We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New years eve”

Calderfields Golf & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New years eve”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Had a great night atmosphere brilliant food very good but not the variety you had the last couple of years, the only small let down was the average age group was 50 to 60 were a few younger ones but the disco played mainly club music people were dancing before 12 but after that think had enough of this music, some motown would have gone down well with our age group also a bit of cheesy music from 70s a bit of abba and wham wouldn't have gone a miss so next year check the age, the dj is brilliant we have no problem their but his brother did play more varied than just club music
Thanks and a happy new year

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan1951562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    5
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rod Stewart Tribute, and Overnight stay.”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

w
Went to a Rod Stewart tribute night Thursday and what a great night it was. Prior to the entertainment, we had a fantastic three course meal, with lots of choices, served by friendly smiling staff. The food was cooked to perfection. We have been to this venue on several occasions and have always had good service, and this time we decided to treat ourselves by staying overnight in one of the log cabins in the grounds of the golf course. They are absolutely beautiful and overlook the golf course. In the morning there was a little frost on the ground, which made the view even better. The cabins are very comfortable and I would recommend an overnight stay. The full English breakfast in the morning was huge and well prepared. Overall, it was a beautiful break and will certainly be returning in the near future.Oh, and Rod was excellent, wouldn't have known him from the real thing!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnWilliams9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrendously awful service, even the staff were embarressed.”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

How long does it take to get through a carvery meal and an ice cream? 4 hours here. They were busy, but all were prior reservations so that's no excuse. In any case they had more than enough waiting staff. But it was awful!
We went to celebrate some one's baptism so there as part of a group, but we still had to complain to get anywhere.
Food was ok, average food done fairly well. But to be honest what can go wrong with a carvery? No gluten free gravy available. Every item on the deserts menu contained gluten, the best they could offer was two scoops of ice cream....
The icing on the cake was when another member of the party found a lump of metal in their crumble!
I don't like the Toby Carvery very much but it beats this place hands down.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank glutenfreeadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Food not particularly thrilling, lovely view of golf course.”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Loved the view, food was uninteresting, staff pleasant.golf course and views are beautiful, wouldn't, think you were that close to a busy town

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Xsunday lunch @caulderfields country club”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We booked a table for Sunday lunch for 1:3pm we arrived at 1:15 to be told our table would not be ready for about 30mins. We eventually got our table at. 2p.m . We then had to join a massive queue of people waiting for a carvery. We didn't get our meal until 2:45 pm. We were told that they had been very busy with people coming in off the street, WITHOUT a booking, and that was why we had to wait for a table and queue for so long. WHAT IS THE POINT OF BOOKING IF THEY ALLOW PEOPLE WITHOUT A BOOKING TO TAKE PRECIDENCE OVER THOSE WHO HAVE! It wouldn't have been so bad if they had had a separate carvery queue for those with bookings, but to have to wait in line for those without a booking was very gauling indeed. We were told it was unusual but we would never go there again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calderfields Golf & Country Club also viewed

Smethwick, Sandwell
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to Calderfields Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing