We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Awful Cafe..”

Walsall Leather Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Walsall Leather Museum is a welcoming and friendly attraction housed in a restored Victorian factory building. We offer a fascinating insight into the story of Walsall's famous leatherworking trade. There are regular guided ours and demonstrations of leather crafts, and lively programme of events and activities throughout the year, including changing exhibitions. Beautiful gardens planted with traditional tanning trees and shrubs. The museum has an excellent shop specialising in Walsall-made leathergoods.
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Took the kids to the Leather Museum, Friendly staff and lovely Lady helping us make Key rings. As we were very hungry, we were looking forward to a tasty lunch! To much discuss, i have never in my life been served food in this way, The chicken baguette was under cooked, and looked like it had been sat on, the salad garnish was weeks old and very very slimy! The kids meals were also a disgrace, the baked beans had been microwaved that long they were stuck together and rock hard! No apology from the lady chef! Such a shame this beautiful Museum was let down in this way! NOT ACCEPTABLE.

3  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leathermuseum, Public Relations Manager at Walsall Leather Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Obviously we are pleased that you enjoyed the Museum itself and that you found our staff friendly. However I am so sorry that you had such a bad experience in our cafe. Your comments are extremely valuable to us and I will be passing them straight onto Walsall College who run the franchise. The service you received is unacceptable and I have to say, not typical. But we will be discussing this with the college to ensure that this does not happen again. I hope it will not put you off visiting the Museum in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"key ring"
in 25 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 53 reviews
"guided tour"
in 20 reviews
"local history"
in 15 reviews
"make your own"
in 7 reviews
"interesting place to visit"
in 7 reviews
"local industry"
in 6 reviews
"fascinating insight"
in 7 reviews
"gift shop"
in 11 reviews
"free entry"
in 15 reviews
"wings"
in 18 reviews
"school holidays"
in 9 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 11 reviews
"little gem"
in 13 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 18 reviews
"answer any questions"
in 5 reviews
"for sale"
in 6 reviews
Filter

414 - 418 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

I found a car park virtually next door to the museum(,£2 for 3 hours)the reception/shop was very well laid out with ample space.The receptionist was very friendly.the museum shows all aspects of the leather processing stages,then it goes on to show the various,products,and tools used to produce the finished articles.There is far more than making saddles.The guide is a retired leather worker,he is passionate about his trade,and owing to his vast knowledge of all aspects of the
industry he can answer any questions you may throw at him.Entrance is free,but I think you
would be very mean not to make a donation(envelopes available at reception).

Thank ivor j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leathermuseum, Public Relations Manager at Walsall Leather Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. Visitor's reviews are worth more than any publicity we put out ourselves, so thank you for taking the time. We are extremely lucky to be so well located for parking. it may be worth pointing out that it only costs £3 for the whole day which may be useful for visitors wishing combine a visit to the Leather Museum, the New Art Gallery and Walsall Museum. All three are free admission but you are quite correct, donations are always welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

You can easily spend a couple of hours here looking at the history of the leather trade in Walsall. As you go in (its free to visit) you go through a shop with local leather goods on sale (often they have a sale on). The premises are a former leather works with lots of exhibits. Its a nice place to pop in if your in Walsall shopping as its only across from the town centre. Also the museum a has a nice cafe.

Thank rfj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leathermuseum, Public Relations Manager at Walsall Leather Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

What a lovely way to start the year off - a lovely review! Our best advert are our happy visitors so thank you for taking the time to submit your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Lovely staff and very interesting museum. Parking is just across the road (there is a charge). Wanted to stay for longer but had a meeting to attend. Will definitely return.

Thank StevePJ35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leathermuseum, Public Relations Manager at Walsall Leather Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

I'm so glad to hear that you had a lovely visit to the Museum and found it interesting and the staff friendly. It is really helpful to us having a car park so close (and even better now that the charges have been reduced!). I hope that you will be able to visit us again in the future when you have more time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

The guides at the museum are interesting and informative.
There are handmade locally produced leather goods for sale in the museum shop and an excellent cafe.
During school holidays there are free activities arranged for children.

Thank LClark267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leathermuseum, Public Relations Manager at Walsall Leather Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

It's great to hear that you enjoyed talking to our guides - they really are our biggest asset . We're really lucky too with our shop that we are able to offer top quality Walsall made leathergoods which are normally found in the top stores around the world. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walsall Leather Museum also viewed

 

Been to Walsall Leather Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing