We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great place for couple nights with kids on way to Harry Potter Experience. Staff were very good and helpful, rooms good, good value. Food fine for this type of place. For the kids two single fold up beds which were fine compared to some of the dire things in other hotels in family rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan1G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    371
    119
    40
    30
See reviews for
460
301
49
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My children and I stayed at the Premier Inn Watford Central due to it's close proximity to the Harry Potter tour. We were extremely pleased with the service from all staff - However, was disappointed with the location. The hotel advertised that the train station is a short walk from the hotel. However, the closest station is Watford - not Watford Junction which is the location you need to be to 1. get the Harry Potter tour bus and 2. Get the fast train into Euston - which connects you to London. We found the commuting tiring and frustrating at times. Taxi fares from Watford Junction to the hotel was approximately 8 pounds each way - which gets expensive if you do this frequently. We were told that you can walk to Watford Junction station from the hotel - but this takes approximately 30 minutes - and is a uphill in parts. Overall, I would recommend the Premier Inn chain - but not this particular hotel if you want to commute daily to London.

Room Tip: There is no air conditioning in any of the rooms - staff can provide fans if necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyontour14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed here with my family for the last weekend in June to use as a base to explore London. The staff were welcoming, especially tom who printed out pictures for me to colour in the children's colouring area. The breakfast was excellent, really tasty and lots to choose from. The room was comfortable with a nice fan to keep you cool. I can't wait to go back to the premier inn, it easy AWESOME!! by James age 7

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesteamairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here for a weekend break to London 4/7 to 6/7 . Very warm greeting on arrival even though we didn't arrive until 9.30pm , we were asked if we wanted to add breakfast which we did and the reception team offered apologies for the lift being out of order all weekend .We had room 307 on the top floor and we noticed that the hotel foyer area was really hot even so late in the evening .
The room was very clean and perfect for our needs however it was extremely hot in there even with a fan permanently on in the room air con was non existent .Breakfast was superb and better than some I have had in more expensive hotel .Again a really warm greeting from the dining room staff and you can help yourself to cereals , fruit , toast etc , and the coffee is self serve from the Costa coffee machine .The hot breakfast is cooked to order and you can order as many items off the menu as you want and it was superb .

We caught the London over ground train from Watford high street which is approx 5 mins from the hotel ( right out of the hotel , up the hill and left at the lights and the station is in front of you ) the train took approx 45 mins to get to Euston and was approx 8.00 pounds return . The last train back to Watford we were told was Midnight from London .

There is a Tesco Extra close to the hotel which is good for any supplies you may need and the Tesco petrol station is over the road from the hotel . I would recommend this hotel and use again however the temperature of the rooms and the hotel in general does need attention from the Hotel chain .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithsmithnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Good value hotel but with no air con in the rooms and Windows that only open a couple of inches but it's far too hot... The team do their best with a fan etc but it's not good enough... By opening the window you hear the v busy west coast mainline throughout the night so not the promise of a good nights sleep as per the ads!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heesey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is well placed within easy walking of the centre and one mile from Watford Junction . The hotel is classic Premier with good staff, breakfasts, location and beds in large clean rooms. Bar and restaurant also fine.
Hotel added fans which was a nice touch. You can hear traffic despite extra glazing but wasn't too bad it's a city after all.

We had a problem on business accounts that caused an issue but staff tried hard but hands tied by process and policy which made them fearful of using initiative. I'll deal with this separately directly with a Premier as it shouldn't detract from what is a good premier.

Special mention for Marlena on reception who was excellent, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Business Accounts remember to pay in advance on pre bookings as hotel chain has no method or flexibi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celtica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Friendly,helpful staff, plenty of parking space, comfortable room but a bit warm unless you use the fan provided. Convenient to take a train into London, short walk to High Street station for a train with lots of stops. Fifteen minute walk to Watford Junction for a fast train. Would definitely use this Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags227131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Watford Central
1.4 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
Address: 69 Water Lane | Timms Meadow, Watford WD17 2NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Watford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Watford
#2 Family Hotel in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great town-centre spot near Vicarage Road stadium, with direct links to London and Potters Bar. Chargeable parking £3/24hrs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Premier Inn and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Watford Centre Hotel Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing