We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super value why the whiners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Walsall
S.E. England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Super value why the whiners”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Amazing deal £71.00 dinner bed and breakfast. Food in restaurant very good for the amazing price whether in the deal or not. Yes the floor boards creak but the hotel was built in 1907 - wouldn't you creak if you were that age! Staff very friendly and service ok, a bit slow but there is a large coach party and a wedding going on - so all in all not too bad at all. Walsall may not be on the list of places to visit but if passing through area why not break your stop here. Room 216 is very large, flat screen tv which lounge and bedroom area. Go on what are you missing for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philthebandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM-Talash, Manager at Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you Phil for your recent rerview. Your comments are really appreciated by the team at the Barons Court who are all eager to please. The Flat screen TV's are a recent addition so I am happy that you were able to make use of it. Thanks again for the kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Barons Court in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    151
    110
    77
    61
See reviews for
112
133
29
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Arrived in the middle of a wedding party, guy on reception quickly allocated our room and explained where everything was. Lovely big spotless room, shower was heaven with lots of hot water, plenty of clean fluffy towels. Comfy bed, tv a bit outdated but the picture was great, wifi was a bit hit and miss but that wasnt a big problem. Great nights sleep, breakfast was great, no complaints there, staff were attentive topping up tea and coffee when we asked. Was very impressed to see outside the main entrance that the parking spaces where for ladies parking only, fantastic idea. Overall, i cannot find one thing to complain about, i read the reviews before i booked and really cannot see what the problem was on some of there reviews. Would definitely stay again if we were in the area. Thank you for a fantastic stay x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM-Talash, Manager at Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Mary, Thank you for completing your recent review. On behalf of the entire team at the Barons Court your comments are really appreciated. I do hope you consider the hotel once again when you are next in the area. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stourport,england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beware! This Hotel is happy to maintain poor standards. We had 3 rooms on an overnight stay. 2 were very poor 1 was a little better. TV reception was awful, carpets dirty, lights not working, loud disco kept us awake well into the early hours of the morning and only blinds to keep out the midsummer light! Reception staff were totally indifferent, they must have heard all our complaints many times before. Just very surprised that Best Western allow this poor standard hotel to use their brand.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
3 Thank Louvain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM-Talash, Manager at Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies for the difficulties experienced. Your comments have been circulated to the departments highlighted where improvements will be made. We have today completed an upgrade to both the TV signal and installed 32'' flat screen televisions in the majority of our bedrooms. We continue also to upgrade the facilities in the bedrooms which wil improve the overall guest experience. I am sorry thet we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Walsall hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Little disappointed given this is a Best Western group hotel, as their hotels are normally of a good quality with friendly helpful staff. Stayed for one night booked it because of convenience to location. Rooms were on third floor and obviously only used when full. One room had an old fashioned tv with distorted colour issues and the other room had a problem with the TV, a dirty stained carpet and bulbs missing from room lamps. Reported to a gentleman on reception who was disinterested in our comments. No bulbs were replaced in our absence that evening.

We booked based on a good location to where we were visiting and price, however we should have gone to the travelodge or premier inn at the motorway jct as we would have probably had a better experience. And if you do encounter issues in those chains we have generally found better service or at least someone who was interested in their guests. Poor.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM-Talash, General Manager at Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Pam, Please accept my personal apologies for the difficulties experienced. I am also very sorry that the matters highlighted in your feedback could not be resolved whilst you were at the hotel, which would normally be the case. May I also confirm that 32" flat screen televisions are being installed shortly. Together with an upgrade to the system will enable the full range of freeview TV to be enjoyed by guests at the Barons Court. I do hope you consider a future stay at the hotel so that we can prove to you that your most recent stay does not offer a true reflection on the service and facilities available. My apologies once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

On a business trip alone so went for the Dinner B&B deal which was a good price - I booked late and the deal had gone from the website but when I called direct the receptionist was very helpful and booked straight away.
A little out of the way but a reasonable looking place inside - clean though somewhat tortuous probably due to many extensions of the original building -my room was large but a long walk.
TV in room was a small old CRT model with poor signal, bed spongy but everything else OK.
Dinner was OK - generous portions reasonable flavours - get a table near the window as the restaurant interior was very hot.
Breakfast was OK too

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryParad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walsall
2.1 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
5.9 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Beverley Hotel
Beverley Hotel
#10 of 13 in Walsall
121 reviews
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
9.1 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wolverhampton
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
Address: Walsall Road, Walsall WS9 9AH, England (Formerly Menzies Baron's Court)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Baron`s Court Hotel Walsall
Menzies Barons Court Walsall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing