We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff are great BUT” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN White House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN White House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Staff are great BUT”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Recently stayed at the above hotel. It is a hotel that is still in the 1960's and needs to be updated fast. The bed was soft and the pillows like rocks. I really don't know how it has 3 stars !!!
The staff are great and cannot do enough for you, however the whole place is tried.
The breakfast is another thing the danish are old and stale the fruit for what it is, is not wonderful.
But "BEWARNED DO DRINK THE MORNING COFFEE" it is not at all good.

Room Tip: I wouldnt go their till its had a refit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank photoman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    138
    107
    43
    27
See reviews for
59
104
23
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed Sunday night as we had a function at the Langley (Only 2mins walk away) Great location and very friendly staff. Right in the city center. Convenient car park. Clean and we had a good nights sleep. Definitely will go again and would also recommend to others.

Room Tip: Upper floors are nice and quiet. All rooms are nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

It's my second visit to this hotel. The position is perfect ( city center is just 1 min walk away), the staff is extremely kind and the food is really good. Rooms are clean and well kept. The forniture is not really new but everything works just fine. Recomended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinxusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stated here for a couple of nights.
Great location just by Watford town centre with free car parking and free wi-Fi.
Large bedroom with sofa, comfortable bed.
Room had no view but we were not expecting one.
Both nights were very warm so windows were open and we did here a lot if town centre noise.
Breakfast was good served by friendly staff.
All in all a very comfortable stay at a very, very reasonable rate.
If I need to return to Watford I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed here for several nights over a couple of weeks with colleagues. The food was great, we ate in the bar and the restaurant, the quality and presentation of the food was very good indeed. The fillet steak was a real melt in the mouth job. Breakfast is just as good with good service. The rooms are clean and well kept. All the staff we met during our stays were very polite and efficient, a credit to the hotel. Will definitely use this hotel again when staying in the area.

Room Tip: Can only comment on rooms 55 & 57, these are on the ground floor, ladies might feel more secure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a business trip. Room was ok if a bit dated. Position of hotel is good- really close to centre of Watford. Everything was fine, reasonable value for money but nothing special.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morecambe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

As people have mentioned before place does appear a little jaded in appearance but what it lacks in this department it more than makes up for with the very friendly and efficient staff, our room again in need of a little updating but it was clean and comfortable, the food was excellent. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewitt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watford
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
2.7 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN White House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN White House Hotel
Address: 27-31 Upton Road, Watford WD18 0JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Town House Hotel, just 2 minutes walk from Watford High Street, 15 minutes walk from Watford Junction & Watford Football Ground. Limited on-site parking, off-site parking at Gade Car Park, Rosslyn Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watford
Watford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing