We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang on.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Walsall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I was booked in to this hotel for three nights while attending an engineering competition in Walsall. First impressions were; excellent location right off junction 10 of the M6, friendly reception staff and very clean room. The service I received was good, the room was spotless every time I came back to it (not that I'm a messy person!) and the breakfast bar wasn't terrible either.
The only things that brought this hotel down slightly were the lack of wifi in the bedrooms (although there as an ethernet connection) and the pricing at the bar. Besides that I had an excellent stay and would recommend it to anyone passing through the Birmingham area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Overnight stop, next to the motorway ( by choice- easy on/off access). Difficult combo and the 'smoking room was a plus ! Clean & comfortable, staff helpful & welcoming. Menu available in hotel with another hotel across the car park offering more varied choice and types of restaurant ( bar food & a la carte) Adjacent rough ground to exercise dog. Disabled room - excellent ( with wetroom, grab rails and shower seat plus wide doors throughout for the wheelchair ) Self service breakie (inc in price ) very good.
No traffic noise in either of our rooms. A plus for me, was the dog friendly room was also a smoking room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank med777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

i love these "new generation" HIX: clean and functional. You know exactly what to expect - which is great for breaking a long journey.

The bed is fine, but i really hate the foam pillows - there again I'm geeky enough to travel with my own when that's a practical course of action. Clean, cleverly designed bathroom.

Some HIX offer free internet: this one doesn't. Breakfast comes free, and for me it's just great - I'm happy with coffee and cereal, so never bother with the rest.

Fifty quid to break a long journey is just about right. More than that - when it's out of my pocket and not work - and i'd probably keep driving.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed just one night as a break in journey. Exactly what expected nice clean impersonal room and fully functioning bathroom, good value and would not hesitate to recommend or to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janetbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Stayed here for the first time on 18th May. Staff were very friendly but as it was very busy there could have been some extra help for the bar. Service was slow as a result, but overall does what it does best. Comfortable, central and quick for business. Can get bar snacks in the evening and very reasonable in case you can't get out. I like this and for someone who arrives late at hotels this helps! Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

well what can i say... I was sitting in the lounge enjoying a quite drink i was suprised to see a rat wonder in through the front door. when i notified the member of staff that was on at the time he told me not to panic as it was a regular occerance and happend nearly every night. i was also dissapointed at the size of the room and the lack of claenliness in the room as i found hairs in the toilet and bed was not even made. after telling the member of staff behind reception my feelings i decided not to stay another night and when over the road to the village hotel instead.

Room Tip: stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james_westfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Unlike a previous reviewer we didn't have any problems with the smell of smoke - was on the 2nd floor - and hating the smell of cigarettes, I would have complained vehemently if we had.

This is right on the motorway so convenience is probably the only reason you'd stay here as it was for us on our way up North. Traffic noise was not a problem - maybe because we faced the front of the hotel.

The rooms were exceptionally clean and twin beds very comfortable. Room and bathroom were nicely decorated. The reception was bright and airy, receptionists cheerful and check in was speedy which we appreciated, arriving at 11pm and just wanting to sleep.

Breakfast was adequate and yes, only hot option was scrambled egg and sausage which wasn't great but there was plenty of other food.

For the price - £45 for the room and breakfast for two, it couldn't have been better for an overnight stop. It was a much higher standard than a Premier Inn I've stayed in at a higher price.

I would stay with Holiday Inn Express UK again.

Room Tip: Great overnight stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exmoorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walsall
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10
0.1 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
1.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
4.5 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#7 of 21 in Wolverhampton
936 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walsall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walsall

Address: Tempus Drive | M6-Jct 10, Walsall WS2 8TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range: £41 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walsall 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS WALSALL where you ll find comfort and convenience, along with friendly service and a great experience. We offer facilities for families and business travellers alike. Why not Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Walsall hotel at M6 JCT10 as we are ideally placed to allow you easy access to the whole of the West Midlands area. With the M6/M5 interchange nearby there are great opportunities to travel further afield. Birmingham City Centre is less than 30 minutes by rail. Venues such as the National Indoor Arena (NIA), International Convention Centre (ICC) and Symphony Hall are all easily accessible to the hotel. Birmingham International Airport (BHX) and National Exhibition Centre (NEC) are only about 25 minutes drive away from the hotel. With 120 free car parking spaces on site you are sure to have a hassle free end to your trip. The Holiday Inn Express Walsall hotel offers high speed Internet access with wifi connection in public areas and meeting rooms. Bedrooms are great for families and business travellers alike. With our luxury power showers you will be refreshed for a busy day ahead. The hotel has a Meet Smart Conference Centre which offers meeting rooms facilities with wifi Internet access. We can also offer our business services centre where email, fax and copying are available for a small charge.SAT NAV POSTCODE WS2 8RL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walsall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walsall Hotel Walsall
Holiday Inn Walsall
Walsall Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing