We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst experience at a hotel EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western White House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“worst experience at a hotel EVER”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Upon arriving we were met with a 'hotel; which resembled nothing of the picture on the internet, it was run down dity and tucked down a back street in a questionable area.

Check in was good and the receptionist was friendly (only positive other than leaving) and efficient however warned us that there was a function that night but she had tried to distance us from any noise.

When we entered the room (we had paid a bit extra for a 'suite) we were greeted with an awfully dated, dirty room. Once again it didnt resemble the pictures at all and quite frankly it was hideous. We found lots of dust in various places and pubic hair in the bathroom from the previous occupants.

Added to the possible noisy night and the dirty room we rang reception to enquire about a refund, the response we recieved was - "the noise from the function room PROBABLY wont be that loud for you but the noise from the road outside will keep you awake anyway"!! i didnt know whether to just laugh or go mad, awful, awful, LAUGHABLE customer service i find absolutely disgusting as a paying customer.

At this point we packed our stuff back uo (after around half an hour) and went to check out, unfortunately a proper complaint couldnt be logged as no one was around anywhere so we left our card and left but be assured my partner has complained to Best Western due to the unbelivable custom we recieved.

Only plus after leaving was we managed to get in the Crowne Plaza near Wembley which id recommend to anyone, it was brilliant, 100 times what this 'hotel' (hole) will ever be. I will not be using Best Western every again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattBeaard91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    144
    112
    43
    28
See reviews for
62
111
24
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I took my girlfriend to Harry Potter world for her birhtday which is about five miles from this hotel, so I decided I'd book a room as we are from South Shields in the North East of England and had travelled very far. On arriving to the hotel we noticed there were very limited spaces for parking, which can be an issue. Luckily I got the last space on the Saturday night.

The reception were very nice and made us feel welcome. We were warned there was a party going on in the evening so we might hear a bit of noise (they weren't lying) HOWEVER, it stopped about 12, so it wasn't bad as we weren't trying to sleep at that point. We went up to our room (75) and it had everything you would need and more for a one night stay. The beds were comfy, the walls were thin but I don't think there was anyone in the rooms beside us. The floors creaked a bit but this wasn't really and issue, just thought I'd mention it.

A good quality sleep, shower was fine and I would certainly recommend staying here. It was very central to Watford town centre and all the shops. Me and my girlfriend then went into London on the Sunday, we got the overground from Watford high street and it cost £12 ish each for the tube tickets to hop on and off, which I don't think is too unreasonable. It took about 40 minutes to get into London.

I would certainly suggest staying here for a night or two should you be visiting Harry Potter World or dont want to pay too much to stay in London. Very pleased I booked this hotel

Room Tip: Get a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mancester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

constant noise from a generator outside the window all night can only assume from the kitchens. also was completely ignored at breakfast by both staff who were serving. was never asked what cooked breakfast we wanted or if we wanted tea or coffee. luckily toast and orange was self service so we made do with this and left.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank shazz2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I had read the reviews & wasn't sure what to expect, but being Best Western, it wasn't going to be a total nightmare experience. Again not modern, but suited myself, husband & elderly parents to catch a convenient train into London on the Saturday - train station less than a mile away. Parking for our car was across the road to park & very secure, but there was car parking in the hotel surrounding area.
From booking to arrival, Louise who worked on the reception was the staff member who stood out & could not have done more for us - extremely helpful & professional.
The White House is situated very close to the main High street for shopping/restaurants/pubs & other places to eat & we ate in the bar area on the first night @ 6.30pm for convenience, as did not know what was nearby. This was a mistake though, as the Lounge/bar area which is too open to the reception, suddenly had a deluge of people drift in & engulf us with their noise & standing around. We later established this to be quiz night, but it wasn't time to start & so they waited in the bar area. Not a peaceful place to eat at all, or convenient to other guests Our food was eaten with unwanted noise & people moving about. Food mediocre, Plus a good job we ordered before people started coming in as there was a queue at the bar where you ordered food, of quiz people getting drinks. We did observe several hotel guests who wanted to order food from the bar, deciding to go elsewhere, because they couldn't get served.
When I went to the bar later that evening I did mention that they needed more staff to serve guests on nights like this, but was given the reply by the bar staff member that he could manage & if one more staff was working, then they would not always be busy & it would be a case they would then have nothing to do - to me this sounded like cost cutting to the extreme & lost revenue - other guests came back later in the evening & informed they had been ready to eat in the hotel, but changed their mind because of the queue, lack of staff & noise.
General information - Our room was dated, had a double bed, bath with over head shower, bidet & toilet & was clean & suited our needs. Flat screen TV. hairdryer, table & 2 seater, dark colour settee, which took up too much space in the room. A kettle for use was in the room for tea/coffee/drinking chocolate & a pack of biscuits was there on arrival & replenished as needed. Overall a room that served a purpose, nothing wonderful, but nothing spectacular either & we had the ground floor . No overhead, (or outside in the corridor) noise was experienced, so that was a plus. Breakfast was a disappointment, Cooked food was sometimes cold - your cooked breakfast comes on a plate straight from the kitchen, when ordered from a staff member - not a help yourself out of serving containers - so if a lot of people were in for breakfast, some items on the plate were arriving sometimes cold - I noticed a few guests returning food back to the kitchen. Continental - stated cheeses, croissants pastries - however one choice of hard cheese was available & croissants tasted more than a day old, they were cold & there was no opportunity to warm them through, There was also just 3 Danish pastries in a container on the Sunday & when 20+ guests were in the breakfast room, it became laughable,as guests who were leaving, or returning their cooked breakfasts & looking at the alternative continental were unimpressed. One toaster (4 slice) served the guests, this was on the table where the Pastries & cereal was situated & whilst a queue of guests were waiting to make their toast, they inconvenienced the path of the guests wanting to get cereal. I had one guest make me my slice of toast whilst they waited for theirs. A bit like a "Basil Fawlty" episode.
Anyway - breakfast / eating & areas need a BIG look at.
If you brave the review I have written - It met my needs, but nothing fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aet17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Good location for the Colosseum, clean and comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. Superior Room dated in decor but spacious with settee, bath and shower. Lots of hot water and lovely and warm too.

Room Tip: Try the barracuda for food very good and just a five minute walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajhh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a relatively small hotel which is located close to Watford town centre the rooms are clean and quite reasonable although not the most modern. The price possibly reflects this compared to other newer hotels. The breakfast area is reasonable and the breakfast itself is good. Their is parking for hotel guests

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULDGIB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western White House Hotel

Property: Best Western White House Hotel
Address: 27-31 Upton Road, Watford WD18 0JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Town House Hotel, just 2 minutes walk from Watford High Street, 15 minutes walk from Watford Junction & Watford Football Ground. Limited on-site parking, off-site parking at Gade Car Park, Rosslyn Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watford
Watford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing