We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Watford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western White House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    147
    114
    43
    28
See reviews for
63
115
24
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed two days at the White House. The room was very nice, clean and quiet.
I have walking difficulties and asked the Duty Manager called Phil if he could provide a Birthday Cake as a last minute idea for my wife. He said that as it was only a few hours to go the Hotel didn't have time to make one but he offered to go out and get one for me, which I thought was an incredible gesture
We had invited some friends and had a super dinner at a very reasonable price at the hotel.
The4e staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful.
Considering that the hotel provided free car parking, being in the City Centre and only 30 minutes from London, for what it cost it must be rated as a bargain.
II consider this place to be equal to many 4 star London Hotels at a far cheaper price.

Room Tip: Very good deals available directly with the Hotel at week ends
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonlyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I recently had a 1 night stay at the white house hotel in Watford.
the lady at the check in was very helpful.
the room was large and well proportioned.
the bathroom was large and very clean,
the breakfast in the restaurant was one of the best I have ever eaten.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a quality hotel in Watford.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I will start with a positive, the food is ok, not exceptional but adequate, if you choose the restaurant menu for dinner. Where to begin: I stayed there for two weeks, the hotel being booked by the company I work for, so I can't really comment on value for money.
The rooms I had on 2nd and 1st floor both suffered from very poor and random water pressure in bathroom - take a shower and you risk scalding or frost bite. The bed was far too hard for my liking but if you enjoy sleeping on concrete you'll be fine.
The service is absolutely awful, you'd get better , friendlier service at Fawlty Towers. Bar service was abysmal if/when you could get someones attention to come and serve you, restaurant was just as bad with staff, clearly having been given no waiting training- plates being taken away without being asked if we had finished and on several occasions, starters arrived with main courses. Breakfast service was comical to say the least, orders would be taken but would invariably arrive wrong and , again, it was obvious that no formal training had been given to staff. Extremely complicated system for ordering breakfast, made worse by staff who clearly wish YOU weren't there. If the hotel focused more on their hotel guests rather than seeing them as an inconvenience the hotel may prosper. There is clearly a huge lack of staff morale and, while I wish them no ill will, it is about time that Best Western came and have a look at the place as this "Hotel" falls way short of what is expected of the BW brand

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor and first floor. Actually, prob best to go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Booking on-line was fine and easy.
Poor state of repair to the room, heating was not on initially and had to be sorted by the manager. Shower was poor, head blocked and only half worked.
Didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but did eat one evening in the Conservatory Restaurant.
The meal was generally good and great value as on Tastecard.
Good choice, including mushrooms on toast with a Duck egg, chicken in sauce and syrup sponge pudding!

All the team working at the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marct0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wyrley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Accommodation was generally good - I stayed in a suite which had lots of room. Disappointed with the water pressure to the shower, but the food was exceptional. Pillows and bed very comfortable which is always a bonus when your away from home

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here to visit the Harry Potter Studio Tour. Good location. Parking opposite. Big room, with plenty of space for a travel cot. Decor is quite old fashioned throughout but perfectly fine. Short stroll into town with plenty of places to eat. Had breakfast at Weatherspoons as it wasnt included in our room rate

Helpful?
1 Thank hazelwhiteland87
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Watford Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,697 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western White House Hotel

Property: Best Western White House Hotel
Address: 27-31 Upton Road, Watford WD18 0JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Town House Hotel, just 2 minutes walk from Watford High Street, 15 minutes walk from Watford Junction & Watford Football Ground. Limited on-site parking, off-site parking at Gade Car Park, Rosslyn Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watford
Watford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing