We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable rooms, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western White House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Acceptable rooms, great food”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel is perfectly acceptable in terms of value for money. It's relatively cheap, but the rooms are relatively basic. The hotel is fairly outdated, it seems like its not been done out since the late 80's, with avocado bathrooms and bidets in the rooms! No air conditioning either. But, you get what you pay for, so you can't complain too much.

All that said, what marks the hotel out is its food. Both the bar menu, and restaurant menu are great, and to honest, unexpectedly so given the rest of the hotel. I stayed here for weeks on end, and never tired of eating in the hotel, and very rarely had a bad dish, so the consistency is there too.

In summary, if you're more bothered about food than your room, then this is a very good value hotel for you. Staff are nice too, some of them have been working in the hotel for decades.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lardosuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    147
    114
    43
    28
See reviews for
63
115
24
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

It's very handy for the town centre, relatively easy to get to, fairly cheap, and the staff are nice. The available parking is cramped for a big vehicle, and the soundproofing leaves a lot to be desired. The decor and overall feel is of a hotel that needs investment, although it was clean and tidy. The bed was a bit hard for some (ours is hard t home so fine for us).

We walked in to breakfast (which was good) to be given a cheery Morning from the lovely waitress, whilst sadly our fellow guests were all sullen and ignorant! Obviously this didn't influence the score we gave the hotel. If pushed we might stay again but we wouldn't make a point of returning.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Morlo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The place is not bad I have to say and maybe it is one of the best possibility to sleep in Watford but honestly it is very "average" place
Room I had was quite big I have to admit but a bit old...
Bathroom with bath but the shower was not properly ok
Breakfast is good actually and location is 5 minute walking from the main city street so...good
The hotel has wifi connection but remember to ask a code for every single device you need to connect!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for two nights, and upgraded to a suite, room has seen better days, mattress very uncomfortable, needs replacing. Shower difficult to keep at a constant temperature, handle to wardrobe kept falling off, toilet flush kept jumping out of socket everytime you used it. Having said that, room very clean, and staff very very helpful and friendly. Car park is not obvious, needs bigger and better signs. But for the money it was good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

A great little hotel just 10 minutes walk from Watford jct train station. Spacious car park. Nice rooms and comfy beds. Reception and bar staff very friendly. Bit disappointed with the staff at breakfast wasn't made to feel that welcome but they made the German visitors for the champions league final more than welcome. Breakfast was very nice though. All in all a great nights stay after a theatre trip to London.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chizzy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My party stayed over for a Friday night and we were all (8) pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff, quality of food and speedy service. Great value for money in all respects and the comfortable beds were an added bonus.

Room Tip: The road outside can be quite busy so rooms at the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Manager at Best Western White House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN White House Hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Firstly, I am an employee of Best Western. I stayed with my mum whilst visiting the area and found this to be an ideal central location.
Easy enough to find (if you have a sat nav) its located literally a 5 min walk from Watford High Street with loads of restaurants to chose from.

We booked a standard twin room, but as a Best Western Reward Member we got a comp upgrade (great handy little card to have) to an exec room which was lovely. The room was clean if not a little tired, but I can cope with that! Bed was EXTRA comfy with lovely big plush pillows making sleeping easy.
The room got VERY hot with the radiator off, my mum and I both waking up at 4am unable to get back to sleep, so little tip, sleep with the window open.

Breakfast was amazing, Pam the breakfast waitress looked after my mum as I'm not a breakfast person.
The Deputy Manager on the desk during our stay was FAB, she was patient, polite, cared just enough to not seem too intrusive.

What really lets this hotel down is the car parking.
Website states that its free car parking! Fab! Just what we wanted- what it NEEDS to state is its first come, first serve, limited parking. You have to have a little car and be REALLY good at driving round small spaces. If you're unlucky and there's no spaces you have to go and park in the £6 a night mutli storey car park which the hotel wont pay for- WHAT A JOKE!
The Receptionist on Tues 14th May NEEDS retraining- she couldn't have given any care to her guests, the night porter helped me park my car at 11pm at night in the pouring rain, no apology from the receptionist, she even disappeared off home whilst I was parking my car. So so so so so rude.
I noticed other guests complaining and another receptionist not seeming to care, its clearly a continuous problem which management need to address- maybe up the rates to include parking in the mutli storey? Would surely stop a lot of ear ache?

Such a shame as this part returned an otherwise lovely stay!

Room Tip: Ask for 1 facing the road on first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Manager at Best Western White House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Ms Strong,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us recently. We appreciate all feedback from our guests whether positive or negative. I am pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. With regards the parking situation, I can only apologise for the inconvenience that you experienced. We are one of the few hotels in central Watford that offer free onsite parking and whilst most nights we are able to accommodate all our guests, on some very busy nights we do experience some problems. If this was a regular occurrence we would of course mention this on our website.
Once again we thank you for your comments and would hope that you would stay with us again if you are in the Watford area.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Watford Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,694 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western White House Hotel

Property: Best Western White House Hotel
Address: 27-31 Upton Road, Watford WD18 0JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Town House Hotel, just 2 minutes walk from Watford High Street, 15 minutes walk from Watford Junction & Watford Football Ground. Limited on-site parking, off-site parking at Gade Car Park, Rosslyn Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watford
Watford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing