We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food not particularly thrilling, lovely view of golf course.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calderfields Golf & Country Club

Calderfields Golf & Country Club
Attraction details
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Food not particularly thrilling, lovely view of golf course.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Loved the view, food was uninteresting, staff pleasant.golf course and views are beautiful, wouldn't, think you were that close to a busy town

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    6
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Xsunday lunch @caulderfields country club”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We booked a table for Sunday lunch for 1:3pm we arrived at 1:15 to be told our table would not be ready for about 30mins. We eventually got our table at. 2p.m . We then had to join a massive queue of people waiting for a carvery. We didn't get our meal until 2:45 pm. We were told that they had been very busy with people coming in off the street, WITHOUT a booking, and that was why we had to wait for a table and queue for so long. WHAT IS THE POINT OF BOOKING IF THEY ALLOW PEOPLE WITHOUT A BOOKING TO TAKE PRECIDENCE OVER THOSE WHO HAVE! It wouldn't have been so bad if they had had a separate carvery queue for those with bookings, but to have to wait in line for those without a booking was very gauling indeed. We were told it was unusual but we would never go there again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Been quite a few times for different occasions, and honestly there has been something wrong each time.. and not little things.. like quite big ones. One time we went and it was my birthday, my meal was the last to be brought out and that was over 20 minutes, so half the people had finished eating, also everytime they seem to not have something, so my sister ordered gammon and pineapple because she loves the combination and then came over ages after just before it should of been brought out to tell her they had no gammon, so that ruined the idea of having gammon and pineapple. Staff are okay, need to smile more, never much atmosphere, unless at a party which they have always been fine in all honesty but bit pricey for what the food is. For cutting my cake they asked for a stupid amount of money, something like £1 pound a slice, when we have brought the cake in ourselves, and they are charging for them to cut it. I've also heard they charge you to bring your own food if you want to have a buffet when having a party at the venue.. which is cheeky considering your paying for everything else, it was a stupid amount too. If it wasn't for other people wanting to go I wouldn't of gone back to be honest. But in all fairness, the view of the golf course in the summer is beautiful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MissEStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, pleasant service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I used to drive vintage wedding cars and took many weddings to this venue. Everyone always reported having a good meal and pleasant service.
I also went to my sisters birthday party here and had an excellent meal and again with good service.
I am not a golfer so I cannot comment on the golf course.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good value Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Been to Calderfields several times recently (as a couple & with family including young children) for weekday and a Sunday lunch. Normal weekday lunch is great value - bar food prices in a restaurant setting. Good varied menu. Food well presented and cooked fresh to order. Normally not a big fan of carvery meals but Calderfields is the exception that proves the rule! The Sunday carvery is good - always a decent meat selection served by the chef and above all, a fresh vegetable selection that does not appear to have been put out the day before! Have had Sunday lunch on several occasions over the past few months & have not yet encountered the carvery scourge of long prepared stewed vegetables!
Great outlook over the golf course from the conservatory setting of the restaurant.
Can't comment about the golf course - I don't play!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil187059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calderfields Golf & Country Club also viewed

Walsall, West Midlands
Walsall, West Midlands
 
Walsall, West Midlands
 

Been to Calderfields Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing