We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for Harry Potter Studio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN White House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
morecambe
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great base for Harry Potter Studio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

As people have mentioned before place does appear a little jaded in appearance but what it lacks in this department it more than makes up for with the very friendly and efficient staff, our room again in need of a little updating but it was clean and comfortable, the food was excellent. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewitt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    140
    111
    43
    27
See reviews for
61
109
23
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Perfectly located, it is located just off the main street in Watford. The room had a single bed but that is what I needed. What I didn't need was the lump in the mattress that kept me up. A new mattress costs about 100 euro at IKEA and would pay for itself after the second guest. But at the price I paid, it was well worth it. I liked that there was a window that opened all the way so I had fresh air all night. I'd go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We are very pleased to hear that you enqjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for your compliments on the various departments. We look forward to welcoming you again to Watford in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
198 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a couple of nights here when visiting the nearby Warner Bros Harry Potter Studio Tours. It is a great location (once you find it) as its really close to the town centre. It is only 20 mins by car or public transport into the centre of London so we thought the price was very competitive. While there is limited parking we had no trouble getting parked both nights. The rooms were spotless and of a good size with a table and two chairs in each of our two rooms. The décor was a bit old fashioned but they are clearly trying to improve it. The floor boards were incredibly creaky and we woke each other up walking across the floor in the night. It was a very hot couple of days and while the public areas have air con the rooms don't but staff offered us fans which helped. The food was nice home cooked fare and reasonably priced. The staff were lovely and couldn't do more to make our stay enjoyable. We would happily stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickdekikkerfanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel is perfectly acceptable in terms of value for money. It's relatively cheap, but the rooms are relatively basic. The hotel is fairly outdated, it seems like its not been done out since the late 80's, with avocado bathrooms and bidets in the rooms! No air conditioning either. But, you get what you pay for, so you can't complain too much.

All that said, what marks the hotel out is its food. Both the bar menu, and restaurant menu are great, and to honest, unexpectedly so given the rest of the hotel. I stayed here for weeks on end, and never tired of eating in the hotel, and very rarely had a bad dish, so the consistency is there too.

In summary, if you're more bothered about food than your room, then this is a very good value hotel for you. Staff are nice too, some of them have been working in the hotel for decades.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lardosuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

It's very handy for the town centre, relatively easy to get to, fairly cheap, and the staff are nice. The available parking is cramped for a big vehicle, and the soundproofing leaves a lot to be desired. The decor and overall feel is of a hotel that needs investment, although it was clean and tidy. The bed was a bit hard for some (ours is hard t home so fine for us).

We walked in to breakfast (which was good) to be given a cheery Morning from the lovely waitress, whilst sadly our fellow guests were all sullen and ignorant! Obviously this didn't influence the score we gave the hotel. If pushed we might stay again but we wouldn't make a point of returning.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Morlo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The place is not bad I have to say and maybe it is one of the best possibility to sleep in Watford but honestly it is very "average" place
Room I had was quite big I have to admit but a bit old...
Bathroom with bath but the shower was not properly ok
Breakfast is good actually and location is 5 minute walking from the main city street so...good
The hotel has wifi connection but remember to ask a code for every single device you need to connect!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for two nights, and upgraded to a suite, room has seen better days, mattress very uncomfortable, needs replacing. Shower difficult to keep at a constant temperature, handle to wardrobe kept falling off, toilet flush kept jumping out of socket everytime you used it. Having said that, room very clean, and staff very very helpful and friendly. Car park is not obvious, needs bigger and better signs. But for the money it was good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN White House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN White House Hotel
Address: 27-31 Upton Road, Watford WD18 0JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Town House Hotel, just 2 minutes walk from Watford High Street, 15 minutes walk from Watford Junction & Watford Football Ground. Limited on-site parking, off-site parking at Gade Car Park, Rosslyn Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watford
Watford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing