We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good but a little noisy.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Watford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Watford
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“good but a little noisy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stay in this hotel quite often. Location is great if you have a car, else its a taxi.
The hotel restaurant and bar have a reasonable company wide menu and the service is always great.
There is a little noise at the front of the hotel from the A41 and more noise at the back of the hotel from the M1. Strangely, there is also some internal noise halfway around the corridor, which I think comes from the pool system.

overall, the stays are always pleasant and rekaxing after a long day in the office.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on either side of the hotel, not the front or back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    501
    383
    203
    134
See reviews for
369
487
68
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Reception staff were polite and informative. Check-in easy. Then came the route march to my room! If I stay again I will ask for a room near reception. Room was clean and air-conditioned with tea making facilities. Nicely appointed bathroom with quality shampoos etc. Bar was not the easiest to get served at early in the evening - when the bar staff went missing for 10 minutes or so and eventually reappeared with the most annoying barpersons greeting "who's next?" Lovely waitress service followed later and it was fine. Restaurant was also interesting. I asked the well dressed waiter/manager for a glass of Chablis and after 5 minutes or so a waitress appeared and said there was no Chablis would I like something else? I asked what they had and she proceeded to look through the wine list to see! Surely it should be "Sorry sir we are temporarily out of Chablis but could I recommend a glass of Chenin/Chardonnay both of which are particularly pleasant?" Shouldn't this be delivered by the same well dressed waiter/manager? In fairness he did reappear after the starter and say that a bottle had been brought from the cellar and I could have a glass with the main course if I wished. So, Chablis was available but in the wrong place. Our well dressed waiter/manager collected my main course plate and asked if all was ok, which it was. He then placed the used plate on the empty table opposite me, he having been distracted by a nearby table requiring service. There it remained - with me staring at it!! Our well dressed waiter/manager then went about his business with the till - the poor old plate having been forgotten altogether. It was fortuitously collected later by a waitress asking if I required anything else. This may seem picky but at £115.00 a night B&B, £35.00 spent in the bar and £30.00 on dinner for one surely the service needs to be spot on. This having been said all the staff, waitresses bar tenders and waiter/managers were polite and friendly just a lack of someone genuinely in charge! This gave all staff a lack of direction - something so easily put right with pleasant staff like this.
The restaurant was a surprise. Can't fault the food in anyway and would be more than happy to dine here again! The menu was very well thought out and the food well presented and the ingredients first class. Didn't think it was expensive at the price I paid. Must be some one good in the kitchen. Breakfast was the same and plentiful not the usual dried up offerings received at many hotel breakfast tables. All in all I have marked service good - because I thought everyone was trying after all! I enjoyed the stay and would use this hotel and certainly its restaurant again - even with trainee Manuel ;-)

Room Tip: Take hiking boots to find your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellCooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Not the most luxurious hotel and lack of air-conditioning is a problem in hot weather. However, the staff were among the friendliest I have experienced in a long time. Special mention for Don and Adnan, who bent over backwards to help with emails and paperwork!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asnieres-sur-Seine, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very pleasant staff, comfortable hotel, with well equipped rooms. Conveniently located, but need car to access local town of Watford. Bar and restaurant offer extensive choice of food and beverage, reasonably priced. Buffet breakfast plentiful and varied, but expensive. Well-being centre equipped with good sized pool, well equipped gym, sauna and hamam, open from early in the morning to late at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hi. We've been in the Stanmore room 5 days over the past week or so.

I'd first like to compliment the staff in the restaurant, especially Yvonne Attrill, for excellent care and service each day. The chefs have done an outstanding job with the food, especially the fishcakes.

On a negative note, some of our delegates are complaining about having bad backs after 5 days in the Stanmore Room chairs, myself included. The chairs do not provide great lumbar support.

Thanks very much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I stay here regularly for business, my top tip is to stay at the premiere in down the road. The restaurant, in my opinion, is over priced. And I find the beds to be pretty hard, although it is always clean and the staff a're pretty friendly!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

No air con not great in the summer. Outrageous charges for wifi. Dated hotel. Food is fantastic the restaurant manager was very good at serving our large party and catering to unique requests. Very satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank JMcSW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watford
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
3.4 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Watford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Watford

Property: Hilton Watford
Address: Elton Way, Watford WD25 8HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Watford 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Watford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Watford Hotel Watford
Hilton International Watford
Watford Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing