We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good shows for a local theatre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watford Colosseum

Watford Colosseum
Ranked #4 of 33 things to do in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good shows for a local theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

They always have a programme of good shows. Have been many times to various ones and have tickets booked for more.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonSmithson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    84
    31
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Seen West End Star: Kerry Ellis twice here- Great Venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Ive been to Watford Colosseum twice now, both times to see a huge west end star called Kerry Ellis. Ive seen her 23 times in different venues around the UK And I have to say that Watford Colosseum is one of the best places to go. Its not to big, well laid out, lots of room at the stage door, The seats are well laid out and are staggered so no ones head is blocking your view. The sound always sounds good here too. If you're seeing someone good, im sure you will have a good time here at the Colosseum!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Average venue, average show”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Got tickets for the Glen Miller Story as a gift. Acoustics in the refurbished hall were good which, unfortunately, highlighted the many missed notes from the band soloists. As a band the sound and style were good and in keeping with the story being told. Had there been no solo spots I might have rated them higher. The singers were quite able and the dancers good but overall it was just average. The seating was a bit hard on the posterior for a two hour show, making it a bit uncomfortable.
Came here some years ago to watch Beyond the Barricade show which was very good. Had I not been told that the venue had been refurbished I might not have noticed any change.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigJock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never lived up to hype”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Despite the multi million pound facelift we still await the promised top draw acts esp re music. If your into classical then you are ok but rock/indie...oh dear. Non existent or bands that never were and making a comeback. A real pity that WDC sacked all the original colosseum staff and took on min wage recruits instead...it shows! Great venue but poor acts/staff/events.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Most disappointing evening in my life - Nutcracker”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We were really looking forward to seeing The Nutcracker and left in good time to get there with a view to a relaxed coffee or drink before the show. We parked in the recommended car park but SIGNAGE was non-existent as how to cross the dual carriageway. We had printed a map but it didn't show any subways. We presumed (wrongly) there would be some SIGNAGE. There was nothing on the website to indicate where the subway should be or that there were works in the area blocking off the subway so we walked for miles trying to find one. We got totally lost, it started to rain, we were soaked through having spent over 1/2 hour finding our way and although we arrived in time we were unable to stay as we were so wet. I appreciate they cannot be held responsible for the rain but if there had been some SIGNAGE we would not have been soaked. We actually crossed over the roundabout through the traffic at one stage in order to get there! Whilst negotiating the subways we met others who had just left the theatre and were lost trying to get back to where they had parked their cars! It could all have been avoided by some SIGNAGE - particularly on their website. When we told a member of staff why we were leaving the young lady said we should have phoned and they would have 'talked us in' but she seemed unaware they don't answer the phone on a Sunday (doh!). A complaint only elicited a letter saying how wonderful the production was and it was a pity we didn't feel we could stay for the production and a £15 voucher (which of course would involve spending more money there). We will NEVER attempt to go again. Don't bother if you are not local and don't know your way around (even with a map) because they don't seem concerned about helping you access the place ... they already have your money so why should they worry. Apparently the works around the place are ongoing until April 2014 so if you chance it ... you have been warned.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fussychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Watford Colosseum also viewed

 
Watford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Watford Colosseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing