We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid like the plague !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague !!”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Was due to spend 2 nights in this 'hotel', I checked out after 1 night. Absolutely disgusting. Sofa beds in the 'one living room', all ripped, changed rooms 3 times and still the same. No wardrobes, and the 'power shower' was like having a shower in the street, kept up all night by the trraffic on the busy dual carrigeways.
Food was just edible, the 'restaraunt' , more like a truck stop cafe,
staff were very ignorant and unhelpful.
If you stay here then I pity you.

Room Tip: Do not book this one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear JC

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We welcome all feedback from our guests be it positive or negative and it is abundantly clear on this occasion that we failed to meet your expectations and for that I apologise most sincerely.

I will personally speak to my housekeeping and kitchen team as this is clearly unacceptable and has obviously given you the wrong impression we aim to strive for.

I have located the sofa bed you have photographed and removed it from the premises the damage should have been reported to me by my team so that no guest could of experienced this poor standard of quality.

Should you wish to discuss your stay with me personally please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 01922 639100 or alternatively by email on jason.morgan@rezidorparkinn.com so that I can have the opportunity to make ammends for the poor experience you have encountered.

Kind regards

Jason Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    147
    115
    49
    40
See reviews for
113
95
20
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

After reading many of the reviews for this hotel, i had concerns,,,
I bought this as a Groupon deal and have to say was VERY IMPRESSED!!!
We were met by friendly staff who were keen to help.
The rooms were clean and modern, as was the Hotel as a whole.
The breakfast was help yourself and plentiful, from full cooked to fresh fruit and pastries and the evening meal was beautiful.
Yes it is located in an industrial park and right next to Walsall Stadium, and a large retail park but this just means easy transport access.
The Hotel is in effect a travel lodge ,,,,, designed for stop overs and not long stays.(so who need wardrobes??)
I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disney999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor we were slightly perturbed that it wasn't going to be a pleasant experience but, having booked it as part of a Groupon at minimal cost and with free Cadbury World tickets included, we decided to give it a go.

Upon arrival, the carpark was reassuringly busy and well lit (we had read concerns from over travellers over the safety and security of parking facilities but there was no need to be worried) and we were checked in speedily and efficiently by helpful staff.

The room was what you would expect from a Park Inn on the edge of a big city. It was clean, functional and comfortable; certainly not luxurious by anybody's standards but for the money paid, certainly nothing to moan about at all. It could probably do with a refit at some stage in the future but for now, it was perfectly adequate for our needs.

Dinner was included and again we were plesantly surprised at the quality of food, helpfulness of the staff and speed at which it was delivered. Although not full, the hotel was quite busy but we didn't feel that this impacted upon the service offered.

As we were at the back of the hotel, we did get a 'droaning' sound from the air conditioning units but nothing that kept us awake. The view wasn't great either - the back of Walsall football club - but we didn't expect anything different so again, nothing to moan about really.

Breakfast the next morning was also included and was good. A cooked breakfast of our choice along with cereal, toast, juice and tea and coffee that were unlimited. After we were checked out by another friendly member of staff we were ideally placed to continue our journey up the motorway, feeling refreshed and glad that we hadn't cancelled the hotel based upon the reviews we had read here.

The moral of this story is that this is a mid-range, edge-of-motorway hotel and is not designed to be a luxury stop-over or an expensive getaway and I sometimes wonder what people are looking for when they book a budget hotel. It was clean, the staff were helpful and the food was nice. We would stay here again as it is convenient for the places we travel to regularly. It is what it is people!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milk_no_sugar_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Horrible, just horrible! room is dirty & SO SMALL! not even a wardrobe to hang your clothes in, there is a pole on the wall! Food was not nice, had to wait 30mins for a seat in the restaraunt. staff are not nice! only plus side is the shower! The breakfast is HIDEOUS! Please do not stay here, please!!!

Room Tip: Hideous rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Hollie B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We welcome all feedback from our guests be it positive or negative and it is abundantly clear on this occasion in July 2011 that we failed to meet your expectations and for that I apologise most sincerely

I have addressed your points regarding the cleanliness of your room & service in the restaurant with my team, many of whom have joined the hotel in recent months.

We continue to work hard at improving our service standards at the hotel and truly believe good progress has been made since your stay last summer.

Should you wish to discuss your stay with me personally then by all means do not hesitate to contact me directly on 01922 639100 or alternatively by email on jason.morgan@rezidorparkinn.com


Kind regards

Jason Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Walsall hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed here as part of a groupon deal that included tickets to Cadbury World. The rooms were clean and tidy and both the evening meal and English breakfast were very good indeed. The quality of the food far exceeded our expectations so well done Park Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandHelen_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Mark & Helen

Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that our quality of food exceeded your expectations and hope to welcome you again at the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Jason Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed here using a Groupon voucher which made it fabulous value for money. Hotel is literally opposite 'Bescot' train station which will take you into central Birmingham in 25 minutes for £3.40 return per adult! Shopping is great and we found that by the time we got back to the hotel at around 8pm, we had dinner and was ready for bed. Hotel is one of the few which offers plenty of free parking. It is situated right next to Walsall Stadium which I guess is great if you are going to a match etc. Also next to the hotel is McDonalds and a few big retail shops should you wish to kill some time.

Hotel is right on the M6 so easily found without trailing through a city centre. Hotel is on an industrial type area so if you are looking for luxury location or town centre this is probably not the place for you.

I've rated the location of this hotel high as it suited out needs ie out of the city, free parking, train into the city for shopping, on the motorway and easy to find.

Dinner at the hotel was mediocre. If it hadn't have been included in the Groupon price I'll be honest and say I would have complained. Drinks weren't included but very reasonable to say it's a hotel bar. Hotel was very quiet (we were the only people in the restaurant) but service was quite slow. It's worth noting though that this hotel is basically a Travelodge so you aren't going to get 5 star dining!

The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern-ish. We stayed in room 112 and the air-conditioning was noisy outside. However this did not disturb us as we were so tired from shopping but if you have kids or are a light sleeper, it might be a different story. The sofa bed was out and already made up which wasn't great as it took up loads of room and blocked the window. Plus we had booked a double room not a family room. The sofa bed itself looked like it had seen better days but we just left it down and watched TV from the main bed which was very comfortable. Tea and coffee was provided which was a nice touch. Shower was nice and a walk in type (like a wetroom). Quite spacious and nice hot water.

The complimentary breakfast was good. There weren't enough guests for them to do an all you can eat buffet but we just ordered a full English and it was cooked from fresh. There were also yogurts and cereals available along with toast etc.

Included in the Groupon hotel price was entry tickets to Cadbury World (usually £14.25 per adult). It's about 30 minutes drive from the hotel but it involves driving through Birmingham though so remember to account for traffic.

All in all this was a good value and enjoyable stay. Staff were very friendly and this hotel provided everything we needed for a shopping/local attractions type overnight break. If you are looking for a clean Travelodge equivalent then fine but if you are used to luxury hotels then I'd suggest you stay at the Malmaison in the City for about £300 per night - You get what you pay for!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the M6. It didn't bother us but it may get noisy for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahL-and-DaveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Sarah & Dave

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I was pleased to read overall you enjoyed your stay and would return to the hotel again in the future and that you deemed your stay fabulous value for money.
I was disappointed to read you did not enjoy your evening meal and that service was slow. I have addressed this with my team and highlighted the importance of a consistent standard of service & food quality regardless of how busy or quiet the hotel is.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Jason Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed here whilst at a Christmas party at the football stadium next door. Check in was easy, car park was good, public areas clean and the rooms a good size.

We did have a view of the M6 but to be honest the place overall was pretty good value for money. It was however, the only place we stayed in that had laminate floors in the bedrooms. This could have made it cold, but the room came equipped with a good functioning a/c unit.

Wouldn't need to stay here again, but would stay in another park inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninjakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Ninjakitty

Thank you very much indeed for your review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations.

Kind regards

Jason Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walsall
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Walsall Town Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
4.7 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
3.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall

Property: Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
Address: Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall Bescot Crescent, Walsall WS1 4SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall grants easy access to M6 motorway. Whether you are in the Birmingham area for an event at Banks's Stadium, an excursion to Cadbury World or just an overnight stay, you'll find inviting accommodation at the Park Inn. This well-located Walsall hotel is just off the M6 motorway, and it lies within walking distance of the Bescot train station. Choose from among 120 contemporary rooms, which include Family Rooms with interconnecting options. Travellers can dine on site at the convenient Hub Restaurant, and the modern yet casual Hub Bar and Lounge is perfect for unwinding with a drink. With complimentary access to the in-house fitness centre, it's easy to maintain your exercise regimen while travelling. The Park Inn also boasts a versatile meeting room, and our working partnership with Banks's Stadium creates plentiful event options for impressive gatherings. Only 14.5 Kilometres from the Birmingham city centre, this Walsall hotel is located off the M6 motorway at junction 9. Family fun abounds at nearby attractions such as Cadbury World and West Midland Safari Park. All 120 contemporary guest rooms feature niceties like LCD televisions and power showers. Our casual dining venue, Hub Restaurant, serves local and international favourites. Mingle with fellow guests at the sleek Hub Bar and Lounge. The 24-hour fitness centre houses ample equipment for an effective workout. Complimentary car parking and 24-hour reception make travel to Walsall hassle free. The hotel features a meeting facility that can accommodate 30 delegates, while our partnership with Banks's Stadium provides an additional 20 event rooms from which to choose. Free WiFi available in guest rooms and all public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Birmingham Walsall Hotel Walsall
Park Inn Walsall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing