We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's good enough for Alan Partridge...”
Review of Hilton Watford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Watford
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What's good enough for Alan Partridge...”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable weekend stay at this hotel - made famous of course on TV as the Linton Travel Tavern in the I'm Alan Partridge sitcom.

We made good use of a special-rate booking (although, on checking in, we discovered breakfast was £10 extra each).
The staff were excellent, and we received a particularly warm welcome on check-in by a very warm, friendly & professional receptionist.

It's a large hotel though, & arranged over 3 storeys, & we did find it was quite a long trek to our room towards the rear of the complex!
The breakfast was buffet-style, and fab - and our room clean but functional.
There's also free wifi, which is always good.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canndyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    542
    429
    227
    145
See reviews for
432
540
73
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here for a night away & To go & see the harry potter tour.
On our arrival we were greeted by very rude male receptionist - gave an awful first impression.
Room was basic but clean enough(there was pubes in the bath). Bed was comfy though, tea & coffe & nice selection of shampoo etc in the bathroom.
There was a party on in the hotel & I would strongly advise checking this before booking as you will not get any sleep until they finish at midnight - not ideal if youve gone away for a nights sleep! The rooms are fabricated & you then have to listen people coming in & out all night. We did say this to receptio however as others have said - they Wernt interested.
Breakfast was ok - very average & had to que for about ten mins for a table.
Location is good but would certainly not stay again - a shame as we always stay at hiltons - this was the worst experience we've had!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, nice rooms and breakfast excellent good value.good links to London especially wembley. Staff on reception very good and helpfull would definatly use this hotel again for pleasure or business use, can use pol and sauna etc. enjoy

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettywizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in April, partly because we went to the Harry Potter Tour. The hotel is very close to the motorway and is about a 5 minute drive to Watford Junction (I wouldn't recommend walking there unless you know the area!). The hotel on the outside was quite run down, however inside it looked a lot better. The staff we dealt with were all spot on and very helpful. Any questions we had they were happy to help.

The room itself was basic but clean. As in other reviews the TV's really do need updating as the picture was very fuzzy but there were quite a few channels. The bathroom was nice with shampoos and conditioners etc. The beds were actually quite comfortable. They also provided tea/coffee in the room (biscuits would have been nice).

The breakfast was good, a self service option. Lots of things to choose from and all hot food. The only complaint is not enough tables for everyone to have a meal. There were several conferences and a wedding taking place which was why it was busy.

One thing I would say is not to go to the Toby Carvery next door! I have already written a review and it was crawling with ants on the table! What I would say is go a little bit further into Watford and there are several nice restaurants and a TGI Fridays which is a 5-10 minute drive away and you will have a better meal.

All together a decent stay but don't expect a 5* stay, you get what you pay for with these hotels. A good base to also get into Central London about a 15 minute train journey to Euston.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondebarbiie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

For over 17 years I have had such pleasurable stays at this very friendly and affordable hotel. Breakfasts are to die for but not very good for the waistline. Our rooms are always well maintained and comfortable.Many happy stays. Long may it last .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

TV doesn't work - incredibly fuzzy picture - many others have mentioned this in earlier reviews - standard reception response is "we can offer you two free drinks in the bar" Hotel accommodation is a concrete pre-fabricated building hidden behind a reasonably tidy reception area. Rooms are past their best and do not match the website description. Staff work hard to compensate, but they are not well supported by the management approach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Martinjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

It's great for the weekend break, food was available, entertainment available locally in town if required, best to use time out for local info. There is a place called Salsa Mish just 10 mins away which is great on a Friday if one likes to dance, strictly mature people, nice vibes too!.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Reg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
0.7 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Watford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Watford

Property: Hilton Watford
Address: Elton Way, Watford WD25 8HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Watford 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Watford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Watford Hotel Watford
Hilton International Watford
Watford Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing