We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Watford Central
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have stayed in travelodges before but this one probably the best ever i would say in terms of the customer services and the staff.
The rooms were quite good and clean. The weather would the issue for everyone these days but the fans were available on request and bar opens 24 hours which was the bonus. The food was brilliant
So yeah, we had great and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cool890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Staff was very helpful in Travelodge Watford and the rooms was spotless and spacious. We really like the services we been provided and it was very great stay. There is nothing I can say or moan but we been Here before and this time was very pleasant throughout our whole stay in the hotel.also will be back again. Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rock_345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel 2 weeks ago on the 4th floor, I have never stayed in a room so HOT and all they could offer us was a fan, which did not help whatsoever! It was unbearable. The reception was lovely and cool but that was it!

I used Travelodges reguarly, but I will definately not be using them again! Premier Inn all the way!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Great stay at this place. Reasonable price and a perfect base for Harry Potter Tour. Not the easiest to find but car park next door (£27 for 2 days overnight) and 10 mins walk to Watford railway station for commute to London. We booked a family room which was clean, tidy and comfortable. We asked for a room at the back away from the main road which helped the kids settle. Helpful staff and nice breakfast too.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Stulocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I understand that by going to a travelodge you get what you pay for, but this one really was awful.

Upon arrival the staff were pleasant, and we checked into our rooms for two nights. When we entered the rooms, we found (very oddly) that there we no light bulbs in the room. I went down to reception and the staff gave us light bulbs to put in, but still the lamp by the bed didn't work as the light was actually hanging off the wall. My partner then had a shower, only to find we only had a bath mat and no towels, so back down to reception I went.

The whole room was very shabby, and the mirror was missing completely. On our second day we went out, and returned to find a stained brown towel (not from our room I hasten to add) had been left on the side in our room by the cleaners. We complained to travelodge hq and showed them pictures of the light hanging off the walls (wires exposed) and the filthy towel but they didn't care. We were glad to get home, and have not (and will never) stay in a travelodge again.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Ruthandjames1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Niki from Customer Services at Travelodge Watford Central, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thanks for your review Ruthandjames1. We are truly sorry to learn that your stay did not meet with your expectations. Similarly, we expect all items and facilities in your room to be well maintained and any damages should be noted and rectified during the staff’s daily room checks. We can confirm Travelodge have an ongoing refurbishment program and can confirm that this hotel has now received a fresh new look and layout. We would like to provide a resolution for the issues you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

There is an alarming lack of senior figures of authority working at this establishment, which is ironic because the place probably doesn't have an alarm system installed. As a group of Navy Seals, we arrived from Tyneside last May, looking to spend our shore leave exploring all the avenues of culture that Watford has to offer. I'd previously read online that the town has a ludicrous number of Ford Glaxay S Max vehicles parked on it's streets, more than anywhere else in Hertfordshire. I also learnt that Watford town centre is home to not one, but two McDonald's restaurants, both within 897 yards of each other and their openings dating back to the spring of 2007. Mind blown. After we had waited for over an hour for the tattoo-riddled receptionist to appear behind the desk, we eventually checked-in to our rooms. We all met downstairs in the hotel bar, which is nothing more than a neglected social club, the likes of which wouldn't look out of place on that infamous Lancastrian high street, "The Burnley Strip". Although, here I am probably being harsh, as the bar did have a flat screen television with over 7 digital channels (including radio) as well as lavatory facilities for both genders. Watford one, Burnley nil.

The only people running the place seemed to be two very obnoxious gentleman, each wearing a bright orange deflated armband, or the "security guards" as it said on their pretty name tags.
One Seal was informed that they couldn't enjoy their cigarette, despite being stood well away from the hotel grounds, before being given what can only be described as a short philosophical lecture on the incredibly dangerous act of time-keeping within a situation of spontaneous combustion. "Smoke kills in seconds, fire kills in minutes. And there is no smoke without fire", explained the plastic bobby.

We brushed off the Brian Cox-style outburst and headed inside to speak to the bar staff, hoping to obtain some tourist advice about the local area. It was at this point that we witnessed the jamboree of germs. As the evening meal buffet was being prepared, the kitchen staff were not in the mood for dishing out customer welfare. A carcass of brisket was dropped onto the floor, ran over by the cutlery wagon, before being picked up. A quick blow and wipe on the chef's jacket seemed to be the method of fixation, before sneezing his way back into the ward, I mean kitchen. We all just looked at one another, and it was as if we knew the words that were about to exit all of our mouths. Garlic and chips.

We headed out to the nearest takeaway and ordered the traditional dish of our hometown, having to make do with garlic mayonnaise instead of a good solid shaving of clove. It was the final straw. We were out of our depth, staying in a hotel that had no lifeguard. Throughout the night there were a few more incidents. A stag party from Bristol were thrown out for using reception's tiled floor as a bathroom. To be fair to the lad, he had brought his own toilet paper. There was also quite a tense situation involving a 6" Chicken Teriyaki sub on Italian herb and cheese bread, but I won't bore you with the details, it's not a deal breaker.

Overall, our stay was pretty poor. If we thought that as Navy Seals then I'm not quite sure how a family would feel after one night at the Diet Premier Inn. There were some positives. Soft drinks from behind the bar are free after 4pm, and although frowned upon, loudly breaking wind at the breakfast table is not strictly forbidden.

Lenny Henry must be wetting himself with laughter every time when he walks past this joint.
My score for this YMCA look-a-like, 2/5. Must try harder.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank MichaelJewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel is conveniently placed within walking distance of the centre of Watford, car parking is an extra cost. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Averil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
0.2 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Watford Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Watford Central

Address: 23-25 Market Street, Watford WD18 0PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range: £38 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Watford Central 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Watford Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Watford Central Hotel Watford
Watford Travel Lodge
Watford Travelodge
Travel Lodge Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing