We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Walsall
West midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Carpet is filthy and the rooms are scruffy, with dirty curtains wallpaper falling off mould on the walls, and black grime round the bath and taps. Communal area is ok but the rooms leave a lot to be desired!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisamills123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    27
    16
    24
    46
See reviews for
31
28
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
YORKSHIRE
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Its not as bad as some make out.The rooms are usually clean the bar is cheap in the week food is good.I've stayed here many times over the past 10 years when working in the area.If you want a high class hotel go pay the top price elsewhere .Its only a short walk in to Walsall with its vast selection of curry houses and bars too

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CASTLEFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The only positive things I can say about this place are that it had free wifi, and that it was cheap. The whole place is shabby and dated; much of it is dirty; the bathroom was tiny with no bath and the towels were frayed around the edges - the shower needed a damn good clean and there was unflushed urine in the toilet when we arrived; the beds were very old, dirty and uncomfortable - there were stains on all of the bedding; the staff were generally friendly but not especially helpful; the television in our room didn't work and we were told we could move rooms to get a working one if we really wanted; and to top it all off, at breakfast all of the crockery was filthy. Please don't do what we did and think "Oh well, I'm sure it can't be that bad". It is. There's a reason this place is rated 11th out of 11 hotels in the town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrisMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Walsall hotels

Walsall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

After experiencing a bad stay the first time round, I went back with my partner under a last minute booking for somewhere near just in case of any emergency at home. I must say that the service has Imoroved a great deal and The staff have certainly made the effort to greet and welcome their valuable customers. The room they had given me was lovely with a sky light. Nice tidy clean room in general. Even the bath room was clean too. So im very pleased with the overall experience the second time round. Television was playing all the channels with a working remote. Cant say a single bad thing if im truly honest. Looking forward to staying here again sometime in the near future.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Ok so when I first came here I wasn't too impressed with the decor and a smell which reminded me of an old people's home. As I entered the room which I was staying the night I noticed how bad the carpets were. They had stains left right and centre. It just made me feel really dirty. I had also noticed a reddish stain on the bed sheets. The staff were not so helpful. I know what's expected from a trade or a company as work for the local government, I know what's required from a consumer's perspective. I'm deeply saddened but how low quality this hotel really is. No shelters or smoking facilities either.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Raj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My mum sadly passed away just before Christmas and we held the wake at the County. Having had several 'do's' there in the past we decided we would go again and it did not disappoint. Plenty of food and it was lovely. The staff were very attentive and met us at the door to guide us to the room.

Highly recommend it

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachetjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I enjoyed a two night stay at this hotel which a thought was excellent value for money. I paid £30 per night for a single room and was given a free up-grade to a double.
The staff are friendly, room was clean and well equipped with flat screen tv, hair drier (not that I need it), trouser press and good bathroom.
Will be using again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walsall hotels
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
1.2 mi away
Beverley Hotel
Beverley Hotel
#10 of 13 in Walsall
120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
3.5 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: 45 Birmingham Road, Walsall WS1 2NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The County Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Walsall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing