We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Imperial Walsall - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Imperial Walsall
Cuisines: British, Pub, American, Bar, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Description: J D Wetherspoon was founded in 1979, when Tim (now our groovy chairman) opened his first pub in north London. We now have over 900 free houses across the UK, stretching as far north as Wick to as far south as Penzance. Our pubs are housed in a variety of buildings, some of which had previously been churches, department stores, theatres and even a fire engine factory! We're also in a lot of airports and train stations across the land - perfect when you are on the move. We're open from 8am for breakfast and serve Italy's favourite coffee - Lavazza. Our full menu is available until 11pm every evening, with our famous Curry Club on a Thursday night, where thousands join us for a great curry and a drink, for an even greater price. We also have Steak Club on a Tuesday and Sunday Club on, well a Sunday so it's the perfect excuse to visit us! Real ale is something with which we're very proud to be associated, we always have a range of ales to choose from, sourcing guest ales from over 600 local breweries every year. We have two annual beer festivals, along with lots of local pub events.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Myself husband and our two children had a meal in the imperial while out shopping in Walsall. I could not believe the value for money we had, I always new wetherspoon pubs was great value but was not expecting the meals to be such generous portions! All our meals we're delicious and I have to say they staff were lovely. We will definitely be going back :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial-JDW, Manager at The Imperial Walsall, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you Claire for taking the time to give us this fantastic feedback, I will ensure that your lovely compliments are passed on to both the front of house and kitchen team. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Architecture at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Myself and brother in law had breakfast here before Walsall beer festival.
I must say wether spoons have done a superb job here keeping all the original features of this former theatre it really is a nice building inside.
The service was very quick and my brother in law said it was one of the best breakfasts he has had in a wether spoons and he works out of town so has visited a lot of pubs in this chain.
Toilets were very clean which is unusual in a city centre pub so all in all a good experience .
Would definitely visit again when in Walsall.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oakley 56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial-JDW, Manager at The Imperial Walsall, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us this fantastic feedback, I am glad you and your brother in law enjoyed your breakfast and your visit to us here at The Imperial. I will ensure that the staff on duty that day are made aware of your compliments. Thank You again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Halk asleep staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

A clean and well laid out restaurant, but we had to wait an age to get servered even though there was not many at bar. On the arrival of the food one order was wrong and had to be sent back. We had to fetch our own sauces and alot of the bottles were nearly if not empty. Will not be using again.

Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial-JDW, Manager at The Imperial Walsall, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
So sorry we didn't meet your expectations on your last visit Andreas, we have recently switched to the new system of bottled sauces from sachets and I will ensure that the team are made aware of the issues you experienced to prevent this from happening again.
I will also find out from the Duty Manager on the day of your visit why you had to wait so long to get served as this is not the standard we expect our guests to receive. I hope that if you reconsider your decision not to use us again, you will see this was an isolated incident and we canand usually offer a much greater service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, England
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely family pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Great value high quality food and drink, friendly staff and fantastic building with a lot of history. Very close to the bus station too which is handy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZombieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial-JDW, Manager at The Imperial Walsall, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, I'm glad you are happy with the service and food on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Imperial Walsall also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing