We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western White House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Recent weekend stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Overall a very good experience ..good room very clean ..just at this time of year with the onset of warmer weather the room was extremely hot with no air con. Hairdryer was ineffectual, but asked for an iron and that was provided for the entire stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank jb612015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    146
    114
    43
    28
See reviews for
62
112
24
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend as was going to a concert in London, car park was a bit small but hotel staff was very helpful, letting me park up and check in early, providing me with a local map and advice as to how to get to the nearest station and they also swapped my room for me when we realised we had mistakenly booked a twin room instead of double one, it's well located with a 2 min walk to the main high street where shops, bars, clubs and restaurants, were, rooms were clean only problem was they were a bit warm, overall thou it was a good stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Spent two weeks at this hotel while on business. The rooms are clean and large but the decor is a little worn and the rooms are not that sound proof. However, this is made up for in great service, friendly staff and good value. I would stay again. They serve a good selection of tasty food and the prices are reasonable. The hotel is very close to shopping and a large number of restaurants. It is less than a two minute walk to High Street. There are 3 train stations within a 15 minute walk of the hotel. Good breakfast and the morning staff in the cafe are awesome.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stay here last weekend on arrival the hotel seem fab managed to check in early so we was really happy rooms seems okay old fashioned but we can live with that arrived back at night to the most uncomfortable bed I have honestly ever slept in which resulted in us being awake most of the night no air conditioning so on a hot evening like we had its almost unbearable so we open the windows which resulted in us being kept awake from traffic it felt like are bed was put on the side of a motorway always had lots of people shouting from walking down the road into the hotel and up to there rooms which nights did nothing about spoke to the receptionist on check out about all issues and she didnt believe nights would let this happen and we should have doubt with it in the night not now not even an apology shocking its funny as the 2 families in front of us in the queue said the same thing !!! This hotel needs to be advertised as a loud hotel avoid avoid avoid

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 01dusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I recently stayed here for a week as my friend recommended it. I usually stay at a more modern hotel, but I figured since her parents always stay there it couldn't be that bad. Although the hotel is a bit dated, the hotel is kept extremely clean. The rooms are clean as well as the bathrooms in the rooms. Housekeeping staff all around are extremely pleasant and helpful. Upon booking, I didn't realize that there wasn't any air conditioning, that was bad...too hot!! Room service is available during certain hours and the bar was pretty much 24 hour availability. As for the front desk staff, I will say that everyone was helpful and polite; HOWEVER, the night manager, Tom, needs to learn some manners. He is very rude and crass. I don't care if he's been there 26 years, perhaps that's the problem. Location is excellent as there are many pubs, restaurants and shopping available in walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite of construction in area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Watford Central
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western White House Hotel

Property: Best Western White House Hotel
Address: 27-31 Upton Road, Watford WD18 0JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Town House Hotel, just 2 minutes walk from Watford High Street, 15 minutes walk from Watford Junction & Watford Football Ground. Limited on-site parking, off-site parking at Gade Car Park, Rosslyn Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watford
Watford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing