We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you're a heavy sleeper and like a soft bouncy small bed for two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western White House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK if you're a heavy sleeper and like a soft bouncy small bed for two”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Didn't sleep well and the room was a little tired. I would recommend they do away with the sofa (who needs a sofa in a guest room?) and get a nice big firm bed. The location was good for where I needed to be, but was a bit of a back-street, not very glamorous. The parking was exceptionally limited and very tight with building works with access through the car park adding to the overall anxiety. But on the up side the breakfast was very good as was the service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank marionandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    146
    114
    43
    28
See reviews for
62
112
24
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Sounds like a pub is in your awful filthy room. Had the next door neighbor kids screaming shouting outside my window till gone 10pm. Rooms awful, dirty , tired and very old fashion.
Food disgusting,reheated and tasted weird and when I asked them to collect the plate , I asked if they could bring a coffee too my reply - it will cost you another £3.00 as we have to walk up some stairs WHAT !!!

I asked if I could eat
my meal downstairs to be told only in the bar with the workmen and village weirdos.

I am here on a business trip on my own a women.

Do I feel safe NO.

Awful truly awful place - give me a premier Inn anyda
y , my advice pay the extra £ 20 it's worth it .
Fuming and tired going to be a long night.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nyree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Parking not clearly signposted so ended up parking in a multi-storey. Old fashioned decor that reminded me of the beginning of Beetlejuice. At reception was warned not to run off in the morning as they'd contact the company... their way of interacting with customers was interesting to say the least ... and not in a good way.
Old fashioned rooms and was put in a room with no air conditioning. It was dreadfully hot & stuffy.
Room service was ok.
Would not stay there again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany5431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The reception staff were first class, being very friendly, allowing me to check in and park the car in the car park early. The hotel and the room was very comfortable, clean and presentable. The only slight downside was that the shower was a little difficult to control.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel. After discovering bed bugs in our beds at another local hotel at 12.30am we called around several hotels which were all full, we called this one who had one room left. The night manager tom was very helpful checked us in at 1.30am while we were In a fluster threw in free breakfast and got us a big jug of iced water from the bar to take to our rooms. The room was dated but clean. Unfortunately didn't have aircon which was desperately needed in that heat however we opened the windows for a while then went to sleep. Got up in the morning for breakfast which was lovely, waitress was friendly. I would return to this hotel, either in winter when no aircon is required, or when it's not so hot!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Overall a very good experience ..good room very clean ..just at this time of year with the onset of warmer weather the room was extremely hot with no air con. Hairdryer was ineffectual, but asked for an iron and that was provided for the entire stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank jb612015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Watford Central
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western White House Hotel

Property: Best Western White House Hotel
Address: 27-31 Upton Road, Watford WD18 0JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Town House Hotel, just 2 minutes walk from Watford High Street, 15 minutes walk from Watford Junction & Watford Football Ground. Limited on-site parking, off-site parking at Gade Car Park, Rosslyn Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watford
Watford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing