We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value great staff just little things let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Walsall
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    154
    110
    77
    62
See reviews for
114
134
29
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here on an overnight stop in July 2014 when the weather was hot. I was extremely disappointed in the hotel. We could not get into our room the chubb was down on the door. While the manager came and let us in - his explanation was that the previous guests had dropped the snib. This implies that the room was not serviced. The shower was worn and only scalding hot water came out. I reported this but may as well have talked to a brick wall. Service was very slow with no real system for serving tables and they could not cope with two early morning coach parties. The breakfast buffet kept running out and by the time things were replenished they were left to waste. Not an establishment I would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms are poorly ventilated but dbeds are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here last weekend on a national coach trip, found the room very warm on arrival and the wallpaper ripped in one or two places. That said once the window had been open for a while the room was pleasant, very clean and well equipped with large comfortable bed, hairdryer, tea and coffee ( and biscuits) and a flat screen TV with full freeview. The staff were all very friendly and efficient and the food we had was tasty and well presented. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Our 2nd floor room was quiet and not as hot as the 3rd floor ( on a hot summers day)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n1ckyn00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM-Talash, General Manager at Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for completing your recent review. Your kind comments are appreciated and have been circulated. The TV's are a recent addition and have been received wery well. The maintenance issue highlighted is being addressed. The team were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

To be absolutely fair I would have to say that this Hotel was way better than I expected. It came as part of a package on a weekend away with National Holidays to Ironbridge and Blisthill museum (superb).Rooms were clean, comfortable and, if anything, too warm.Staff pleasant and helpful, bar prices not much dearer than the pub across the way, although choice of drinks a bit limited.Food was of good quality,although I must comment on the Salmon fishcake I had - I always understood that they were supposed to contain Salmon, any fish in the one I had was very hard to spot! Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice and nice and hot.
On the whole, very good at doing what it did, but falling short of excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wombat447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM-Talash, General Manager at Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Contructive feedback is always welcomed and appreciated. I am sorry that the Salmon Fishcake was not to your liking. I have passed your feedback to the Head Chef. It is good to hear that overall you were pleased with your stay. We will endevour however to achieve the "excellent" referred to in your review. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

When you 1st walk into the hotel it looks lovely, nice reception are and good looking bar area,,,,,,,,,,,DO NOT BE FOOLED!!! The minute I started walking up the stair to my room (lift looked about 100 years old and very dodgy so I avoided it) the place changed. The carpets were filthy and had not been hoovered for a while, the paintwork was dingy and the corridors dark.
The room was basic with beige thin curtains that kept no light out at all, theres no aircon and the room was boiling but I couldn't have the window open due to a horrible stench of sewerage coming from outside.
The shower is one with mixer taps and after spending over 10 mins trying to get the water to not scald or freeze me I gave up and had to have a bath instead.
TV only had 3 working channels which all looked like they were in snowstorms and were in no particular order.
Very, very noisy as I could hear the person above me when they moved, went the loo or had a bath/shower and could hear everything from the room next door. I was knackered by the end of the week!!!
Breakfast food was okay but the evening meals I had were not nice at all (apart from the salad which you cant really go wrong with). I had steak which was 50% fat, a 'fillet' of fish that had more bones in it than the local cemetery, a chicken 'fillet' with a bone in it and the chorizo mousse was just chopped up chorizo...nothing 'moussy' about it at all accompanied by cremated bacon. On the plus side I lost some weight!!
AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL

Room Tip: choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxinebeebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Walsall hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here Saturday night as part of National Holiday trip, arrived in middle of wedding reception, but prompt and efficient service from reception staff ensured a quick and trouble free check in. Great room, yes, not ultra modern but contained everything you could want, even decent biscuits!! Dinner was a very good standard, my mouth is watering at the thought of it! Great sleep, comfy bed. We emailed the hotel 2 days before and asked for a quiet room which is exactly what we
got. The breakfast also was a good standard, everything you could want. I can't understand the negative reviews on here, unless the people are professional moaners! Don't be put off folks, a great friendly hotel in which to lay your head. Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 38Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM-Talash, General Manager at Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Brenda, Thank you for your recent review. The team here at the hotel would all like to convey their appreciation also. I know that they all enjoyed hosting your group and we are all pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.E. England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Amazing deal £71.00 dinner bed and breakfast. Food in restaurant very good for the amazing price whether in the deal or not. Yes the floor boards creak but the hotel was built in 1907 - wouldn't you creak if you were that age! Staff very friendly and service ok, a bit slow but there is a large coach party and a wedding going on - so all in all not too bad at all. Walsall may not be on the list of places to visit but if passing through area why not break your stop here. Room 216 is very large, flat screen tv which lounge and bedroom area. Go on what are you missing for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philthebandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM-Talash, Manager at Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you Phil for your recent rerview. Your comments are really appreciated by the team at the Barons Court who are all eager to please. The Flat screen TV's are a recent addition so I am happy that you were able to make use of it. Thanks again for the kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Barons Court in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walsall
2.1 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Beverley Hotel
Beverley Hotel
#10 of 13 in Walsall
128 reviews
9.1 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wolverhampton
453 reviews
5.9 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
Address: Walsall Road, Walsall WS9 9AH, England (Formerly Menzies Baron's Court)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Baron`s Court Hotel Walsall
Menzies Barons Court Walsall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing