We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad could be a lot better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Walsall
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Could do a lot better staff wise especially male reception who gave the impression that you were something he had trodden in and had to get rid of as soon as possible. Rooms at extreme end of extension extremely hot. Breakfast top up virtually non existant unless prepared to wait, in our case at least 30 minutes by which time other items had run out.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
3  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I only stayed her because its part of the Best Western group. But must say its one of the worst I ever stayed at.
The hotel needs more staff and a maintenance person.
On my first night I wanted to order a room service meal, but the telephone in my room was not working, so I walked the long walk down to reception to report that the phone wasn't working in Room 231.
There was nobody on reception, but I could hear someone in the back room, there was no bell to gain attention so I shouted 'Hello' several times, eventually a young girl, not in uniform, came out. When I explained that the telephone in my room was not working and that I wanted to place a room service order, she didn't apologise or ask for further details regarding the broken phone, she just said 'You are better ordering in the bar!' I asked her to take my order and gave it to her. She took my order but did not mention the broken phone. I ordered an omelette with an extra side salad.

The meal was brought up and included a salad that was listed as coming with the meal plus an extra large side salad of lettuce, peppers, onions. tomatoes and a dressing.

On my second night, the phone had not been fixed, no attempt had been made to fix it. So I again walked to reception and with nobody present, decided to go to the bar to order for the same meal; an omelette with an extra side salad. However when this was delivered it contained NO salad with the Omelette and a small extra salad that was just peppers, onions and tomatoes, very small and disappointing!

No attempt was made to fix the phone in my room, the poor barman was run ragged and had to take orders and serve at the bar, serve in the restaurant and deliver room service orders.

In conclusion the hotel needs to repair reported faults quickly and employ some extra staff, as people were always left waiting for service and the reception was often unmanned.

I also asked for a fan in my room on arrival, the fact that none were available was reported to me by the poor barman when he delivered my room service order.

Room Tip: Ask for one not too far away, as the walk to reception is quite a trek, when the small lift is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mhancorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Would like to say a big Thank You to The Barons Court Team who helped make my daughters wedding very special nothing was to much trouble & the food was amazing & cooked to perfection very well done to all of you xxx

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank debanddave2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The traditional look of this hotel would appeal to some, but it's not for me, especially when it is a reflection of the tired looking bedroom furnishing.

Firstly, on the positive side the bedroom was spacious, actually having a separate bedroom and, in fact, a separate area with wardrobes and dressing table. Also, the bathroom did have a modern look to it.

However, unfortunately, I like my hotels rooms to be modern looking, and I was never comfortable in the room. I would say the food is somewhere between 2-3 star also.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage try to avoid the top floor - the life doesn't go all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here as an overnight with National Holidays. The room was comfortable and a decent size with flat screen TV (plenty channels), tea and coffee was provided on a sort of slide out tray and even included biscuits. The bathroom was clean and had a bath, although we could not work out how to fill it as the water seemed to be directly attached to the shower, water very hot. The evening meal and breakfast was very good quality and the staff were very pleasant. The only down side was the noise from the other rooms, creaky floors from above, (we were on the first floor) but then the building is quite old so it was to be expected. Worth staying here if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeBy132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Have enjoyed Sunday Lunch here a few times and must say excellent value. Service is good, setting comparable to an expensive restaurant yet staff make you feel welcome and homely. For the price it is really good value in comparison to many Sunday lunches. Ok, the hotel is not in a great setting but it is easily accessible

Stayed: August 2014
Thank monicalorenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Baron Court this weekend for a wedding. This was our 3rd time we had stayed their over the past 6 or so years. But it will definitely be our last. We had the smallest double room we have ever stayed in, (room 221) room was shabby, very hot and not particularly clean. Bathroom was so small you could wash whilst sat in the loo is you wanted to. We had to hang our cloths outside the wardrobe as they smelt musty if hung inside it. We were on the 2nd floor and were woken early hours (-around. 2 in the morning both mornings) with the sounds from the room above, they were obviously having a good time, (being quite vocal and exercising the bed springs)and may as well have been in our room, it was that loud and embarrassing. Breakfast was ok, but they seemed to run out of food and you had to wait for your full English. Only positive was the night batman who kept the bar open for us on sat night. Cheers. Definitely only a budget hotel and would rather find a premier inn for future visits. So don't expect much from your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caldewtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walsall hotels
2.1 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
2.4 mi away
Beverley Hotel
Beverley Hotel
#10 of 12 in Walsall
149 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
4.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
7.3 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherton
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel

Address: Walsall Road, Walsall WS9 9AH, England (Formerly Menzies Baron's Court)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range: £39 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Baron`s Court Hotel Walsall
Menzies Barons Court Walsall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing