We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good old english charm”
Review of Grove End Hotel

Grove End Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grove End Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Reviewed 30 June 2009

if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the city, take a while to drop into the grove end, i was last here in 1978, and it has lost none of its old english charm, very cosy and comfortable and full of character, with its older style furnishings and we were waiting for basil faulty to jump out, the owner and staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome, the food is very good and a top little bar as well, so if you want some old fashion english charm , stay a night or two at the grove end

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank sjandmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2009

Clean Hotel with plesent staff, in need of a small refurbisment but otherwise for the price it was good value for money and a Full Old fasioned English breakfast thrown in as well, would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SazSt_Albans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2008

For just £7 less than a clean, modern and large double-bedded room in the Premier Inn on Water Lane, the Grove End Hotel offers a tiny and hideous single room with a duvet cover from 'Abigail's Party'.

A smell of rancid fat pervades Reception.

My room (£62!!!) was a small single with the kind of furniture that would be spurned by Oxfam.

The optimistically titled en-suite, had two tiny hand towels in colours banned since the seventies. And a tiny piece of Palmolive soap - the kind you might expect to find in a prison cell.

I'm staggered this place exists in the year 2008.

I booked in, went to my room, almost passed out then left to book in somewhere else. (The Best Western in Watford. Dull and old-fashioned but felt like Claridge's by comparison.)

I forbid you to stay there.

Stayed: February 2008
4  Thank bonetti61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2007

I have regularly stayed at the Grove End Hotel and enjoyed the experience. I found the staff very friendly, the food good and the bar excellent. I would stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank WelshWizard069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2007

All I can say is I wish there were more hotels like this I stayed here a couple of years ago and it just keeps getting better the staf know your name your not just a number.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2006

Two words for you: ‘hideously’ and ‘overpriced’. At £58 per night for a single en-suite you’d be right to expect much, much more. The décor was woeful – unless you think taste in interior design peaked in 1978. The extractor fan in the bathroom must’ve been fitted the wrong way round, as it was freezing (even for late April). The shower-head was clogged with limescale and fired out water randomly. The rest of the room was similarly cold and the paper-thin curtains,strip lighting (no lamp), dismal tea/coffee facilities and remote control-less, Rubik cube-sized TV relieved the room of its last vestiges of cosiness. I didn’t attempt to try the food – served in a smoky bar – as one look at the menu revealed little options other than chips, chips and chips. The staff were welcoming and helpful, but that's about as good as it got. I later discovered a Travel Inn five minutes walk away (and very close to Watford town centre). At only £4 extra for single en-suite (£62 p/n), this would’ve been a far safer bet. My advice: drive straight past this place and go there.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rkid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
1.3 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,778 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove End Hotel

Address: 73 Bushey Hall Road, Watford WD23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range: £67 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grove End Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GROVE END HOTEL is a small, welcoming family run establishment with 11 rooms that has been in business for the past 45 years. It is situated just off junction 5 of the M1 on the B462 and is ideally situated for the A41, A1, and M25, junction 19. It is also within easy reach of Heathrow, Luton and Elstree Airports. The centre of London is just 13 miles away by car or 20 minutes by train from Watford Junction or Bushey & Oxhey Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grove End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing