We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere!”
Review of Bar Bodega

Bar Bodega
Reserve with OpenTable
Bar Bodega is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 258 Restaurants in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bar Bodega is the perfect haven for every over-25 who just can't find a decent bar. Our feel is 1920's speakeasy meets jazz club with heavy drapes and deep leather sofas to offer a welcome that's akin to a long hot bath after a rough day. Discover a rare find of mature drinkers and enjoy chilled-out evenings of table service and conversation against a background of cool nu-jazz - played at just the right volume. Come in, relax and choose a bottle from the extensive wine list or select a specialty beer, and you'll find it's midnight before you know it. We very much hope to see you soon. Cheers!
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We went here before going to Watford Colosseum for a quick bite to eat. We were really impressed with the ambiance and style of Bar Bodega. Food was great too! A little gem hidden away at the end if The Parade. Will definitely return with friends for a longer stay.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TAC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    47
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice Bar/Restaurant”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had booked for a meal in this bar as it is out of the way and very relaxed atmosphere. Great warm welcome by the staff and shown to our table. Very friendly waitress I think her name was Tanya. Ordered our drinks and looked at the menu. A good choice on offer and so much to choose from. It was nice to be able to talk as in some pubs the music is so load you cannot hear what the other person is saying. Very busy place and will come again. Keep up the good standard of service with the joyful staff. This is what makes this place so special and stands out from the others.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Got to love Bod's”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Best pub in the town centre, real ale, great food, outdoor area and snug. Music allows you to talk and has a wide range of ages. Perfect.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hornetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,145 reviews
799 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“visit”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

got a train to watford for a visit for a few hours,and this bar bodega was on my list,i waited untill opening time 5ish,as i entered there were christmas lights around the window,candles alight on the tables also a lovely fire in the centre, it had a very warm feeling about the place,i liked the way the tables and chairs were set, the service was great,the staff helpfull and friendly,i enjoyed my drink,i wish i had more time to try the food ,but i had to catch my train home,this is a top bar restaurant,i will be back,well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Joining friends for a sunday lunch in Watford to be honest I was expecting a typical pub carvery or something similar. From even before the first impression of the venue we were WOWed by the personality, friendliness and service here. Arriving a little before 12 we were spotted waiting outside and we were asked if we wanted to come in as long as we didn't mind they were still setting up. The warmth of the staff made us feel like VIPs, taking our coats, offering a range of morning papers and the much needed coffee. The place itself is a cozy quality venue that you seem to instantly feel relaxed in, with an impressive wax candle place and antique mirrors it's the type of place you could be quite happy all day (and or night). Our friends joined us and again they were greeted as if family had just arrived. The menu was mouth watering and just the right proportions to not feel over stuffed. As it was a bit of birthday celebration they even arranged for Cava on the house to start the meal off.

Bodega does everything well, the one thing better than their superb food was the service of their staff. Thank you for a great day, not sure when we'll be back in Watford but coming to Bodega would make a journey worthwhile.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soul_deviantlighting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsjlkeen, Owner at Bar Bodega, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hi there
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you and your party enjoyed yourselves.

As an owner I will admit to getting a bit emotional whilst reading your kind words. This is exactly the kind of experience that we ask our teams to deliver and it is a testament to their personalities, attitude and dedication to the customer that they are able to consistently deliver experiences like you received. I'm very proud of them and feel very grateful to you for taking the time to recognise their efforts in this way.

Many thanks and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Mrs Jaime-Lee Keen
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Bodega also viewed

Watford, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 
Watford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Bar Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing