We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place. Great Value. Impressive and spotlessly clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous place. Great Value. Impressive and spotlessly clean.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Took advantage of the promo Saturday night inclusive of breakfast family rate and we were not disappointed. From arrival to departure the staff were brilliant, immediately accommodating our request for a particular room and explaining the free WiFi.

The room was spotless, especially the bathroom. Tastefully decorated with mood lighting and reading lamps. Soft / Firm pillow choice which were plentiful - no need to ask for extras. Loved the blue low level bathroom lighting for nighttime.

Room is not massive - nor did I expect it to be for the price I paid. It was perfectly adequate, warm, comfortable with Air Conditioning and even Channel 4 movie channels.

I loved the restaurant and the little bar on site. Even sandwiches, drinks and light snacks were available for purchase next to reception.

Full breakfast buffet was lovely. Hot and cold selections with fresh fruit and all the kids favourites.

Check out was as quick and efficient as check in.

I couldn't fault the place. Very impressive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for a 5 star review.


Regards

Claire

Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    173
    76
    22
    14
See reviews for
109
111
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Relaxed easy stay good value staff a nice and very helpful very easy access to this hotel close to motorway plenty of local places to eat.
This is a great addition to hotels for people visiting the Black Country.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again next time you are visiting the area.

Regards

Claire
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend. This is an Express Hotel so we expected that some things would be missing or not as good as a usual Holiday Inn hotel. The hotel was quite noisy with people running down the corridors in the early hours,followed by loud music at 2.00am. Doors appear to slam shut as a default setting unlike Premier Inn doors which have a soft shut mechanism to reduce noise levels. Breakfast was a little bit of a free for all and the food was basic but nice with staff cleaning tables on a regular basis. The rooms were clean but the bed was uncomfortable. The springs had worn on the mattress so no matter where you positioned yourself on the mattress you always rolled into the dip in the middle of the bed. Biggest shock was the television in the room which appeared to be a fifteen year old CRT with just basic channels e.g. BBC1, BBC2, ITV1. We will probably use the Premier down the road next time as the beds are comfortable, they have flat screen TV in the rooms with realistic selection of channels and it isn't as noisy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that some of our guests were not particularly considerate during your stay. Our televisions are older style and are going to be replaced by the end of the year. We do though currently have some Freeview channels and Movie Channels in addition to the basic channels you mentioned.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again, if you ever experience noise problems again please contact our 24 Hour Reception using the telephone in our rooms as our staff are always proactive in addressing any inconsiderate behaviour


Regards

Claire
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk south west
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

If it's basic you want it's basic you get!
Even prisoners detained at her majesties pleasure we are led to believe get tv with freeview well that's more than you get here!
8 channels that's it!
Bed was as soft and saggy and so low down you may as well be on the floor
My advice pay the extra and book in to the proper holiday Inn across the way
I would have done if they were not full

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fatdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your Review

I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. Our Televisions currently have some Freeview channels including news channels, radio channels, regular channels and movies. Once these are replaced, before the end of the year then we will have a greater number of channels. If you do decide to stay with us again and experience any problems such as you appeared to have done with the bed, please let us know straight away and we will fix it or change your room whenever possible.

Regards

Claire
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Unlike other reviewers we didn't enjoy our stay here. It compares poorly with other HIE hotels. As soon as we entered our room we noticed the smell. We thought it was smoke so I went and asked at reception for another room. The receptionist didn't apologise and in fact looked rather disgruntled that I had even asked. Our new room also smelt and we decided it must be an overpowering air freshner. Never had this problem before in any hotel, it really did smell very very strong. The room was cramped for a family of 4. Our night was disturbed by noise from kids in the corridor at midnight, we should have called reception.
The area for breakfast is far too small for the size of the hotel so on a busy sunday morning it was extremely busy and cramped. We struggled to find space for our son's wheelchair. The staff looked harrassed as they tried to keep the breakfast stocked. The selection was poor and instant scrambled eggs tasteless.
We stayed in the HIE Preston South just a few days before and had a totally different experience so we're not overly fussy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyadmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMExWalsall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
I am sorry to read that your stay fell short of the service and experience you expected and i will share your review with the team.

Our breakfast area can become very busy when we are full however, the staff work hard to ensure all items are replenished and seating is available. We also advise guests upon check in that breakfast may be busy during certain time periods, especially when we have large groups in house.

I do hope that you will give us a second chance when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards
Victoria Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here two nights February 13 and February 14 to attend friends' wedding. Everything was excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and it was fantastic. Scrambled eggs, beans, sausages, fruit, toast, cereal. Everything was spotless. No complaints at all. There is a bus to town at the end of the road, about a five minute walk. And there is also a bar in the hotel with excellent prices. Loved every minute of our stay. Well done to the team here.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room that had an extra pull out sofa bed, loads of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackpoolrose77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMExWalsall, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for giving us 5 stars. We are really glad you enjoyed your recent stay and do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Victoria Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed here for just one pre-booked night and couldn't complain for the rate I paid. The bedroom was spacious with good lighting, a choice of soft or firm pillows, a sofa and air conditioning. A good, modern shower room completed the suite. The only minor comment was that the TV could do with being replaced by a flat screen. Wi-fi was free and offered a strong signal and good spreed. Breakfast was included which would best be described as continental with sausages and scrambled eggs. All in all I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleMunchbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your review I am pleased that you will stay with us again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Regards

Claire
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walsall hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Walsall Town Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Walsall (M6, J10) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
1.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
4.2 mi away
Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walsall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walsall

Property: Holiday Inn Express Walsall
Address: Tempus Drive | M6-Jct 10, Walsall WS2 8TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walsall 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS WALSALL where you ll find comfort and convenience, along with friendly service and a great experience. We offer facilities for families and business travellers alike. Why not Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Walsall hotel at M6 JCT10 as we are ideally placed to allow you easy access to the whole of the West Midlands area. With the M6/M5 interchange nearby there are great opportunities to travel further afield. Birmingham City Centre is less than 30 minutes by rail. Venues such as the National Indoor Arena (NIA), International Convention Centre (ICC) and Symphony Hall are all easily accessible to the hotel. Birmingham International Airport (BHX) and National Exhibition Centre (NEC) are only about 25 minutes drive away from the hotel. With 120 free car parking spaces on site you are sure to have a hassle free end to your trip. The Holiday Inn Express Walsall hotel offers high speed Internet access with wifi connection in public areas and meeting rooms. Bedrooms are great for families and business travellers alike. With our luxury power showers you will be refreshed for a busy day ahead. The hotel has a Meet Smart Conference Centre which offers meeting rooms facilities with wifi Internet access. We can also offer our business services centre where email, fax and copying are available for a small charge.SAT NAV POSTCODE WS2 8RL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walsall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walsall Hotel Walsall
Holiday Inn Walsall
Walsall Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing