We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous weekend”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Initial Style Conference Hunton Park
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Just got back from a weekend stay at Hunton Park a group of 10 adults.We found the staff professional and helpful .
The rooms are clean with (super?) kingsize beds and very comfortable.
After reading reviews didn't know what to expect but do not agree with them..
2 of our group tried the swimming pool and jacquzzi and said it was v , good.We had an evening meal,and although not an extensive menu we all found something we liked and thoroughly enjoyed it,they have a winter special offer 2 courses for £15 and £5 off a bottle of wine.
.The free tea coffee and biscuits were a welcome bonus.
It's only a short walk from a few local pubs which serve food and in Abbots Langley we found a great indian restaurant( Abbots Tandoori ?]a £4 taxi ride away.
We had taxi's to Watford Junction(£8) and got an allday travelcard for London for £13.50 and had a great day and got to see a show
We will Rock You which we all enjoyed.
We are all looking forward to our next stay (if we get another great deal ,paid £39 for 3 nights,)

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RamsfanAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2008

I had a really busy trip in the UK for two weeks, so decided for my last two days to book into somewhere to relax. I did a search in the Watford area and found the De Vere. From the website it looked like just the location where I could unwind. I was sadly mistaken. The room I was in (although a double) was small. I had a "great" view of the car park. The shower was appalling, a mere trickle of water came out, which left you feeling that you hadn't really had a wash.

I really should have read the reviews of others stay before booking this. It is really overpriced, and you certainly don't get anything for you money. If you have to stay in Watford, I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

The room we were allocated number 28, was very small and the double bed could have been done under the trade description act as it was very small. The room smelt of mould and was really only big enough for one person!

Having tried to sleep on the floor, we were allocated a larger room number 58.

If you wanted to relax then this is not the hotel to stay at, as breakfast finishes early and check out time is 9am during the week and 10am at weekends.

Avoid this hotel, unless you want to attend a conference. It is not a relaxing or romantic place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2007

A last minute requirement to stay in Watford while helping a relative to move house at short notice. As it is just a week before Christmas, even the usual budget overnight places were full and the full service business hotels are just too expensive for a bed to sleep in when you know you'll not be at the hotel until gone 9 pm and will be out before 7 am.

So we found the Hunton Park. We more or less knew what to expect as DeVere own a similar facility very close to where we live. Consequently, our expectations were not high and we weren't disappointed.

The rooms are small, the bed was hard, there was a lack of pillows and the bathroom stank. The TV worked, but was just about unwatchable due to interference. Clothes hanging space was minimal and all night there was a continual sound of what sounded like an extractor fan outside, or close to our room.

But it was just for one night, it was cheap and other than the horrible smell from the bathroom (which I suspect was just stagnant water in the toilet), it was all clean.

These "venues" locations are really corporate training centres with accommodation - so if you set your expectations low and accept that what you'll get is more or less student hall of residence accommodation, you won't be disappointed. If, however, you are expecting a "proper" de Vere hotel - you will be very disappointed. We paid £60 for a night - even the local Travel Lodge was asking £70+, so it served us fine for the night.

And the one member of staff that we met was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kevinw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

For a start, The hotel had double booked our room, and despite us being there friday and saturday, WE had to be reallocated as our room was part of a wedding party the following day!. We were sent to wait for over half an hour until they found us a room. By the way the rooms look like rabbit hutch annexes away from the hotel, and the room lived up to it!. It was not even a double size bed.. the room was smaller than out box room. the bed was shoved against a wall on two sides. when we put our luggage down there was nowhere to stand!.

We kicked up a fuss and eventually was given a room with a bed we could at least walk around, though the net curtains had fallen down and it was an impossibility to get into the wardrobe!.

Breakfast wasnt much better, empty tables with "reserved" signs, no stafff around, tables not set properly we had to scrounge side plates and condiments!, coffee was so cold we went down the corridor to the machine(at least it was hot)

Saturday evening was even worse, bar full of very abusive, drunken wedding guests (being loaded doesnt give you manners) It was awful (infact later that night the wedding guests ended up brawling in the bar and the main house)

AS for the toilets, i have seen cleaner, fresher smelling facilities at motorway services... oooh and the pool as a notice up saying closed between 10 am and 5 pm to "discourage" the guersts from using it (it is actually open all day!)

We had previously stayed at Theobald Park which had been fabulous. Warning to anyone thinking about booking this hotel, its used for weddings at weekends, other guests are an inconvenience and the staff cant cope. You are well and truly made to feel like a second class citizen, and in the way. The manager bless him did his best, but the odds were stacked against him.. maybe stay there if you are a wedding guest, or your company is paying. certainly.dont waste your own money here!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ipsaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watford
0.6 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
0.6 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,827 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Initial Style Conference Hunton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Initial Style Conference Hunton Park

Address: Hunton Park Hunton Bridge Essex Lane, Watford WD4 8PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range: £60 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunton Park, conveniently located just minutes from the M25 and M1 and 10 minutes from Watford centre, is a beautiful Queen Anne Manor House set in stunning English Gardens, offering first class accommodation and meeting rooms, indoor swimming pool and complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Initial Style Conference Hunton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing