We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Stay - Wonderful Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyndon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyndon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Walsall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
usa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Great Stay – Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

I stayed at the Lyndon House for business and did not pick the hotel. Yet, I found after the long trek from the US to Walsall that the beds were just perfect for resting my weary body, the rooms spacious and the staff incredible. In fact, I felt that the staff went out of there way for us – I’ve never gotten a call informing me that I’ve slept in and if I wanted breakfast that I’d better get down ASAP!

Which takes me to the food. Fabulous! Portions were just right and everything was super tasty. I will that I could have squeezed in one or two more meals. Friday night down at the pub seemed to be a great mix with all the locals, and was quite lively.

The hotel is within walking distance of grocers, restaurants and shopping. So if you have a little down time – I would recommend you get out and explore.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quan_campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    27
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
19
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Corridors smelled like a tramps toilet, linen marked, windows wouldn’t stay open and threatened to chop off head, WC took 10 minutes to fill (noisily), shower pressure just a dribble, wallpaper peeling, cupboards full of building rubble and junk (really!), TV pre-dated Baird … but staff were friendly.

Not quite like the photos on the web page.

Won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you commit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tralling_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

My friend and I were travelling up to chester for a couple of days away and stayed here to break up the journey. From the minute we walked in the door we were made to feel like long lost friends. The room was clean and full of charm. The owners were delightful and hospitable and the entertainment team were the best. There was the opportunity to purchase tickets to the tribute band playing in the conservatory which included a basket meal at a bargain price. After the tribute band had finished there was a disco which was opened to the public. There was also a nightclub which was a lot of fun and due to the position was inaudible from our bedroom. Breakfast the next day was exactly what you would wish for. We had an amazing time and this turned out to be one of the best bits from our break. We'll be back for more!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy-n-Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

I was trying to decide between a Travelodge and a Holiday Inn (with a sinking heart) when I thought I'd look on Trip Advisor and check out any alternatives in the area, and I'm really glad I did. Nice old building, comfortable and very clean room, a bit of character and really friendly staff. In the centre of Walsall and therefore well connected to trains and bus services etc. The food in the pub restaurant isn't amazing and the breakfast room wasn't as clean as the rest of the place, but breakfast was good and overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 09florence09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, Wales
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

I have stayed at this hotel on and off over the past four years. Unlike the big chains, each room is individual and bursting with character. The bar is like an old fashioned pub with lots of locals and businessmen frequenting it, perhaps because it has at least five real ales always on tap and the friendliest barmaids around. It offers great value food and the breakfast (cooked to order) is outstanding and sets you up for the day.
Coming back is like visiting an old friend and, if you want it, you will always have good company and not feel on your own. The owner and his staff have it spot on. The only problem is that once you have stayed here all other hotels seem second rate.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigPete60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

Have stayed here twice now and on both occasions found everything to be tip top,the place has its own character the bar is like a good old fashioned pub the rooms are good ,clean well equiped,with their own character,a strange eccentric hotel but all in all excellent,breakfast is cooked to order and outstanding
Walsall is a place I would only visit on business and is not a lot to shout about but this hotel is a gem

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walsall hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Walsall Town Centre Hotel
3.6 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beverley Hotel
Beverley Hotel
#9 of 11 in Walsall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Walsall (M6, J10) Hotel
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndon House Hotel

Property: Lyndon House Hotel
Address: 9-10 Upper Rushall Street, Walsall WS1 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Walsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyndon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lyndon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing