We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly avoidable”
Review of Hilton Watford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Watford
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We had booked this hotel for a family wedding at a close by venue and had booked almost 6 rooms at the hotel in the last week of August.
Location is good right off the highway and easy to find. The rooms are good sized and clean but we were there in August on an unusual for london summer day. There was one little table fan, the windows just opened an inch and of course there was no air conditioning.
The first day we got there, since there were so many of us, by the time everybody started thinking of dinner, it was already 8.30. We called the only restaurant in the hotel and asked for a table for 15 people and they said that they were full. We were willing to wait or even have separate smaller tables but they said they cannot accommodate us. We then said that we will order in the room and they said that is also not possible since they had no staff ......this was on a saturday night in peak wedding season.
We then asked them what can we do for dinner and they said we can go out or pick up from Watford. Since we had no choice we decided to pick some chinese food from a restaurant about 15 min away. The hotel then said they would charge us for plates and cutlery even though we were happy to order the food from the hotel, which they were in posotion to cater. In the end after speaking to a couple of managers, we managed to get the plates and cutlery delivered but by the time the dinner came in, very few people were in the mood to eat!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahgirlCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NShears, General Manager at Hilton Watford, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Hilton Watford. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings in service you encountered during your stay.

Unfortunately you are right in stating that the Hotel does not have air conditioning and on the occasional hot days in the summer, this can become an issue.

I am unsure of which weekend during August that you stayed and it is fair to say that our Restaurant can become very busy, particularly on Saturday nights and booking in advance is advisable especially for larger groups.

I have discussed the matter with our Food and Beverage team and expressed my disappointment in the way that your issues were handled. Please be assured that corrective training has been carried out to ensure a repeat your experience does not happen.

I was pleased to read that you found our location convenient and the rooms to be clean.

I trust that my response has gone some way to restoring your faith in Hilton Watford and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Neil Shears
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,760)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Watford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,670 - 1,676 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2010

I spent 1 night and could barely sleep because of the noise of the motorway !
the windows are so bad , cant believe this hotel is a hilton .
if you can just avoid .

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W144EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We booked a Hilton Deluxe Double for one night, and got given a twin room with an extra bed in it by mistake, while the disabled middle aged lady with crutches who checked in before us was told she would have to share a double bed with her friend! The Receptionist was great however, and couldn't have been more helpful at changing our room. But it all went downhill after this. The room was tired, the middle of the hot tap kept coming off when we used it, and we were overlooking the laundry storage area with a constant loud humming noise which meant we couldn't keep the windows open at night. Even with the radiator off, the room was stiflingly hot all evening and night - we couldn't believe there was no air-con, and the fan provided didn't help much. The sound on our TV kept getting louder and quieter, and the beds were the hardest we have ever found in any hotel, so you couldn't lie in one position for long without having to turn. With the heat in the room and hard beds, we slept really badly. We paid extra for dinner (buffet), and breakfast, which seemed good value, but the dinner was extremely poor. We wished that we had gone into Watford towm centre instead. We were told the carvery was 'gammon', but the hot food was no better than canteen standard, very poor for a Hilton, but as someone said earlier, the only competition close by is a Toby carvery...so we hoped the Hilton would be a bit more special. There was some type of beef thing in sauce, (the 'chef' standing there did not seem to know the exact name), some type of chicken in sauce, hard tasteless rice, dried up potatoes, and overcooked soggy vegetables. The salad was quite nice, however, but the desserts (Cakes) were overly sweet. I ordered coffee whereupon a cup arrived but no coffee. After waiting in vain for some time, the waitress seemed to have forgotten, so I asked the maître d’, who finally brought me one from the bar. Then a whole pot of coffee arrived with the waitress, which was by then too late, as we wanted to leave. Communication between staff was poor. Breakfast was ok, but the cooked sausages, bacon etc were overdone, and staff were very slow to refill the juice containers. Even though not part of the Hilton experience, I want to warn about the cab they ordered for us on checkout. He charged us more than the quoted price, asked if we lived at the address we gave him, (supposedly if we had said no, he would have gone the long way round and charged even more...), and he couldn't even be bothered to get out of the cab to open the boot up or put our luggage in for us, and the whole journey kept asking us if he was going the right way!! Unbelievable. We had hoped for so much for a Hilton, this one sadly lets down the whole company. We were very disappointed. Never again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwertyu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We travel for business a lot and needed to stay near London for a personal reason. We decided to "splurge" and stay at a Hilton for some rest and relaxation. We chose a Hilton based on our preconceived idea of what a "Hilton" would be. BOY, were we disappointed!!!!!

We've stayed in nicer "cheapo" hotels!! The lobby and restaurant were nice (3 star) but the rooms and hallways were two stars at best. The carpet was stained and dirty, the bathroom tiles needed replacement and the halls were dingy and not nice. We needed relaxation and wished we'd picked one of our usual haunts.

Oh yeah, expensive wi-fi and their idea of a business center is to borrow a receptionists desktop computer. Most websites are blocked (tells you how they treat their staff) so we were unsuccessful at looking for local entertainment! Truly pathetic!

Need to add though, the staff was very nice and friendly. Oh, I ordered risotto and it was inedible, they remade it for me, not much better and nothing was offered to compensate my wait. Had to ask myself, for a free glass of wine while i waited and watched my fiance eat! Jeez...

Best surprise ever was staying at a Best Western in Brussels. Absolute GORGEOUS hotel and deluxe room beyond what we would have even have expected from that lousy Hilton in Watford!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artisan1475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed for one night and booked the 'Getaway' deal. There was nothing special about this hotel, but the staff were friendly and efficient, the rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was very good. It was a little noisy as there was a wedding taking place and it is very close to The M1. Parking was free. If we need to stay in this area again, would not hesitate to revisit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We stayed twice for one night at the Hilton in Watford. The atmosphere there is very friendly and the staff is amazing.

Our room was really big, with a large flatscreen tv equipped. Breakfast was wonderful, a wide choice of food and good coffee.

Although the prices at the bar were high (a burger 14 pound, as well as a pizza ) it was good stuff.

I noticed that during the day quite some businessmen come to meet eachother at the bar. Laptops and mobiles around. At the pool I saw elderly ladies enjoying aquarobics supported by someone from the hotelstaff. Those people were not staying at the hotel but make use of the facilities.

In the corridors it wat silent. Not many hotelguests there I suppose.

I missed airconditioning and an minibar in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

It was all ok. A little noisy trapped between the M1 motorway and the A41. Food and rooms all OK. I found it a little pricey for bar, food and internet, but hey the only other hotel in the area is the Grove at about twice the price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank middlesex-walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
0.7 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Watford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Watford

Address: Elton Way, Watford WD25 8HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range: £57 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Watford 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Watford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Watford Hotel Watford
Hilton International Watford
Watford Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing