We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good for a stopover”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

You really know what to expect when booking a room at a holiday inn express and this was no exception. Good quality, clean rooms, a comfy bed and a good night's sleep. Good choice of continental breakfast, with 3 hot items for anyone wanting a cooked breakfast. Excellent location for a stopover as it is right by junction 10 of the M6.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D7JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review,

I am pleased that you not only like the Holiday Inn Express Brand but had a good stay at our Excellently Located Hotel in Walsall. Hope you will return again when you are next in the area.


Regards


Claire

Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    173
    76
    22
    14
See reviews for
109
111
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Only stayed a night but cannot fault hotel. Clean bright room with all you needed. Tea coffee/bathroom shower gel, shampoo. If you forget any such items they are happy to provide free of charge. Great breakfast included in price, even includes eggs, sausage, beans and toast. Friendly staff and although we didn't eat there, the food is reasonably priced with a comfortable bar.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your 4 star review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your Breakfast. Next time you stay with us Monday – Thursday; please do have a Bar Meal, we have the regular favourites and some great home cooked items too.

Regards

Claire
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We checked in with a miserable, unfriendly woman who looked completely bored. She later served us at the bar and hadn't cheered up any.
On the positive side of things, the room was spotlessly clean & tidy

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for you review.

I am sorry that on this occasion a staff member let us down. I do hope that you will come and stay with us again to see that this is not the usual standard that you should expect to receive.

Regards

Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Decent enough place to stay if you're not too fussy. Room comfortable enough, bed fine, a small packet of biscuits to go with the tea and coffee would have been nice (why do so many hotels skimp on little details like this?). Shower ok.
Some niggles about the food. I wasn't expecting "haute cuisine", but "cuisine au four au micro-ondes" for ten quid isn't good value (on a recent stay with a competitor chain, I enjoyed a really good carvery for just over £6!)
Lastly, the breakfast - please spend a little more and get decent sausages (not "value" ones) and get bread which is brown because nature made it that way, not because someone added colouring to it, and which doesn't just collapse after it's been toasted as soon as you touch it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Franchisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that you had an “average experience” with us. As you know our Hotel is part of IHG Hotels and in line with their brand standards we do not place biscuits in our guest rooms and we have Bar Meals rather than a full service restaurant. I am disappointed though by your comments regarding the bread at breakfast as we do offer both brown and white bread and it appears for some reason that the brown bread was not topped up on this particular morning. I do hope that you will stay with us again and if you ever notice anything amiss such as the bread please bring it to our attention so we can immediately put it right.

Regards

Claire
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

disappointed with stay, should of gone to holiday inn instead. considering its built right next to motorway way, I don't thing it was very thought out when the windows were chosen as they don't reduce the noise outside very well at all.
For newish built hotel, the tv is shocking. the logo for tv channel stays on screen and hardly any channels to chose from.
I wasn't told what needed to be done with the wi fi voucher I was given, or when breakfast was.
Breakfast wasn't the best selection but as its complimentary its satisfactory.
I was disgusted to see the amount of hairs that clearly didn't belong to me on the bed which were just covered over my the bed sheet & pillow cases. This was horrible and when was addressed to reception next day she found this hard believe as no-one ever complained about cleanliness before???

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twilight4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear twilight4eva,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on most of the services and amenities that we provide particularly with the room condition and the noise challenges you have encountered. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel was used by a group for just one night but was very friendly and staff accommodating.The location is only a short drive from Jct 10 of the M6 so handy for those commuting down the central corridor. The rooms are well appointed and spotless , bathrooms very clean , modern and had all required toiletries. The lack of a restaurant on the Saturday night meant a trip out to a local pub (Thai?) or a KFC. Not very good when stuck out in the middle of no-where.
The worst part however is the poor TV (think this now may be sorted ) as poor channel choice when we were there and antiquated sets!!
Next came breakfast- the usual inadequately small area to eat in, poor choice (usual H.I. Express hot breakfast- scrambled powdery egg, runny baked beans and the cheapest sausage you could find.) The cold stuff ( when you could get near it) was fine and as much as you really need.
Overall if a quick stay to rest on route North to South (or vice-versa) then its a reasonable (welll priced) option. Just don't expect any frills.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding our friendly staff.
As you mentioned we are in great location and do find at weekends that many of our guests are simply passing through or attending one of the many local events and as such we do not get a high demand for Dinner. We do however, always have a selection of sandwiches, and savoury items which can be heated. If you prefer something more then there are many take away & delivery options, menus are on display. You are welcome to use our plates and eat your meal in our restaurant/lounge area, we will do the washing up! Alternatively we have details of many local restaurants and can book tables and arrange taxis for our guests. Our TV’s are old style and these will be replaced this year the channel choice has recently been improved. I do hope that you will come back and stay with us again, please ask Reception to advise you of when Breakfast is expected to be quieter.

Regards

Claire
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Took advantage of the promo Saturday night inclusive of breakfast family rate and we were not disappointed. From arrival to departure the staff were brilliant, immediately accommodating our request for a particular room and explaining the free WiFi.

The room was spotless, especially the bathroom. Tastefully decorated with mood lighting and reading lamps. Soft / Firm pillow choice which were plentiful - no need to ask for extras. Loved the blue low level bathroom lighting for nighttime.

Room is not massive - nor did I expect it to be for the price I paid. It was perfectly adequate, warm, comfortable with Air Conditioning and even Channel 4 movie channels.

I loved the restaurant and the little bar on site. Even sandwiches, drinks and light snacks were available for purchase next to reception.

Full breakfast buffet was lovely. Hot and cold selections with fresh fruit and all the kids favourites.

Check out was as quick and efficient as check in.

I couldn't fault the place. Very impressive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for a 5 star review.


Regards

Claire

Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walsall hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Walsall Town Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Walsall (M6, J10) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
1.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
4.2 mi away
Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walsall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walsall

Property: Holiday Inn Express Walsall
Address: Tempus Drive | M6-Jct 10, Walsall WS2 8TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walsall 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS WALSALL where you ll find comfort and convenience, along with friendly service and a great experience. We offer facilities for families and business travellers alike. Why not Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Walsall hotel at M6 JCT10 as we are ideally placed to allow you easy access to the whole of the West Midlands area. With the M6/M5 interchange nearby there are great opportunities to travel further afield. Birmingham City Centre is less than 30 minutes by rail. Venues such as the National Indoor Arena (NIA), International Convention Centre (ICC) and Symphony Hall are all easily accessible to the hotel. Birmingham International Airport (BHX) and National Exhibition Centre (NEC) are only about 25 minutes drive away from the hotel. With 120 free car parking spaces on site you are sure to have a hassle free end to your trip. The Holiday Inn Express Walsall hotel offers high speed Internet access with wifi connection in public areas and meeting rooms. Bedrooms are great for families and business travellers alike. With our luxury power showers you will be refreshed for a busy day ahead. The hotel has a Meet Smart Conference Centre which offers meeting rooms facilities with wifi Internet access. We can also offer our business services centre where email, fax and copying are available for a small charge.SAT NAV POSTCODE WS2 8RL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walsall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walsall Hotel Walsall
Holiday Inn Walsall
Walsall Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing