hilton Watford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Watford
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Service & Great Food”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great and courteous staff that always make you feel very welcome and who get to know you by name if you are a repeat visitor

The hotel from the outside, the bar furniture in places, and the rooms are showing their age a little but the beds are very comfortable and the ambience in the bar is usually very good on an evening.

The price of beer is reasonable for a hotel and the steaks I've had for the last 2 nights have been exceptional.

I've been staying here since November last year and it's been home from home for me.

Room Tip: Good base for exploring Herts and neighbouring counties or pop into Watford, catch the Metropolitan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustCheckinBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    542
    427
    227
    145
See reviews for
430
540
73
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Watford when we went to London with parrys the couch company we had a very nice room which was very clean .a lovely evening meal with very good service .and breakfast the next day was first class.

Room Tip: High floor we had no noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Doesn't look like much from the outside but hard to find a much better looked after hotel. Lovely clean room, fast room service, great breakfast and staff that really seem to care about making your stay a good one. Bravo!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllieA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here earlier this week and had a few complaints. Number one was that my room card didn't work when I got to my room ... which was five minutes from reception. Annoying but not the end of the world. Number two, the room smelt of chlorine. I guess it was above the swimming pool! Annoying but I could cope. Number three, a man was given the same room key and walked into my room when I was in bed! It scared the living daylights out of the both of us!!! Thank god he had a suitcase or I would have thought I was being burgled! Breakfast was okay, but a bit cold. Apart from that ... it was bulk standard! Wouldn't rush back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony_of_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long buckby
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Bar and reception really cold. Everyone had their coats on in the downstairs bar. Staff allegedly turned the heat up but didn't really seem to make a difference. The problem is probably the sliding doors in reception constantly opening and closing letting the cold air in.So they need to heat the hotel adequately to compensate for this.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank jlschs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at the Watford Hilton for 1 night only. We stayed here as we knew the hotel: location good, gym/swimming facilities, good sized bedrooms, and always presentable. However, this looked very different now travelling with a 6 month old baby.

Firstly I had to enter the disabled entrance at the side of the hotel and then negotiate my way through a maze of fire doors that clearly were labelled No Entry. Try pushing firedoors with a pushchair and heavy bag was difficult, I can't imagine how a disabled person might feel.

I found myself eventually in the bar area, and made my way to the lift. This was very narrow and barely accommodated my pushchair. I meet my husband some 30 minutes later as he though I got lost.
We then made our way through the narrow corridors: again through several heavy fire doors: my husband had both the case and other hand luggage with him.
We got to our room and there was no cot for our baby: despite having pre-arranged this.

It was just being erected. Alas no bedlinen and a mattress that was so thin, my baby might as well have slept on the floor. We asked Housekeeping for some bedding, and he returned with a towel. Yes. He returned the 2nd time with a double-sized duvet: for a 6 month old baby. On his 3rd attempt, he brought a double-sized blanket.

We adapted: used our playmat - which we so happened to have with us - and a blanket that I always keep in the car for my baby.

We were clearly not impressed by what we were presented at after a long day of travelling and visiting family and friends.

Furthermore, we found that not one member of staff on duty during our stay was English native and that staff that were on couldn't hardly speak English, let alone understand it. I might as well have stayed in some remote part of Eastern Europe. Is this the face of a hotel, of a leading brand, in close proximity to London?

For this reason, even though the location of the hotel, meets our needs, whilst visiting this part of London, we won't be staying here again: even though I am a HH Honours Members.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzzzyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed Saturday evening,the room was nice ,clean and had everything we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The gym is small and lacks any real equipment and the pool area is in drastic need of an update!! There was a function on when we stayed and the music was stop loud we couldn't hear the tv in our room. We were offered to move rooms at 11pm ....which once we unpacked seemed stressful at midnight. The music did eventually stop but then we were woken again and 1am and 2am by drunken revellers returning to their rooms. By 7am children were running up and down the corridor. We left at 9am exhausted!! Not the usual Hilton standard!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_ashley203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
0.7 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Watford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Watford

Property: Hilton Watford
Address: Elton Way, Watford WD25 8HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Watford 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Watford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Watford Hotel Watford
Hilton International Watford
Watford Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing