We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Stay At A Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Stay At A Premier Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked this hotel so we could go to Harry Potter Studio Tour. We arrived after a very long drive to be welcomed by lovely helpful staff, they checked us in quickly. They told us straight away we could use extra fans, sheets etc because of the hot weather.

We went straight up to our room to relax and was greeted by a massive room with a lovely big bed and a fan that had been left on to the keep the room cool. Bathroom was perfect size with shower and bathtub. Nice big desk so i could put all my cosmetics on and nice tele. Plenty of space for hanging up clothes and putting them away. Big bed was a luxury and very comfy!

We had breakfast here both days too and it was so yummy! Freshly cooked breakfasts and you could order as much as you want. Even the continental selection was yummy with lovely Yeo Valley yoghurts! This was eat as much as you like too. And lots of juices, water, coffee, tea, etc.

The restaurants and main high street was a 5 minute walk from the hotel, great restaurants and good bars. Also Watford High Street station was only a 5 minute walk from the hotel and was easy access into the centre of London. Also driving to Harry Potter Studio Tour was an easy 10 minute drive.

The staff were amazing too and made this trip so much better, they were a delight and so friendly. It was nice to see every staff member smiling, morning, noon and night.

The only thing i have to fault is that we didn't get housekeeping, she knocked on our door and we asked if she could come back in half an hour. But she never returned so we had to reuse our towels.

Sorry for the messy bedroom photos but was a lovely room.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and if I ever came back to Watford would come back to this hotel again!

Thank you Premier Inn :)

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel, if windows are open less noisy and get a room at the bottom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    348
    116
    34
    29
See reviews for
433
288
47
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We always stay here when in Watford. The location is just off the main road, but very quiet - and, conveniently, right next to a massive 24hr Tesco!

We had a birthday breakfast in the restaurant one morning (we had 4 rooms) in Jan 2014, and the staff were exceptional. As well as hiding/bringing out the cake, they presented a birthday card, balloon and box of chocolates from the hotel!

Always somewhere we would recommend - especially compared to some of the noisy, dirty, uncomfortable hotels in Watford we experienced before discovering this Premier Inn!

Room Tip: We always seem to face the car park, which is lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Close to Harry Potter Studios.The staff were fab and made my daughters birthday extra special by giving her 11 balloons during dinner-lovely touch.
Only fault room to hot so had 2 fans on all the time

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Premier are by definition budget hotels; there's no air conditioning but no lack of staff care. We arrived at 11pm on a hot night - the room was cooled by a fan, the duvet removed, the window open but the curtain drawn, and the offer of iced water - what more could they do? The staff were universally warm in their welcome, and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. Breakfast was cooked individually and fresh. Reception were very helpful. The hotel is geared to arrival by car, and access by foot from the Watford Junction station was down a dark and unmarked street. We left by taxi!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor with the main road visible across the car park but even with the window ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,241 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Undoubtedly a really warm welcome and staff who seem to go out of their way to help - with clear recommendations on eateries and directions once I made it clear I planned to head out for dinner. The hotel is a 5 minute walk (slightly uphill) to Watford High Street and the Intu Shopping Centre.

After that it is a bit like most other Premier Inn's though not the most comfortable bed (clear 2 mattresses joined together with a very distinct join!) Also the TV was one of the smaller less modern versions.

In sweltering heat there is no air con (and traffic noise would rule out windows open overnight); fans are provided, the quilt had already been removed and curtains closed to try and help - also a note saying if you wanted a jug of iced water just ask. Breakfast next morning was OK. Do make sure you give the hotel your car reg when checking in as they also charge non-residents and on leaving I noticed 2 vehicles had parking tickets!

My only issue is that B&B here was almost £120 for 1 night which I think takes them out of budget pricing (and then a small charge for wi-fi on top).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here before visiting the Harry Potter studios tour. I also arrived on one of the warmest weeks of the year and yes we had a fan provided. The one fan wasn't really enough and there were no more on the floor we were staying on, I mentioned this to reception and they got us another fan which made the room more comfortable.

All the staff we had contact with were very friendly, room was clean, food was good in the evening if a little slow (but it was busy) Overall very happy with the accommodation and I would book again if i was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBeesley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Have stayed at a few Premier Inns around UK and Scotland, but Watford Central has to be the best one we have stayed in. The staff are so helpful and welcoming. The level of comfort and cleanliness is very high. Would definitely recommend this Inn, close to train station so easy access to Central London. I hope to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
1.4 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
Address: Timms Meadow 69 Water Lane | Water Lane, Watford WD17 2NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Watford
#2 Family Hotel in Watford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great town-centre spot near Vicarage Road stadium, with direct links to London and Potters Bar. Chargeable parking £3/24hrs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Premier Inn, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Watford Centre Hotel Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing