We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great theatre atmosphere, not just another arty shed”

Watford Palace Theatre
Ranked #5 of 34 things to do in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great theatre atmosphere, not just another arty shed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We've been to several productions here. When they are good they are awesome London quality without the ghastly London audience. Special tip - live screenings - it's just so much more magical than a VUE tin box

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CUBA197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    30
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Lovely Edwardian theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Standing in the heart of Watford, refurbished 10 years ago, this lovely theatre manages to keep it's Edwardian ambience with gilding and red plush seating makes for a magical evening. An eclectic variety of productions to suit all tastes are shown here and the place is much loved and frequented by the locals.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank marleo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
Level Contributor
341 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great Restored Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I have been to see many plays and a couple of shows. The theatre has been restored carefully and looks superb (apart from the weird neon light sculpture in the ceiling!). The seats are comfortable with good views and good acoustics. There is an excellent bar/coffee-shop/snacks area. Many good plays - some specially commissioned. An ideal venue

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank aberdeenjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I went here with my son to see the bbc orchestra for imagine Watford ( a free week of street performances). It was my first time there and I was mezmorised by it and it has made me want to go to theatre regularly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladyluck2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Having acted, directed and watched a lot at the Palace Theatre, I just love the place. Check what's on, varied seasonal programme, cinema, bars, food. Check it out if you are in Watford.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hornetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Watford Palace Theatre also viewed

 
Watford, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Watford Palace Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing