We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Baguette sandwich was super duper” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Bells Coffee

Ocean Bells Coffee
Ranked #2 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout
Description: Independent Cafe serving speciality coffee, tea, freshly prepared breakfast and lunch and home made soups, salads, pasta and cakes
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Baguette sandwich was super duper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Really cool place to chill and hang out. I was there with a mate, Mahamud is a super friendly and chilled out dude. The place was busy with nice people walking in and out the atmosphere was nice Food was great, staff super friendly. Would defo go back with. Great place to work

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharif272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    32
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelso
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent wee coffee shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Getting a decent cup of coffee can be such a gamble, but Ocean Bells didn't disappoint - excellent smooth, rich coffee AND served continental-style with a glass of water, by friendly and welcoming staff. Perfect.

Good breakfast bagels too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank robarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“At last a much needed independent coffee shop...That actual produces a good coffee!! (and cake)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I don't often feel compelled to write reviews but I think this little gem of a Cafe deserves one, and a good one at that!

After working in Watford for a while and being a huge coffee lover I was very happy when Ocean Bells opened it's doors. Independent cafe's can be so hit and miss but Ocean Bells doesn't disappoint.

One of the best tasting coffees around, possibly rivaling some of the best in London, served by baristas that actually take pride in what they do appreciating that producing good coffee is an art.

The breakfast and lunch options always hit the spot too and if your'e in need of a sweet treat like shamefully I often am, then the homemade cakes are to die for (especially the brownie).

Above all, it's always service with a smile! Even when I do come in at 9am and grunt my coffee order, with eyes half shut still...

Flat white please...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WiseWanderer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Bold coffee, felt a little pretentious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Staff were friendly and coffee was rich and strong. The cafe itself was nice, if a little pretentious feeling. The latte was excellent, however the iced coffee was really large! We also shared an almond croissant, which was very fresh and flaky.

Unfortunately, it felt more like a place to get coffee to go, as there weren't many tables and staff quickly cleared away your drinks etc. Also, there was no toilet, so I had to leave my mum on her own (on Mother's Day!) to run into the intu centre to go. I would definitely opt to relax in Watford's other indie coffee shop (Coffee House in Presence), but would choose here for coffee on the run.

I was also surprised, after reading the owners' bios online, that after all their travelling, there wasn't an eclectic coffee menu. It offered all the same European coffees as everywhere else, and I'd kind of hoped they'd be introducing a new trend, like Vietnamese filter coffee with condensed milk, or espresso over homemade yoghurt etc.

However, overall the coffee was great and the staff were nice and that's the main thing! It's great to have another independent coffee shop in Watford; it's really needed there. Would definitely be back to take-away.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieonTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stumbled Accross this place on a visit to Watford. The staff were so friendly it was my daughters birthday and they let her choose a free cake. Three of us had a sandwich:bagel:crossaint and a cold drink for under £20 so reasonable too! Great chocolate brownie!! ;-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Minibreakseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Bells Coffee also viewed

 
Watford, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 
Watford, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Ocean Bells Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing