We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TOTAL DISASTER” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rathiga - CLOSED

Rathiga
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: An interesting mix of Southern and Northern Indian food. Very well cooked with each dish tasting of its individual mix of spices. Friendly, welcoming staff and very reasonably priced.
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“TOTAL DISASTER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We'we on 2 days trip in Watford and were looking for some decent indian restaurant.
We came across Rathiga, it was empty but we were so hungry that we took this risk.
We order samosa's, veg curry dish and naan,papadums. It was definately not home made, its was something like you can buy in LIDL or ASDA.
Veg curry didnt remind anything, the only thing was good it was naan and papadums.

We do not recomend, i would not go again!!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SAB_ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid their Edgware branch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

If you want to encounter the worst service in London, go to their Edgware branch. I have been to many restaurants and this place is just terrible. Worst waiter ever was encountered.
1) My mum went to restaurant a couple of days before we went. She was allowed to make a substitution with one of the dishes on the Tali. She asked for the same thing again and was told in the most rude way ever that they don't do this. She explained that this was done only two days ago. The waiter was so rude and was not apologetic about this and gave her a very dirty look. A joke of a waiter. In a customer centric business he has no manners.
2) The gulab jamun was heated and brought out in the Tali. We asked if it could be brought out later as it would get cold as we ate out main meal. He told us no we don't do that in a very rude tone and just walked off.

Avoid the Edgware branch. The customer is not important at all. Don't waste your time there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shivam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bland, empty, disappointing - go elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Read the reviews of this restaurant carefully - they tell you the truth. We found the place pretty much empty at 8pm on a Saturday evening, which was the first clue. The interior is basic but clean, but there is a distinct lack of atmosphere amidst the friendly but slow service. But all of this could be forgiven if the food was good - which it isn't. Bland is the best way to describe the various main courses that we ordered; even the signature "dosa" dish had no flavour at all to speak of. The starters, albeit fried, at least had some taste to them. Afterwards, we wandered around Watford and reviewed how busy the other Indian restaurants were - whilst it clearly wasn't a busy night, other establishments appeared to have brisker trade. This is probably because their food has some taste to it - which, sadly, food from this restaurant does not have.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickleics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good food if u can put up with the bad service, atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I really enjoy the food here, their veg set lunches are very tasty and good value and their south Indian dishes are very authentic, however the service can either be utterly non existent to slightly over bearing. Even though it is rarely busy the food seems to take forever to arrive. And the decor could really do with being spruced up. What in south India is common and understandable, in the UK is just shambolic and lazy and though I would be really upset, as an regional Indian cuisine aficionado , for this place to disappear, I can totally understand how it would put off others from coming, when the more bog standard Indian restaurants in watford are so much more presentable. Please try harder!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stringz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“was good, gone down hill in past year.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

well, went as a three, took a friend in with us. complete embarrassment seeing as I told him long waiting time but worth it....

guy asked us if we wanted popadoms... yes please.... never received them. we then asked for them 25 mins later, he then ran about asking if we have ordered them which we confirmed then received a smashed up poppadum 2 minutes later with no sauces until we asked for them. The sauces were a disgrace...... mint sauce which was over minty and some tomato sauce mixed with chutney or god knows what which made me feel sick (I have never felt sick before from any sauce).

finally 30-40 mins later we got our mains. But had to wait for the nan bread, a further 10 mins. food was ok but was very worried from the state of the popadom situation. was about ready to pay for drinks and walk out. complete embarrassment to the friend who i said was a good place to eat at. sorry but will be going here and will be going to any other indian from now on!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nogoodforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rathiga also viewed

Watford, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 
Watford, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing