We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant/Bar service was terrible”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walsall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ramada Encore Birmingham Walsall
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Walsall
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant/Bar service was terrible”
Reviewed 10 October 2006

I stayed in this hotel on a business trip. The hotel itself is fairly pleasant although it is located next to Walsall football club. The rooms are clean and modern but are definitely more appropriate for a 1 night business stay rather than a weekend break hotel. The service in the restaurant however was terrible. We had to wait 15 minutes even to be given a menu (which is fairly limited with few healthy options), then when we ordered we were told it would be a half hour wait so we ordered some starters to keep us going.... they arrived about 50 minutes later. The main course arrived 1 hour after we had ordered - 1 meal arrived then we had to wait another 5-10 minutes for the other two meals. Despite having ordered the same meal from the menu (chicken tikka) 1 of the meals had a completely different colour sauce to the other! We ordered some more drinks during the meal and they took 20 minutes to come. Eventually the manager came over and apologised for the delay and offered us a free drink. Having read some of the other reviews it would seem that we were not the only people to experience the appaulingly slow service. I would not recommend eating in this hotel, find somewhere with a better menu and faster service!

  • Liked — Modern bathroom
  • Disliked — restaurant, service and food
  • Tips/Secrets — don't eat in the hotel restaurant
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank keep_active
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
2
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2006

A new hotel with an impressive website but it was very disappointing. It is on a building site right next (but not easy to find) from the motorway and was very noisy. No one told us about the Sunday morning market which was being set up from 0400. The food service is basic and of poor quality. The tv is difficult to operate and the shower leaked everyehere. No instructions for heating. Very few staff - a poor lodge experience at 4 star prices.

  • Liked — Clean , Modern
  • Disliked — Nothing really worked as it should, tired and marked bed linen, stained pillow
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid. It is a poor quality Lodge at inflated price.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CloudCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2006

A lovely hotel with excellent, friendly, efficiant staff that bent over backwards to please. Far from a B&B ! Good location. I cannot fault this hotel, obviously it is new & the staff are still being trained, but they are doing a wonderfull job. I like the telephone call after arrival to ask if everything is ok. I will definatly stay again.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2006

Business trip and unfortunately (truly) had to stay twice. Its really just a travel lodge that costs more and pretends to be a hotel. Give up and just offer beds. Some of the staff appear to be completely untrained - particularly the waitress. It took 10 minutes to get a bottle of wine and some glasses - we asked for the wine and the full bottle was just handed over and she walked off!! We then asked for a corkscrew and she again walked off and we had to chase her down for glasses. The menu is very basic (burgers, pies, steaks and pasta) and the food was of exceedingly poor quality. They couldn't even deliver a decent steak. The place was always empty (I wonder why!) but service for eveything was always exceedingly slow. Its fairly new so the surroundings are OK and the location is handy but unless all you want is an overpriced travel lodge and have no desire to eat, I'd recommend travelling further and finding somewhere decent (which is what we have done).

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2006

Stayed over one night here atfer a function at the neighbouring Bescot Stadium! Hotel had only been open two weeks when we stayed here! As you would expect for a new hotel everything was in tip top condition. No bath in the room - only a shower - so if you are after a long soak you won't get one here!!
Room really comfortable with lots of up to date electronics!
Didn't have breakfast -think it was just continental and didn't look too inspiring!!
Tip - we stayed on a Saturday night and there is a big busy market at Bescot on a Sunday morning! Didn't disturbe us but more by luck than judgement if you are after a lie in make sure you get a room awat from the crowds!!
Another tip - we booked direct but found out if we'd have waited until a couple of days before could have got room a lot less on the website that offers rooms late!! We were too late to cancel - had to give 24 hrs notice - but worth remembering.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elljaaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walsall hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
4.4 mi away
Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
4.6 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Birmingham Walsall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Birmingham Walsall

Property: Ramada Encore Birmingham Walsall
Address: Bescot Crescent, Walsall WS1 4SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 121
Also Known As:
Park Inn Walsall
Ramada Walsall
Walsall Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing