We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice rooms, beware of traffic noise however.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Watford Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Watford Central
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice rooms, beware of traffic noise however.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Quick review:
- Our room here was impressive for the price we paid. It was large, spacious and with a very comfortable bed and nice little TV.
- Hotel was very clean throughout
- Staff helpful
- Fantastic location for anything you need to do quickly in Watford. 30 sec walk from the shops, and 10 minute walk to Vicarage Road if you're going to the football. 15 mins walk to Watford Junction Station.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper perhaps ask for a room on the other side of the building to the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    139
    99
    53
    68
See reviews for
190
123
20
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed in April as part of a business trip. Booked due to the location being not far from the M1 and also on the tube line.

The hotel in question was basic but clean, as with the majority of centrally located travelodges parking is seperate and chargeable. I had looked at 2 options for hotels and opted for this as in spite of the additional parking cost it still came in at about £20 under the Premier Inn cost (Premier Inn was the Harrow one so not the same location).

The location was ideal for the city centre just a couple of minutes from the main high street which has the majoirty of facilities shops, restaurants, bars etc. the location from the train station was good however the location from Watford Junction tube station is a fair old walk so if you are utilising the metropolitan line (as I was) then be aware that you need to add about 15 minutes walking time.

The rooms are basic but offer a bed and freeview style tv. There is no complimentary shower gel/shampoo so suggest you either bring your own or visit the high street which has a superdrug. One of my bug bears about travelodge is that they don't provide at least 1 drawer and that there are no sockets near the bed for your mobile phone/tablet etc.

Breakfast was unlimited and offered cooked and continential options however at £6.95 I felt it a little expensive however I know this is cheaper than other leading chains, personally I would be happier with this being at the fiver mark.

I would book the travelodge again but it would be primarily due to the cost/location in comparison to others in the area and because I found a lack of independent b&bs that had reasonable reviews.

Room Tip: Bring your own shower gel and be aware of the walking distance to Watford Junction station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambrose16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Watford Central, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Ambrose16,

Thank you for your post, we appreciate your comments.

It is unfortunate you were not aware about the toiletries. Information regarding our room facilities and brand standards are provided on our website, so customers may view this at any time. We feel that our rooms still provide the essentials needed to get good nights sleep, and also allows Travelodge to maintain low prices for our customers.

However we are pleased to hear the room was clean and the location was convenient for you. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights shilst attending a football march at Wembley as its a short train ride. Good value and centrally located. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. There's even a lap dancing club a couple of doors away if that takes your fancy, but note that its closed on Sundays.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank textiletony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Where do I start? Rang (premium rate line) ahead of visit to request our rooms were together as we were travelling with our Daughter. Our rooms were sandwiched between a corridor of young revelers determined to party both before leaving and on returning to the hotel on both nights of our stay! I understand this is normal for the Watford Central Hotel as it is ' a party destination'.
The rooms themselves were really good for a change. They were clean and well equiped, and the beds were very comfotable. WOuld have been good to be able to use them to sleep but as we were woken both nights with continuous noise and at one point a fight lack of sleep was a bit of an issue.
Breakfast is £7:99 for all you can eat. Thats fine if you actually want more than cereal and toast but no other option exists.
THe worst part of this stay was that despite 6 rooms being booked in the same unusual surname for the Saturday night my brother was bounced and had to go to Hemel Hempstead for the night. He had been told his room number by the manager before we left for a family wedding but was unable to check in as it was before 12md.
When we returned at 22:00 there was suddenly an issue with the room he was to occupy ie a leak and no other room was available. This was a lie (admitted later by staff) as they had allocated the room to someone else.
Apparently this is a policy of the Head Office booking reservations as people often don't show up. The fact that he had paid in advance and the hotel was aware he had arrived made no difference. It is their policy to bump single males first - he is 60 by the way!
Very unhappy and evern more so as we never heard from the Manager as promised - a case of NFI - we have your money you takes your choice.

Room Tip: The earlier you book in the better and choose a top floor room to help with sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorntotravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Watford Central, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear BorntotravelUK,

Thank you for your post. We aim to provide a high level of service at all times, and I am sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights last week. Both nights cost £69.00 and we had a very pleasant stay. Check in was quick and easy and staff seemed friendly. I was quite wary after looking at the previous reviews on here but I was quite surprised when we got to our room. The hotel is currently having a full refurbishment and luckily we received one of the new rooms. Very large room with a huge bed, plenty of pillows (I had packed spare) and clean towels. The room also has a kettle, some tea, coffee, milk which you can ask for more at reception. The bathroom was lovely, small but included a bath which is unusual for a standard room at most travelodges. We had a room on the first floor which meant that we didnt hear any noise from outside however, our room was next to a corridor door which was very loud everytime a guest went past it as it slammed shut, this was quite annoying at night. The room was cleaned the next day with new towels put out and beds made for our last night. On our first evening we had a meal in the hotel bar, we were the only ones in there, and staff didn't take much notice of us (too busy on their phone with a friend sitting at the bar) food was decent, just had a curry, Prices are resonable but nearby are a chinese, pizza and a huge shopping mall. I was aware that parking was expensive after reading reviews and this is true, the hotel does not provide their own parking. The nearest car park is next door which cost us just over £20 each night. We did ask at reception where the cheapest parking was and she informed us that it is cheaper at Watford Junction station, from friday to monday is just £9.40! but it is at least a 10-15min walk.

Overall we had a lovely stay and I would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki_C92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Watford Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Watford Central

Property: Travelodge Watford Central
Address: 23-25 Market Street, Watford WD18 0PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Watford Central 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Watford Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Watford Central Hotel Watford
Watford Travelodge
Watford Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing